gms | German Medical Science

60th Annual Meeting of the German Society of Neurosurgery (DGNC)
Joint Meeting with the Benelux countries and Bulgaria

German Society of Neurosurgery (DGNC)

24 - 27 May 2009, Münster


Ladies and Gentlemen,
Dear Colleagues,

In the name of Muenster's neurosurgical clinics we would like to cordially welcome you to the 60th annual meeting of the German Society of Neurosurgery. We are delighted to hold this conference together with our colleagues from the Benelux and from Bulgaria, with whom we are connected by a long-standing cooperation.

Herewith we present the abstracts of the scientific program to you. Sincere thanks is due to the program committee, which managed the evaluation of 703 abstracts in due time in spite of technical difficulties. We were able to share the final review of the abstract texts with Professor Klinger MD, PhD, Uttenreuth, and J. Herdmann MD, PhD, Duesseldorf; we owe thanks to this experienced team for editing the major part of the oral sessions.

In the end, 224 submissions were to be accepted as oral presentations, and 181 as posters. The criteria were an average rating of 3.0 or better together with an acceptance recommendation from the majority of the program committee. This was independent from the mode of presentation. With an acceptance rate of 58% we hope to have found a feasible compromise between high quality and representative cross section:

Subarachnoid hemorrhage 12% (27 orals, 23 posters)
Intensive care 7% (17 orals, 12 posters)
Neuromodulation 5% (10 orals, 12 posters)
Low-grade gliomas 4% (9 orals, 9 posters)
Free topics 72% (161 orals, 125 posters, 1 video)

With the four main topics we have tried to focus attention onto areas which do not necessarily lie within the neurosurgical mainstream. Thus the distribution of the presentations - not quite unexpectedly - shows an imbalance towards the free topics. Perhaps the meeting can prompt further activities within the named areas. Anyway, the Münster team is looking forward to your visit and to many exciting discussions!

H. Wassmann J. Wölfer
Congress President Scientific Secretary

Scientific Program