gms | German Medical Science

25th Annual Meeting of the German Retina Society

German Retina Society

01.06. - 02.06.2012, Münster

Functional consequences of the absence of the foveal pit

Meeting Abstract

Search Medline for

  • Peter Heiduschek - Universitäts-Augenklinik Münster
  • N. Eter - Universitäts-Augenklinik Münster

German Retina Society. 25th Annual Conference of the German Retina Society. Münster, 01.-02.06.2012. Düsseldorf: German Medical Science GMS Publishing House; 2012. Doc12rg43

doi: 10.3205/12rg43, urn:nbn:de:0183-12rg437

This is the translated version of the article.
The original version can be found at: http://www.egms.de/de/meetings/rg2012/12rg43.shtml

Published: May 30, 2012

© 2012 Heiduschek et al.
This is an Open Access article distributed under the terms of the Creative Commons Attribution License (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-nd/3.0/deed.en). You are free: to Share – to copy, distribute and transmit the work, provided the original author and source are credited.


Outline

Text

Background: The foveal pit is a depression of the retina in the region of the fovea with disputed functional significance. There is a controversial discussion in the literature about the effects of an absence of the foveal pit on central visual acuity.

Method: We report on four patients (5, 16, 18 and 47 years, all female) that visited our clinics due to an impaired vision and that revealed an absent foveal pit. Patients were examined by optical coherence tomography (OCT) and multifocal electroretinography (mfERG). We only included patients without further defects in the retina, such as oedema, epiretinal membranes or degenerations.

Results: Three patients had diseases not directly associated to the retina (Cornea guttata, optic nerve atrophy and neuritis nervi optici), and in one patient only foveal pit was absent without further defects. No patient was albinotic. All retinal layers could be identified in the OCT image. Visual acuity ranged between 0.6 and 0.08. Retinal function measured by mfERG was reduced in the fovea, leading to a reduction of the amplitude compared to normal values. In some cases, amplitude was reduced also in perimacular regions. Recorded mfERG amplitudes were decreased to a different extent, differed between the right and the left eyes and showed no correlation to visual acuity.

Conclusion: The absence of the foveal pit leads to a reduction of the electrophysiological activity of the foveal region of the retina. Visual acuity cannot be predicted based on these data.

gms | German Medical Science

25. Jahrestagung der Deutschen Retinologischen Gesellschaft

Deutsche Gesellschaft für Retinologie

01.06. - 02.06.2012, Münster

Funktionelle Konsequenzen des Fehlens der fovealen Grube

Kongressabstract

Suche in Medline nach

  • Peter Heiduschek - Universitäts-Augenklinik Münster
  • N. Eter - Universitäts-Augenklinik Münster

Retinologische Gesellschaft. 25. Jahrestagung der Retinologischen Gesellschaft. Münster, 01.-02.06.2012. Düsseldorf: German Medical Science GMS Publishing House; 2012. Doc12rg43

DOI: 10.3205/12rg43, URN: urn:nbn:de:0183-12rg437

Dieses ist die Originalversion des Artikels.
Die übersetzte Version finden Sie unter: http://www.egms.de/en/meetings/rg2012/12rg43.shtml

Veröffentlicht: 30. Mai 2012

© 2012 Heiduschek et al.
Dieser Artikel ist ein Open Access-Artikel und steht unter den Creative Commons Lizenzbedingungen (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-nd/3.0/deed.de). Er darf vervielfältigt, verbreitet und öffentlich zugänglich gemacht werden, vorausgesetzt dass Autor und Quelle genannt werden.


Gliederung

Text

Hintergrund: In der Fovea bildet die Retina eine grubenförmige Vertiefung. Die funktionelle Signifikanz der Ausprägung der fovealen Grube ist jedoch umstritten. In der Literatur wird widersprüchlich über die Auswirkungen des Fehlens der fovealen Grube auf die zentrale Sehschärfe berichtet.

Methode: Wir berichten über vier Patienten (Alter 5, 16, 18 und 47 Jahre, alle weiblich), die aufgrund Sehstörungen unsere Klinik aufsuchten und bei denen das Fehlen der fovealen Grube festgestellt wurde. Die Patienten wurden unter anderem mittels der optischen Kohärenztomographie (OCT) und der multifokalen Elektroretinographie (mfERG) untersucht. Es wurden nur Patienten einbezogen, bei denen in der Retina keine weiteren Schäden, wie Ödeme, epiretinale Membranen oder Degenerationen, vorlagen.

Ergebnisse: Bei drei Patienten lagen mit der Retina nicht unmittelbar assoziierte Erkrankungen vor (Cornea guttata, Optikusatrophie und Neuritis nervi optici), bei einer Patientin war das Fehlen der fovealen Grube die einzige feststellbare Unregelmäßigkeit. Unter den betroffenen Patienten war kein Albino. Im OCT-Bild waren alle retinalen Schichten sichtbar. Der Visus der Patienten lag zwischen 0,6 und 0,08. Bei der Untersuchung mittels der mfERG zeigte sich eine Beeinträchtigung der retinalen Funktion im Gebiet der Fovea in Gestalt einer gegenüber den Normalwerten abgesenkten Amplitude, und bei einigen Patienten war die Amplitude auch in perimakulären Bereichen verkleinert. Die Absenkung der mfERG-Amplituden war unterschiedlich stark, unterschied sich zwischen dem rechten und dem linken Auge und korrelierte nicht mit dem Visus.

Schlussfolgerung: Das Fehlen der fovealen Grube ruft eine Beeinträchtigung der elektrophysiologischen Aktivität des fovealen Gebietes der Netzhaut hervor. Eine Prognose für die Sehkraft ist aus diesen Daten nicht ableitbar.