gms | German Medical Science

23rd Annual Meeting of the German Retina Society

German Retina Society

24.09. - 25.09.2010, Freiburg

Is the visualisation of outer retinal layers in OCT analysis a good predictive factor for visual outcome in exudative AMD?

Meeting Abstract

  • Maria-Andreea Gamulescu - University Eye Clinic Regensburg
  • G. Panagakis - University Eye Clinic Regensburg
  • C. Theek - University Eye Clinic Regensburg
  • H. Helbig - University Eye Clinic Regensburg

German Retina Society. 23rd Annual Conference of the German Retina Society. Freiburg i. Br., 24.-25.09.2010. Düsseldorf: German Medical Science GMS Publishing House; 2010. Doc10rg02

doi: 10.3205/10rg02, urn:nbn:de:0183-10rg024

This is the translated version of the article.
The original version can be found at: http://www.egms.de/de/meetings/rg2010/10rg02.shtml

Published: September 21, 2010

© 2010 Gamulescu et al.
This is an Open Access article distributed under the terms of the Creative Commons Attribution License (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-nd/3.0/deed.en). You are free: to Share – to copy, distribute and transmit the work, provided the original author and source are credited.


Outline

Text

Background: Good visualisation of outer retinal layers in OCT analysis, especially external limiting membrane (ELM) and the border of inner/outer photoreceptor layer (IS/OS), seems to be associated with good visual function. Here we investigated, if good pre-operative visualisation of those layers can be used as a predictive factor for visual outcome.

Methods: Retrospective review of 87 previously untreated patients with exudative AMD who received 3 monthly intravitreal ranibizumab injections. Visual acuity before beginning of intravitreal therapy and 4–6 weeks after last intravitreal injection was compared and related to the pre-operative visualisation and continuity of the outer retinal layers in spectral-domain OCT.

Results: Visual acuity increased in 40 of 87 (46.0%) patients at least 1 line, 25 (28.7%) remained stable and 22 (25.3%) had decreased visual acuity of at least 1 line 4–6 weeks after third intravitreal ranibizumab injection. No statistical significant predictive value was demonstrated in any of the calculations for ELM or IS/OS concerning post-operative visual acuity.

Conclusion: In our series of AMD patients, grade of visibility and continuity of outer retinal layers was not a good predictive value for post-operative visual acuity development.

gms | German Medical Science

23. Jahrestagung der Deutschen Retinologischen Gesellschaft

Deutsche Gesellschaft für Retinologie

24.09. - 25.09.2010, Freiburg

Ist die Darstellbarkeit der äußeren Netzhaut-Schichten im OCT ein guter prädiktiver Faktor für die Visus-Entwicklung bei exsudativer AMD?

Kongressabstract

  • Maria-Andreea Gamulescu - Universitäts-Augenklinik Regensburg
  • G. Panagakis - Universitäts-Augenklinik Regensburg
  • C. Theek - Universitäts-Augenklinik Regensburg
  • H. Helbig - Universitäts-Augenklinik Regensburg

Retinologische Gesellschaft. 23. Jahrestagung der Retinologischen Gesellschaft. Freiburg i. Br., 24.-25.09.2010. Düsseldorf: German Medical Science GMS Publishing House; 2010. Doc10rg02

DOI: 10.3205/10rg02, URN: urn:nbn:de:0183-10rg024

Dieses ist die Originalversion des Artikels.
Die übersetzte Version finden Sie unter: http://www.egms.de/en/meetings/rg2010/10rg02.shtml

Veröffentlicht: 21. September 2010

© 2010 Gamulescu et al.
Dieser Artikel ist ein Open Access-Artikel und steht unter den Creative Commons Lizenzbedingungen (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-nd/3.0/deed.de). Er darf vervielfältigt, verbreitet und öffentlich zugänglich gemacht werden, vorausgesetzt dass Autor und Quelle genannt werden.


Gliederung

Text

Hintergrund: Eine gute Darstellbarkeit der äußeren Netzhaut-Schichten mittels optischer Kohärenz-Tomographie (OCT), insbesondere der external limiting membrane (ELM) und der Grenze zwischen inneren und äußeren Photorezeptoren (IS/OS), wird mit einem guten Visus korreliert. Wir untersuchten, ob die Darstellbarkeit dieser Schichten bei Patienten mit exsudativer AMD auch prä-operativ als prädiktiver Faktor zur Visusentwicklung herangezogen werden kann.

Methoden: Retrospektive Analyse von 87 bisher unbehandelten Patienten mit exsudativer AMD, welche eine initiale Therapie mit drei intravitrealen ranibizumab Injektionen im Abstand von 4 Woche erhielten. Der bestkorrigierte Visus vor und 4–6 Wochen nach der dritten Injektion wurde mit der initialen Darstellbarkeit der äußeren Netzhaut-Schichten mittels spectral-domain OCT korreliert.

Ergebnisse: Der bestkorrigierte Visus verbesserte sich in 40 von 87 (46.0%) Patienten um mindestens 1 Zeile, 25 Patienten (28.7%) blieben stabil, und 22 Patienten (25.3%) verloren mindestens 1 Zeile 4–6 Wochen nach der dritten ranibizumab Injektion. In keiner der Auswertungen zeigte sich eine statistische Signifikanz für die Korrelation zwischen prä-operativer Darstellbarkeit von ELM oder IS/OS und dem post-operativen bestkorrigierten Visus.

Schlußfolgerungen: In der hier untersuchten Serie von AMD Patienten war der Grad der prä-operativen Darstellbarkeit der äußeren retinalen Schichten kein guter prädiktiver Faktor für die post-operative Entwicklung der Sehkraft.