gms | German Medical Science

25th Annual Meeting of the German Retina Society

German Retina Society

01.06. - 02.06.2012, Münster

A subgroup of age-related macular degeneration is associated with mono-allelic sequence variants in the ABCA4 gene

Meeting Abstract

  • Monika Fleckenstein - Universitäts-Augenklinik Bonn
  • L.G. Fritsche - Institut für Humangenetik, Universität Regensburg
  • B.S. Fiebig - Institut für Humangenetik, Universität Regensburg
  • S. Schmitz-Valckenberg - Universitäts-Augenklinik Bonn
  • A. Bindewald-Wittich - Universitäts-Augenklinik Bonn
  • C.N. Keilhauer - Universitäts-Augenklinik Würzburg
  • A.B. Renner - Universitäts-Augenklinik Regensburg
  • F. Mackensen - Universitäts-Augenklinik Heidelberg
  • A. Moessner - Universitäts-Augenklinik Leipzig
  • D. Pauleikhoff - St. Franziskus-Hospital Münster
  • C. Adrion - Institut für medizinische Informationsverarbeitung, Biometrie und Epidemiologie, LMU München
  • U. Mansmann - Universitäts-Augenklinik Bonn
  • H.P. Scholl - Wilmer Eye Institute, Johns Hopkins University, Baltimore, USA
  • F.G. Holz - Universitäts-Augenklinik Bonn
  • B.H. Weber - Institut für Humangenetik, Universität Regensburg

German Retina Society. 25th Annual Conference of the German Retina Society. Münster, 01.-02.06.2012. Düsseldorf: German Medical Science GMS Publishing House; 2012. Doc12rg36

DOI: 10.3205/12rg36, URN: urn:nbn:de:0183-12rg369

This is the translated version of the article.
The original version can be found at: http://www.egms.de/de/meetings/rg2012/12rg36.shtml

Published: May 30, 2012

© 2012 Fleckenstein et al.
This is an Open Access article distributed under the terms of the Creative Commons Attribution License (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-nd/3.0/deed.en). You are free: to Share – to copy, distribute and transmit the work, provided the original author and source are credited.


Outline

Text

Purpose: Age-related macular degeneration (AMD) is a heterogenous condition of high prevalence and complex etiology involving genetic as well as environmental factors. By fundus autofluorescence (FAF) imaging AMD can be classified into several distinct phenotypes with one subgroup characterized by fine granular pattern with peripheral punctate spots (GPS[+]). Some features of GPS[+] overlap with Stargardt disease (STGD1), a recessive macular dystrophy caused by biallelic sequence variants in the ATP-binding cassette transporter 4 (ABCA4) gene. The aim of this study was to investigate the role of ABCA4 in GPS[+].

Methods: The ABCA4 gene was sequenced in 25 patients with the GPS[+] phenotype and 29 patients with geographic atrophy (GA)-AMD but no signs of GPS (GPS[-]). In addition, frequencies of risk increasing alleles at three known AMD susceptibility loci including complement factor H (CFH), age-related maculopathy susceptibility 2 (ARMS2), and complement component 3 (C3), were evaluated.

Results: Here, we demonstrate that GPS[+] is significantly associated with monoallelic ABCA4 sequence variants. Moreover, frequencies of AMD risk increasing alleles at CFH, ARMS2 and C3 are similar in GPS[+] and STGD1 patients, with risk allele frequencies in both subcategories comparable to population-based control individuals estimated from 3,510 individuals from the NHLBI Exome Sequencing Project.

Conclusions: Our data suggest that the GPS[+] phenotype is accounted for by monoallelic variants in ABCA4 and unlikely by the well established AMD risk increasing alleles at CFH, ARMS2 and C3. These findings provide support for a complex role of ABCA4 in the etiology of a minor fraction of AMD patients.

gms | German Medical Science

25. Jahrestagung der Deutschen Retinologischen Gesellschaft

Deutsche Gesellschaft für Retinologie

01.06. - 02.06.2012, Münster

Assoziation einer AMD-Untergruppe mit mono-allelischen Sequenzvarianten im ABCA4-Gen

