gms | German Medical Science

25th Annual Meeting of the German Retina Society

German Retina Society

01.06. - 02.06.2012, Münster

Choroidal neovascularization membranes (CNV) in patients without signs of age related macular degeneration (nonAMD): Presentation of CNV structures with availble equipment is possible in a non-invasive way

Meeting Abstract

  • Werner Inhoffen - Universitäts-Augenklinik Tübingen
  • C. Kernstock - Universitäts-Augenklinik Tübingen
  • K.U. Bartz-Schmidt - Universitäts-Augenklinik Tübingen

German Retina Society. 25th Annual Conference of the German Retina Society. Münster, 01.-02.06.2012. Düsseldorf: German Medical Science GMS Publishing House; 2012. Doc12rg45

doi: 10.3205/12rg45, urn:nbn:de:0183-12rg453

This is the translated version of the article.
The original version can be found at: http://www.egms.de/de/meetings/rg2012/12rg45.shtml

Published: May 30, 2012

© 2012 Inhoffen et al.
This is an Open Access article distributed under the terms of the Creative Commons Attribution License (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-nd/3.0/deed.en). You are free: to Share – to copy, distribute and transmit the work, provided the original author and source are credited.


Outline

Text

Purpose: To explore the possibility of non-invasive presentation of nonAMD-CNV with commercially available optical coherence tomography (FD-OCT).

Methods: Using Spectralis OCT ( Heidelberg Engineering, Dossenheim) with parallel B-scans (lateral resolution 11 µm) and C-scan presentation, we examined patients with non-AMD CNV: 4 patients with myopic CNV (mCNV), 4 patients with idiopathic CNV (iCNV), 5 patients with CNV and angoid streaks (AS-CNV), 3 patients with CNV and bilteral, juxtafoveolar teleangiectasis (BJT-CNV) and 3 patients with chronic central serous chorioretinopathy (cCSC). Evaluation was further supported by angiography (FLA), funduscopy and B-scan images of the same OCT scans.

Results: A)mCNV: Despite of posterior staphyloma, CNV pattern similar to FLA results appeared , more obvious in new CNV. B) iCNV: Although the lesions were prominent, CNV pattern were detectable inside the lateral pigment epithelial borders. C) AS-CNV: Above Bruch’s membrane CNV pattern exceeding those expected by funduscopy were present. D) BJT-CNV: Even old, inactive CNV were seen similar to those in FLA before. In contrast, connection areas of retinal vessels with the choroid were only detectable by comparing the C-scan image with funduscopy. E) cCSC: Pigment epithelial detachments showed CNV vessels or only dense pigment with small retinal vessels (no CNV) in accordance with FLA findings.

Conclusions: Although the 11 µm C-scan examination method using Spectralis OCT is time consuming, it is a simple and non-invasive way to observe structure, area and distance to Bruch’s membrane of active or inactive CNV in nonAMD.

gms | German Medical Science

25. Jahrestagung der Deutschen Retinologischen Gesellschaft

Deutsche Gesellschaft für Retinologie

01.06. - 02.06.2012, Münster

Neovaskularisationsmembranen (CNV) bei Patienten ohne Komponenten einer altersbedingten Makuladegeneration (nonAMD): Gibt es nicht-invasive Darstellungsmöglichkeiten mit bereits vorhandenen Geräten?

Kongressabstract

  • Werner Inhoffen - Universitäts-Augenklinik Tübingen
  • C. Kernstock - Universitäts-Augenklinik Tübingen
  • K.U. Bartz-Schmidt - Universitäts-Augenklinik Tübingen

Retinologische Gesellschaft. 25. Jahrestagung der Retinologischen Gesellschaft. Münster, 01.-02.06.2012. Düsseldorf: German Medical Science GMS Publishing House; 2012. Doc12rg45

doi: 10.3205/12rg45, urn:nbn:de:0183-12rg453

Dieses ist die Originalversion des Artikels.
Die übersetzte Version finden Sie unter: http://www.egms.de/en/meetings/rg2012/12rg45.shtml

Veröffentlicht: 30. Mai 2012

© 2012 Inhoffen et al.
Dieser Artikel ist ein Open Access-Artikel und steht unter den Creative Commons Lizenzbedingungen (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-nd/3.0/deed.de). Er darf vervielfältigt, verbreitet und öffentlich zugänglich gemacht werden, vorausgesetzt dass Autor und Quelle genannt werden.


Gliederung

Text

Einführung: Es soll geprüft werden, ob mit kommerziell erhältlichen FD-OCT CNV Strukturen bei nonAMD nicht-invasiv darstellbar sind.

Methoden: Mittels Spectralis OCT (Heidelberg Engineering, Dossenheim) und C-Scan Darstellung paralleler B-Scans, deren Abstand zwischen B-Scans auf 11 µm reduziert war, wurden Patienten mit nonAMD-CNV untersucht: 4 Patienten mit myopischer CNV (mCNV), 4 Patienten mit idiopathischer CNV, 5 Patienten mit CNV bei Angoid Streaks, 3 Patienten mit CNV bei bilateralen, juxtafoveolären Teleangiektasien (BJT) und 3 Patienten mit chronischer Retinopathia centralis serosa (cRCS). Zur Auswertung wurden Funduskopie, Natriumfluoreszein-Angiographie (FLA) und die B-Bilder der gleichen OCT-Scans hinzugezogen.

Ergebnisse: A) mCNV: CNV Muster waren trotz Staphylom nachweisbar, am deutlichsten bei neuen Membranen und mit denen der FLA übereinstimmend. B) idiopathischen CNV: trotz der deutlicher Prominenz zeigten sich CNV Gefäßstrukturen innerhalb der seitlichen PE Grenzen. C) CNV bei Angoid Streaks: oberhalb der Bruchschen Membran waren deutliche Membranstrukturen sichtbar, das Ausmass war größer als funduskopisch sichtbar, aber im Einklang mit den FLA Ergebnissen. D) CNV bei BJT: auch ältere, inaktive Rezidive waren gut darstellbar, wohingegen die Anastomosen nur mit Unterstützung durch die Funduskopie im C-Scan erkennbar waren. E) Chronische RCS: die Untersuchung von Pigmentabhebungen ergab im Einklang mit den angiographischen Ergebnissen entweder eine CNV mit Darstellung der Gefäßnetzstrukturen oder nur eine Pigmentverdichtung mit Projektion von inneren Netzhautgefäßen, also keine CNV.

Schlussfolgerung: Die C-Scan Technik ist zwar mit den aktuell verfügbaren Geräten zeitaufwendig, sie erweitert jedoch als nicht-invasives und vergleichsweise einfaches Verfahren die Beurteilung aktiver und inaktiver CNV bei nonAMD hinsichtlich Ausdehnung und Schichtenzugehörigkeit.