gms | German Medical Science

22nd Annual Meeting of the German Retina Society

German Retina Society

26.06. - 27.06.2009, Berlin

Endophthalmitis after Cataract surgery: vitrectomy without systemic antibiotics?

Meeting Abstract

Search Medline for

  • Elena Margolina - University Eye Clinic of Luebeck
  • H. Hoerauf - University Eye Clinic of Goettingen
  • M. Müller - University Eye Clinic of Luebeck

German Retina Society. 22nd Annual Meeting of the German Retina Society. Berlin, 26.-27.06.2009. Düsseldorf: German Medical Science GMS Publishing House; 2009. DocRG2009-33

doi: 10.3205/09rg34, urn:nbn:de:0183-09rg345

This is the translated version of the article.
The original version can be found at: http://www.egms.de/de/meetings/rg2009/09rg34.shtml

Published: June 29, 2009

© 2009 Margolina et al.
This is an Open Access article distributed under the terms of the Creative Commons Attribution License (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-nd/3.0/deed.en). You are free: to Share – to copy, distribute and transmit the work, provided the original author and source are credited.


Outline

Text

Background: Since the Endophthalmitis Vitrectomy Study the usefulness of systemic antibiotics for treatment of endophthalmitis after cataract surgery has been questioned.

Materials and Methods: Retrospective consecutive case series (1996–2008) of 40 patients (30 acute, 10 chronic endophthalmitis) after cataract surgery. Vitrectomy comprised: anterior chamber and vitreous tap, posterior capsulotomy, antibiotic solution (20µg/ml vancomycin, 80µg/ml amikacin, 40µg/ml dexamethason). Intraocular lens could be left in place in all cases. Postoperatively no systemic anbiotics were administered. Average follow-up was 15.7 months.

Results: Average best corrected visual acuity (VA) in 40 patients (19f, 21m, median age 76y) was 0.43 (0.45 logMAR), VA at last check after vitrectomy was 0.54 (0.36 logMAR). In cases of acute endophthalmitis, the average preoperative VA was 0.45 (0.45 logMAR) and final VA was 0.55 (0.41 logMAR). In cases of chronic endophthalmitis, the average preoperative VA was 0.39 (0.46 logMAR) and final VA was 0.52 (0.32 logMAR). Microbiologic studies yielded positive results in 19 patients (63.3%) with acute endophthalmitis. During the follow-up period 3 patients (2 chronic, 1 acute endopthalmitis) developed a recurrence; 2 patients suffered a retinal detachment.

Conclusions: In our patients both, with acute and chronic endophthalmitis, the functional and anatomical results of vitrectomy without systemic antibiotics were comparable to those of other studies in which additional antibiotics were given. Their usefulness and expense should therefore be questioned.

gms | German Medical Science

22. Jahrestagung der Deutschen Retinologischen Gesellschaft

Deutsche Gesellschaft für Retinologie

26.06. - 27.06.2009, Berlin

Endophthalmitis nach Katarakt-Operation: Vitrektomie ohne systemische Antibiose?

Kongressabstract

Suche in Medline nach

  • Elena Margolina - Universitäts-Augenklinik Lübeck
  • H. Hoerauf - Universitäts-Augenklinik Göttingen
  • M. Müller - Universitäts-Augenklinik Lübeck

Retinologische Gesellschaft. 22. Jahrestagung der Retinologischen Gesellschaft. Berlin, 26.-27.06.2009. Düsseldorf: German Medical Science GMS Publishing House; 2009. DocRG2009-33

DOI: 10.3205/09rg34, URN: urn:nbn:de:0183-09rg345

Dieses ist die Originalversion des Artikels.
Die übersetzte Version finden Sie unter: http://www.egms.de/en/meetings/rg2009/09rg34.shtml

Veröffentlicht: 29. Juni 2009

© 2009 Margolina et al.
Dieser Artikel ist ein Open Access-Artikel und steht unter den Creative Commons Lizenzbedingungen (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-nd/3.0/deed.de). Er darf vervielfältigt, verbreitet und öffentlich zugänglich gemacht werden, vorausgesetzt dass Autor und Quelle genannt werden.


Gliederung

Text

Hintergrund: Seit der Endophthalmitis Vitrectomy Study wird die systemische Antibiose bei Endophthalmitis nach Katarakt-OP in Frage gestellt.

Methodik: Retrospektive, konsekutive Fallserie (1996–2008) mit 40 Patienten (30 mit akuter, 10 mit chronischer Endophthalmitis) nach Katarakt-OP. Die Vitrektomie umfasste: Vorderkammer- und Glaskörperpunktat zum Erregernachweis, hintere Kapsulotomie und antibiotische Spülung mittels Infusion (20µg/ml Vancomycin, 80µg/ml Amikacin, 40µg/ml Dexamethason). In allen Fällen konnte die Intraokularlinse belassen werden. Postoperativ wurde keine systemische Antibiose verabreicht. Die Nachbeobachtungszeit lag im Mittel bei 15,7 Monaten.

Ergebnisse: Bei 40 Patienten (19w, 21m, Alter im Median 76 J) betrug der bestkorrigierte Visus vor Katarakt-OP im Mittel 0,43 (0,45 logMAR), der Endvisus nach Viterktomie bei letzter Kontrolle 0,54 (0,36 logMAR). Bei akuter Endophthalmitis betrug der mittlere präoperative Visus 0,45 (0,45 logMAR) bei einem Endvisus von 0,55 (0,41 logMAR), bei chronischer Endophthalmitis lag der mittlere präoperative Visus bei 0,39 (0,46 logMAR), der mittlere postoperativer Visus bei 0,52 (0,32 logMAR). Der Erregernachweis gelang bei 19 Patienten mit akuter Endophthalmitis (63,3%). In dem Beobachtungszeitraum trat bei 3 Patienten (2 mit chronischer, 1 mit akuter Endophthalmitis) ein Rezidiv, bei 2 Patienten eine Ablatio retinae auf.

Schlussfolgerungen: Die funktionellen und anatomischen Ergebnisse der Vitrektomie ohne systemische Antibiose dieser Patientenserie sind sowohl bei chronischer als auch bei akuter Endophthalmitis mit den Ergebnissen anderer Studien mit zusätzlicher Antibiose vergleichbar. Deren Nutzen und der damit verbundene Aufwand sind daher kritisch zu hinterfragen.