Kongressabstract

  • Monika Fleckenstein - Universitäts-Augenklinik Bonn
  • L.G. Fritsche - Institut für Humangenetik, Universität Regensburg
  • B.S. Fiebig - Institut für Humangenetik, Universität Regensburg
  • S. Schmitz-Valckenberg - Universitäts-Augenklinik Bonn
  • A. Bindewald-Wittich - Universitäts-Augenklinik Bonn
  • C.N. Keilhauer - Universitäts-Augenklinik Würzburg
  • A.B. Renner - Universitäts-Augenklinik Regensburg
  • F. Mackensen - Universitäts-Augenklinik Heidelberg
  • A. Moessner - Universitäts-Augenklinik Leipzig
  • D. Pauleikhoff - St. Franziskus-Hospital Münster
  • C. Adrion - Institut für medizinische Informationsverarbeitung, Biometrie und Epidemiologie, LMU München
  • U. Mansmann - Universitäts-Augenklinik Bonn
  • H.P. Scholl - Wilmer Eye Institute, Johns Hopkins University, Baltimore, USA
  • F.G. Holz - Universitäts-Augenklinik Bonn
  • B.H. Weber - Institut für Humangenetik, Universität Regensburg

Retinologische Gesellschaft. 25. Jahrestagung der Retinologischen Gesellschaft. Münster, 01.-02.06.2012. Düsseldorf: German Medical Science GMS Publishing House; 2012. Doc12rg36

DOI: 10.3205/12rg36, URN: urn:nbn:de:0183-12rg369

Dieses ist die Originalversion des Artikels.
Die übersetzte Version finden Sie unter: http://www.egms.de/en/meetings/rg2012/12rg36.shtml

Veröffentlicht: 30. Mai 2012

© 2012 Fleckenstein et al.
Dieser Artikel ist ein Open Access-Artikel und steht unter den Creative Commons Lizenzbedingungen (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-nd/3.0/deed.de). Er darf vervielfältigt, verbreitet und öffentlich zugänglich gemacht werden, vorausgesetzt dass Autor und Quelle genannt werden.


Gliederung

Text

Hintergrund: Die altersabhängige Makuladegeneration (AMD) ist eine heterogene Erkrankung mit hoher Prävalenz und komplexer Ätiologie, die genetische und umweltbedingte Faktoren miteinschließt. Mittels Fundus Autofluoreszenz (FAF) Bildgebung kann die AMD in spezifische Phänotypen klassifiziert werden. Eine dieser Subgruppen ist charakterisiert durch ein „fein-granuläres und peripher fleckiges“ Muster erhöhter FAF (GPS[+]). Dieses Muster zeigt große Ähnlichkeit mit den typischen FAF-Veränderungen bei Morbus Stargardt (STGD1), einer rezessiven Makuladystrophie, die durch bi-allelische Sequenzvarianten im ABCA4 (ATP-binding cassette, sub-family A (ABC1), member 4-Gen verursacht wird. Ziel dieser Studie ist es, die Rolle von ABCA4 bei GPS[+] zu untersuchen.

Methoden: Die kodierenden Regionen und unmittelbar flankierenden intronischen Sequenzen des ABCA4-Gens wurden bei 25 Patienten mit GPS[+] Phänotyp und bei 29 Patienten mit geographischer Atrophie(GA) ohne das GPS-spezifische FAF-Muster (GPS[-]) sequenziert. Zudem wurden die bekannten AMD-Risikovarianten im CFH (complement factor H)-, ARMS2 (age-related maculopathy, susceptibility 2)- und C3 (complement component 3)-Gen evaluiert.

Ergebnisse: GPS[+] ist signifikant mit mono-allelischen ABCA4-Sequenzvarianten assoziiert. Die Frequenzen für die AMD-Risikoallele in CFH, ARMS2 und C3 sind ähnlich bei GPS[+] und STGD1 Patienten mit Risikoallel-Frequenzen vergleichbar zu Kontroll-Personen (3,510 Individuen des NHLBI Exome Sequencing Projects).

Schlussfolgerungen: Die Ergebnisse weisen darauf hin, dass der GPS[+] Phänotyp durch mono-allelische Varianten in ABCA4 bedingt ist und nicht durch die bekannten AMD-Risikoallele in CFH, ARMS2 und C3 beeinflusst wird. Somit weist diese Studie dem ABCA4-Gen eine komplexe Rolle bei der Ätiologie eines kleinen Anteils von AMD-Patienten zu.