gms | German Medical Science

25th Annual Meeting of the German Retina Society

German Retina Society

01.06. - 02.06.2012, Münster

Association of morphological changes in Spectral Domain OCT and Visual acuity in Anti-VEGF-treatment of exudative AMD

Meeting Abstract

  • Britta Heimes - Augenabteilung am Franziskushospital
  • M. Ziegler - Augenabteilung am Franziskushospital
  • B. Book - Augenabteilung am Franziskushospital
  • A. Lommatzsch - Augenabteilung am Franziskushospital
  • M. Gutfleisch - Augenabteilung am Franziskushospital
  • M. Dietzel - Augenabteilung am Franziskushospital
  • G. Spital - Augenabteilung am Franziskushospital
  • M. Zeimer - Augenabteilung am Franziskushospital
  • D. Pauleikhoff - Augenabteilung am Franziskushospital

German Retina Society. 25th Annual Conference of the German Retina Society. Münster, 01.-02.06.2012. Düsseldorf: German Medical Science GMS Publishing House; 2012. Doc12rg51

doi: 10.3205/12rg51, urn:nbn:de:0183-12rg516

This is the translated version of the article.
The original version can be found at: http://www.egms.de/de/meetings/rg2012/12rg51.shtml

Published: May 30, 2012

© 2012 Heimes et al.
This is an Open Access article distributed under the terms of the Creative Commons Attribution License (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-nd/3.0/deed.en). You are free: to Share – to copy, distribute and transmit the work, provided the original author and source are credited.


Outline

Text

Background: Anti-VEGF-therapy is actually a main treatment of exudative AMD. However different treatment regimens (e.g. Recommendation DOG 2010) can be observed resulting in different response to the treatment. Therefore, we analysed visual acuity under various schemes in association to morphological changes in the spectral domain OCT for visual acuity.

Method: We collected data from 178 eyes under Ranibizumab therapy, including 120 eyes treated by an old treatment regimen (re-treatment in case of loss of visual acuity) and 58 eyes following the treatment recommendation since 2010. In addition to clinical examination of the best-corrected visual acuity (VA), angiography and spectral-domain OCT (Spectralis HRA III) have been conducted. We differentiated the presence of intra-and subretinal fluid or photoreceptor-layer- discontinuity.

Results: In mean an increase in visual acuity (rmANOVA p <0.01) could be measured in all groups, which was in the group with current treatment recommendations is a better visual outcome over a follow-up of > 1 year. A worse visual outcome was also detected for the presence of cystoid changes.

Conclusions: These results indicate the superiority of the new treatment regimen and an association between morphological findings on the integrity of the OCT retinal layers, and suggest as measures of treatment success and prognosis of exudative AMD.

gms | German Medical Science

25. Jahrestagung der Deutschen Retinologischen Gesellschaft

Deutsche Gesellschaft für Retinologie

01.06. - 02.06.2012, Münster

Assoziation morphologischer Veränderungen im Spectral-Domain-OCT mit der Sehschärfe unter Anti-VEGF-Therapie bei exsudativer AMD

Kongressabstract

  • Britta Heimes - Augenabteilung am Franziskushospital
  • M. Ziegler - Augenabteilung am Franziskushospital
  • B. Book - Augenabteilung am Franziskushospital
  • A. Lommatzsch - Augenabteilung am Franziskushospital
  • M. Gutfleisch - Augenabteilung am Franziskushospital
  • M. Dietzel - Augenabteilung am Franziskushospital
  • G. Spital - Augenabteilung am Franziskushospital
  • M. Zeimer - Augenabteilung am Franziskushospital
  • D. Pauleikhoff - Augenabteilung am Franziskushospital

Retinologische Gesellschaft. 25. Jahrestagung der Retinologischen Gesellschaft. Münster, 01.-02.06.2012. Düsseldorf: German Medical Science GMS Publishing House; 2012. Doc12rg51

DOI: 10.3205/12rg51, URN: urn:nbn:de:0183-12rg516

Dieses ist die Originalversion des Artikels.
Die übersetzte Version finden Sie unter: http://www.egms.de/en/meetings/rg2012/12rg51.shtml

Veröffentlicht: 30. Mai 2012

© 2012 Heimes et al.
Dieser Artikel ist ein Open Access-Artikel und steht unter den Creative Commons Lizenzbedingungen (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-nd/3.0/deed.de). Er darf vervielfältigt, verbreitet und öffentlich zugänglich gemacht werden, vorausgesetzt dass Autor und Quelle genannt werden.


Gliederung

Text

Hintergrund: Die Anti-VEGF-Therapie stellt in der Behandlung der exsudativen AMD die Standardtherapie dar. Jedoch sind auch unter den Behandlungsschemata (z.B. Empfehlung DOG 2010) je verschiedene Ansprechverhalten zu beobachten. Darum analysierten wir den Verlauf der Sehschärfe unter verschiedenen Schemata und korrelierten die morphologischen Veränderungen im Spectral-Domain-OCT zum Visus.

Methode: Wir erhoben Daten von 178 Augen unter Ranibizumab-Therapie, davon 120 behandelt nach alten Therapiempfehlungen mit Re-Behandlung bei Visusabfall und 58 behandelt nach Therapieempfehlung seit 2010. Neben den klinischen Untersuchung wurde der best korrigierte Visus (VA), je Angiographie und Spectral-Domain-OCT (Spectralis, HRA III) im Verlauf durchgeführt. In Letzterem differenzierten wir die Anwesenheit intra- sowie subretinaler Flüssigkeit sowie die Kontinuität der Photorezeptorschicht.

Ergebnisse: Bei im Durschnitt signifikantem Visusanstieg (rmANOVA p<0,01), konnte die in der Gruppe unter aktuellen Therapieempfehlungen ein besserer Visusverlauf über ein Follow up von > 1 Jahr nachgewiesen werden als in der Gruppe mit Wiederbehandlung im Falle einer Visusminderung. Ein schlechterer Visusverlauf war ebenfalls für die Anwesenheit zystoider Veränderungen nachweisbar.

Schlussfolgerungen: Diese Ergebnisse weisen auf eine Überlegenheit des neueren Behandlungsschemas hin sowie eine Assoziation von morphologischen OCT-Befunden zur Integrität der retinalen Schichten hin und deuten als Parameter für Therapieerfolg und Prognose der exsudativen AMD hin.