gms | German Medical Science

22nd Annual Meeting of the German Retina Society

German Retina Society

26.06. - 27.06.2009, Berlin

Intravitreal anti-VEGF-therapy in myopic CNV – Overview of literature and own experiences

Meeting Abstract

Search Medline for

  • Dominique Ottenberg - Charité University Eye Clinic of Berlin, Campus Benjamin Franklin
  • A. Köhler - Charité University Eye Clinic of Berlin, Campus Benjamin Franklin
  • M. H. Foerster - Charité University Eye Clinic of Berlin, Campus Benjamin Franklin

German Retina Society. 22nd Annual Meeting of the German Retina Society. Berlin, 26.-27.06.2009. Düsseldorf: German Medical Science GMS Publishing House; 2009. DocRG2009-17

DOI: 10.3205/09rg18, URN: urn:nbn:de:0183-09rg181

This is the translated version of the article.
The original version can be found at: http://www.egms.de/de/meetings/rg2009/09rg18.shtml

Published: June 29, 2009

© 2009 Ottenberg et al.
This is an Open Access article distributed under the terms of the Creative Commons Attribution License (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-nd/3.0/deed.en). You are free: to Share – to copy, distribute and transmit the work, provided the original author and source are credited.


Outline

Text

Background: A choroidal neovaskularisation (CNV) is a complication of high myopia affecting visual function. The only approved therapy is photodynamic therapy (PDT) for which a stabilisation of visual function was proven. The efficacy of intravitreal injections of anti-VEGF has been shown in multiple trials for treatment of choroidal neovascularisations associated with age-related macular degeneration (AMD). This treatment has been also used in CNV due to myopia. In investigations conducted so far improvement of visual function was reported.

Methods: Current literature will be presented in summary. Additional we will report own experiences in clinical therapy (treatments between July 2002 and march 2009). 16 eyes have been treated with sole intravitreal injection of bevacizumab and/or ranibizumab, another 18 eyes were treated with additional PDT simultaneously.

Results: Regarding the 16 eyes treated only with injections in 4 eyes an improvement of visual function was observed, 10 eyes were functionally stable and 9 eyes needed retreatment. In 6 of 18 eyes treated with combining therapy an improvement of visual acuity of more than one row was documented, in 12 eyes visual function was stable. 2 of these eyes had to be treated again with combining therapy, another 4 only with intravitreal injections.

Conclusions: Intravitreal injections of anti-VEGF are an effective possibility of treatment for CNV due to myopia. The experiences so far show positive results regarding anatomy and function. Thus this therapy should be also considered as first line therapy regarding possible improvement of visual function.

gms | German Medical Science

22. Jahrestagung der Deutschen Retinologischen Gesellschaft

Deutsche Gesellschaft für Retinologie

26.06. - 27.06.2009, Berlin

Intravitreale anti-VEGF-Therapie bei myoper SRN – Literaturübersicht und eigene Erfahrungen

Kongressabstract

Suche in Medline nach

  • Dominique Ottenberg - Charité-Universitätsmedizin Berlin, Augenklinik, Campus Benjamin Franklin
  • A. Köhler - Charité-Universitätsmedizin Berlin, Augenklinik, Campus Benjamin Franklin
  • M. H. Foerster - Charité-Universitätsmedizin Berlin, Augenklinik, Campus Benjamin Franklin

Retinologische Gesellschaft. 22. Jahrestagung der Retinologischen Gesellschaft. Berlin, 26.-27.06.2009. Düsseldorf: German Medical Science GMS Publishing House; 2009. DocRG2009-17

doi: 10.3205/09rg18, urn:nbn:de:0183-09rg181

Dieses ist die Originalversion des Artikels.
Die übersetzte Version finden Sie unter: http://www.egms.de/en/meetings/rg2009/09rg18.shtml

Veröffentlicht: 29. Juni 2009

© 2009 Ottenberg et al.
Dieser Artikel ist ein Open Access-Artikel und steht unter den Creative Commons Lizenzbedingungen (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-nd/3.0/deed.de). Er darf vervielfältigt, verbreitet und öffentlich zugänglich gemacht werden, vorausgesetzt dass Autor und Quelle genannt werden.


Gliederung

Text

Hintergrund: Eine subretinale Neovaskularisation (SRN) ist eine visusbedrohende Komplikation bei hoher Myopie. Die einzige bislang zugelassene Therapie besteht in einer Photodynamischen Therapie (PDT), für die in Studien eine Visusstabilisierung nachgewiesen wurde. Die Wirksamkeit intravitraler Injektionen von anti-VEGF zur Behandlung von subretinalen Neovaskularisationen ist für die Altersbedingte Makuladegeneration in zahlreichen Studien nachgewiesen worden. Mittlerweile wird diese Behandlung auch zunehmend bei SRN durch Myopie angewandt. In den bisherigen Studien kam es danach überwiegend zu einer Visusbesserung.

Methoden: Es erfolgt eine zusammenfassende Darstellung der aktuellen Literatur. Ergänzend wird über eigene Erfahrungen bei der klinischen Anwendungen berichtet (Behandlungen aus dem Zeitraum von Juli 2002 bis März 2009). 16 Augen wurden mit isolierten intravitrealen Injektionen von Bevacizumab und/oder Ranibizumab behandelt, 18 weitere Augen erhielten zusätzlich simultan eine Photodynamische Therapie.

Ergebnisse: Von den 15 ausschließlich mit Injektionen behandelten Augen erzielten 4 Augen eine Visusbesserung von mehr als einer Zeile, stabil war der Visus bei 10 Augen, und 9 Augen erhielten mindestens eine Wiederbehandlung. Mit der Kombinationsbehandlung konnte bei 6 von 18 Augen eine Visusbesserung von mehr als einer Zeile erreicht werden, stabil verhielt sich der Visus bei 12 Augen, bei 2 dieser Augen war im Verlauf eine erneute Kombinationsbehandlung und bei 4 weiteren Augen eine erneute anti-VEGF-Injektion notwendig.

Schlussfolgerung: Die intravitreale Injektion von anti-VEGF stellt eine effektive Behandlungsoption einer SRN bei Myopie dar. Die bisherigen Erfahrungen zeigen positive funktionelle und anatomische Ergebnisse, so daß diese Therapie auch als mögliche Erstbehandlung in Erwägung gezogen werden sollte, da mit ihr eine Visusbesserung erreicht werden kann.