gms | German Medical Science

24th Annual Meeting of the German Retina Society

German Retina Society

17.06. - 18.06.2011, Aachen

Anterior chamber aqueous flare as a predictor for proliferative vitreoretinopathy in patients with rhegmatogenous retinal detachment

Meeting Abstract

  • Sascha Fauser - Universitäts-Augenklinik Köln
  • S. Schröder - Universitäts-Augenklinik Köln
  • P.S. Müther - Universitäts-Augenklinik Köln
  • A. Caramoy - Universitäts-Augenklinik Köln
  • M. Diestelhorst - Universitäts-Augenklinik Köln
  • B. Kirchhof - Universitäts-Augenklinik Köln

German Retina Society. 24th Annual Conference of the German Retina Society. Aachen, 17.-18.06.2011. Düsseldorf: German Medical Science GMS Publishing House; 2011. Doc11rg14

doi: 10.3205/11rg14, urn:nbn:de:0183-11rg146

This is the translated version of the article.
The original version can be found at: http://www.egms.de/de/meetings/rg2011/11rg14.shtml

Published: June 15, 2011

© 2011 Fauser et al.
This is an Open Access article distributed under the terms of the Creative Commons Attribution License (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-nd/3.0/deed.en). You are free: to Share – to copy, distribute and transmit the work, provided the original author and source are credited.


Outline

Text

Purpose: To investigate preoperative aqueous flare as a predictive factor for proliferative vitreoretinopathy (PVR) re-detachment in patients with rhegmatogenous retinal detachment (RD).

Methods: Preoperatively, the aqueous flare of 116 consecutive patients with RD was measured quantitatively with a laser flare meter (LFCM) (Kowa FM-500). Seventy four healthy partner eyes and 41 eyes of healthy age-matched patients served as controls. At least six months after surgery, patients were re-evaluated, whether surgery was performed again due to PVR re-detachment.

Results: RD eyes that developed PVR re-detachment later on (n=12) had higher flare values than eyes with uncomplicated RD (n=104) (median 27.63 photon counts/ms (pc/ms) vs. 8.83 pc/ms; p<0.0001). No eye with PVR re-detachment had a flare value below 10.8 pc/ms. In eyes with flare values exceeding 15 pc/ms, the odds of PVR re-detachment development increases 16-fold.

Conclusion: Our study shows that the breakdown of the blood-ocular barrier as determined by aqueous flare is a major risk factor for PVR re-detachment. The LFM is a fast tool that allows predicting the PVR re-detachment risk preoperatively. It provides the surgeon with an estimate to choose those patients that could benefit from intravitreal drugs to prevent PVR.

gms | German Medical Science

24. Jahrestagung der Deutschen Retinologischen Gesellschaft

Deutsche Gesellschaft für Retinologie

17.06. - 18.06.2011, Aachen

Tyndallometrie zur Bestimmung des PVR-Risikos bei Patienten mit rhegmatogener Amotio

Kongressabstract

  • Sascha Fauser - Universitäts-Augenklinik Köln
  • S. Schröder - Universitäts-Augenklinik Köln
  • P.S. Müther - Universitäts-Augenklinik Köln
  • A. Caramoy - Universitäts-Augenklinik Köln
  • M. Diestelhorst - Universitäts-Augenklinik Köln
  • B. Kirchhof - Universitäts-Augenklinik Köln

Retinologische Gesellschaft. 24. Jahrestagung der Retinologischen Gesellschaft. Aachen, 17.-18.06.2011. Düsseldorf: German Medical Science GMS Publishing House; 2011. Doc11rg14

DOI: 10.3205/11rg14, URN: urn:nbn:de:0183-11rg146

Dieses ist die Originalversion des Artikels.
Die übersetzte Version finden Sie unter: http://www.egms.de/en/meetings/rg2011/11rg14.shtml

Veröffentlicht: 15. Juni 2011

© 2011 Fauser et al.
Dieser Artikel ist ein Open Access-Artikel und steht unter den Creative Commons Lizenzbedingungen (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-nd/3.0/deed.de). Er darf vervielfältigt, verbreitet und öffentlich zugänglich gemacht werden, vorausgesetzt dass Autor und Quelle genannt werden.


Gliederung

Text

Hintergrund: Das Ziel war die präoperative Bestimmung des Tyndalleffekts („Flare“) im Kammerwasser bei Patienten mit rhegmatogener Amotio und dessen Vorhersagewert für die proliferative Vitreoretinopathie (PVR).

Methoden: Präoperativ wurde der flare in der Vorderkammer bei 116 Patienten mit rhegmatogener Amotio quantitativ mit dem Laser flare meter (Kowa FM-500) untersucht. 74 Partneraugen und 41 altersangeglichene Augen dienten als Kontrolle. Mindestens 6 Monate nach der OP wurde untersucht, ob eine erneute OP aufgrund von PVR notwendig geworden war.

Ergebnisse: Augen mit rhegmatogener Amotio, die später eine PVR Re-Amotio entwickelten (n=12) hatten höhere flare-Werte als Augen mit unkomplizierter Amotio (n=104) (Median 27,63 photon counts/ms (pc/ms) vs. 8,83 pc/ms; p<0.0001). Alle Augen mit einer Re-Amotio hatten einen flare von mindestens 10,8 pc/ms. In Augen mit einem flare Wert von über 15 pc/ms, war die Wahrscheinlichkeit einer PVR Re-Amotio 16-fach erhöht.

Schlussfolgerungen: Die Studie zeigt, dass ein hoher flare-Wert als Ausdruck des Zusammenbruchs der Blut-Retina-Schranke ein wichtiger Risikofaktor für eine PVR-Re-Amotio ist. Durch das Laser flare meter läßt sich das Risiko präoperativ einfach und schnell bestimmen. Dadurch lassen sich Hochrisiko-Patienten herausfiltern, die von intravitrealen Medikamenten profitieren könnten.