gms | German Medical Science

22nd Annual Meeting of the German Retina Society

German Retina Society

26.06. - 27.06.2009, Berlin

Intravitreal Ranibizumab (Lucentis®) is more effective than intravitreal Pegaptanib (Macugen®) in treating exsudative age-related macular degeneration for patients with history of cardiovascular accidents

Meeting Abstract

Search Medline for

  • Egbert Matthé - University Eye Clinic of Dresden
  • D. Sandner - University Eye Clinic of Dresden
  • L. E. Pillunat - University Eye Clinic of Dresden

German Retina Society. 22nd Annual Meeting of the German Retina Society. Berlin, 26.-27.06.2009. Düsseldorf: German Medical Science GMS Publishing House; 2009. DocRG2009-18

doi: 10.3205/09rg19, urn:nbn:de:0183-09rg198

This is the translated version of the article.
The original version can be found at: http://www.egms.de/de/meetings/rg2009/09rg19.shtml

Published: June 29, 2009

© 2009 Matthé et al.
This is an Open Access article distributed under the terms of the Creative Commons Attribution License (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-nd/3.0/deed.en). You are free: to Share – to copy, distribute and transmit the work, provided the original author and source are credited.


Outline

Text

Background: There are two approved and effective ways of treating exsudative age-related macular degeneration: Pegaptanib (Macugen®) and Ranibizumab (Lucentis®). Unspecific inhibition of all VEGF-types by Ranibizumab is discussed to be more dangerous because of suspected higher rates of severe cardiovascular accidents than selective inhibition by Pegaptanib.

Methods: Patients with exsudative age-related macular degeneration were during upload either treated with three times Ranibizumab (group II) when there were no history of cardivascular accident or with a first injection with Ranibizumab and twice Pegaptanib when there were positive history (group I). Best-corrected visual acuity (BCVA) was obtained and compared between the two groups.

Results: In group I 21 eyes, in group II 769 eyes were treated and retrospectively evaluated. Results and BCVA match the expectancies of MARINA-, ANCHOR- and PrONTO-study, but only up to the second injection, at which the groups‘ treatment differs. Group II patients continue to improve, but group I patients lose visual acuity continously until the first visit 4 weeks after the third injection, at which the difference between the groups becomes statistically significant. (group I loses 1.23 lines, group II gain 1.17 lines).

Conclusion: Treatment of patients with a history of cardiovascular accidents with Ranibizumab and Pegaptanib seems to be less effective than treatment with Ranibizumab alone. The presumed lower risk for cardiovascular accidents when treating patients this way seems to results in worse visual acuity during upload and has to be discussed individually with each patient.

gms | German Medical Science

22. Jahrestagung der Deutschen Retinologischen Gesellschaft

Deutsche Gesellschaft für Retinologie

26.06. - 27.06.2009, Berlin

Intravitreales Ranibizumab (Lucentis®) ist effektiver als intravitreales Pegaptanib (Macugen®) bei der Behandlung der exsudativen AMD bei cardiovaskulär vorbelasteten Patienten

Kongressabstract

Suche in Medline nach

  • Egbert Matthé - Universitäts-Augenklinik Dresden
  • D. Sandner - Universitäts-Augenklinik Dresden
  • L. E. Pillunat - Universitäts-Augenklinik Dresden

Retinologische Gesellschaft. 22. Jahrestagung der Retinologischen Gesellschaft. Berlin, 26.-27.06.2009. Düsseldorf: German Medical Science GMS Publishing House; 2009. DocRG2009-18

DOI: 10.3205/09rg19, URN: urn:nbn:de:0183-09rg198

Dieses ist die Originalversion des Artikels.
Die übersetzte Version finden Sie unter: http://www.egms.de/en/meetings/rg2009/09rg19.shtml

Veröffentlicht: 29. Juni 2009

© 2009 Matthé et al.
Dieser Artikel ist ein Open Access-Artikel und steht unter den Creative Commons Lizenzbedingungen (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-nd/3.0/deed.de). Er darf vervielfältigt, verbreitet und öffentlich zugänglich gemacht werden, vorausgesetzt dass Autor und Quelle genannt werden.


Gliederung

Text

Hintergrund: Für die Behandlung der exsudativen AMD stehen mit Pegaptanib (Macugen®) und Ranibizumab (Lucentis®) zwei effektive Therapiemöglichkeiten zur Verfügung. Die unspezifische Hemmung von auch physiologisch bedeutendem VEGF durch Ranibizumab steht allerdings im Verdacht, höhere Risiken cardiovaskulärer Ereignisse auszulösen als die selektive Hemmung mit Pegaptanib.

Methoden: Patienten mit exsudativer AMD wurden bei positiver Anamnese für cardiovaskuläre Ereignisse währen der Aufladung mit einmalig Ranibizumab und folgend Pegaptanib behandelt (Gruppe I). Der Visus-Verlauf während der Aufladung wurde retrospektiv verglichen mit Patienten, die dreimalig Ranibizumab während der Aufladung erhielten (Gruppe II).

Ergebnisse: In Gruppe I wurden 21, in Gruppe II 769 Patientenaugen retrospektiv ausgewertet. Die Ergebnisse und Visusänderungen der Gruppe II entsprechenden den Erwartungen (MARINA-, ANCHOR- und PrONTO-Studie), jedoch kann eine vergleichbare Visusveränderung in Gruppe I nur nach erster Injektion erzielt werden. Danach tritt eine deutliche Verschlechterung des Visus in Gruppe I auf, welche zur Nachuntersuchung 4 Wochen nach erfolgter dritter Injektion statistisch signifikant ist (Gruppe I: 1,23 Zeilen, Gruppe II: +1,17 Zeilen, p=0,024).

Fazit: Die Behandlung von cardiovaskulären Risikopatienten mit exsudativer AMD mit der Kombination von Ranibizumab und Pegaptanib ist während der Aufladung weniger effektiv als die vollständige Ranibizumab-Behandlung. Das annehmbar geringere Risiko weiterer cardiovaskulärer Ereignisse muß gegen die geringere Wirksamkeit individuell abgewogen werden.