gms | German Medical Science

25th Annual Meeting of the German Retina Society

German Retina Society

01.06. - 02.06.2012, Münster

Longitudinal analysis of reticular drusen in age-related macular degeneration

Meeting Abstract

  • Steffen Schmitz-Valckenberg - Universitäts-Augenklinik Bonn
  • J.S. Steinberg - Universitäts-Augenklinik Bonn
  • J. Auge - Universitäts-Augenklinik Bonn
  • M. Fleckenstein - Universitäts-Augenklinik Bonn
  • F.G. Holz - Universitäts-Augenklinik Bonn

German Retina Society. 25th Annual Conference of the German Retina Society. Münster, 01.-02.06.2012. Düsseldorf: German Medical Science GMS Publishing House; 2012. Doc12rg30

DOI: 10.3205/12rg30, URN: urn:nbn:de:0183-12rg307

This is the translated version of the article.
The original version can be found at: http://www.egms.de/de/meetings/rg2012/12rg30.shtml

Published: May 30, 2012

© 2012 Schmitz-Valckenberg et al.
This is an Open Access article distributed under the terms of the Creative Commons Attribution License (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-nd/3.0/deed.en). You are free: to Share – to copy, distribute and transmit the work, provided the original author and source are credited.


Outline

Text

Aims: The aim of the study is the longitudinal analysis of reticular drusen (RDR) in patients with age-related macular degeneration (AMD) using simultaneous combined confocal scanning laser ophthalmoscopy and spectral-domain optical coherence tomography (SD-OCT).

Methods: The topographic distribution of RDR and their change over 18 months was quantified in 84 eyes of 42 patients (Median age: 75.9 years) with geographic atrophy by two independent readers using three-field-fundus autofluorescence images (FAF, exc. 488, em: 500–700 nm). A second analysis included SD-OCT scans of 55 eyes of 37 patients (age: 79.7 years) with AMD and with at least two visits. Hereby, follow-up images were used in order to ensure alignment of SD-OCT scans between different time points.

Results: Using FAF-imaging, an increase in both RDR retinal area involvement and RDR density was observed. Quantitative analysis revealed a mean RDR-area of 53.74 mm2 (95%-confidence interval (95% CI) [40.71 to 66.75]) at baseline and a mean progression rate of 4.44 mm2/year (95% CI [1.94 to 6.93]). SD-OCT imaging disclosed in 13 eyes an increase, in 15 eyes a decrease and 16 eyes no changes of the previously described typical wavy RDR pattern in the outer retina, respectively. In 11 eyes, both an enlargement and a reduction of the RDR pattern in the same SD-OCT B-scan was seen.

Conclusion: FAF imaging allows for both qualitative and quantitative longitudinal analyses of the growth of retinal RDR area involvement. Findings by SD-OCT imaging are also indicative for dynamic changes over time. For the further analysis, an exact alignment of different imaging modalities and different time points appears to be mandatory in order to better investigate distinct alterations of RDR over time.

gms | German Medical Science

25. Jahrestagung der Deutschen Retinologischen Gesellschaft

Deutsche Gesellschaft für Retinologie

01.06. - 02.06.2012, Münster

Longitudnale Veränderungen retikulärer Drusen bei altersabhängiger Makuladegeneration

Kongressabstract

  • Steffen Schmitz-Valckenberg - Universitäts-Augenklinik Bonn
  • J.S. Steinberg - Universitäts-Augenklinik Bonn
  • J. Auge - Universitäts-Augenklinik Bonn
  • M. Fleckenstein - Universitäts-Augenklinik Bonn
  • F.G. Holz - Universitäts-Augenklinik Bonn

Retinologische Gesellschaft. 25. Jahrestagung der Retinologischen Gesellschaft. Münster, 01.-02.06.2012. Düsseldorf: German Medical Science GMS Publishing House; 2012. Doc12rg30

doi: 10.3205/12rg30, urn:nbn:de:0183-12rg307

Dieses ist die Originalversion des Artikels.
Die übersetzte Version finden Sie unter: http://www.egms.de/en/meetings/rg2012/12rg30.shtml

Veröffentlicht: 30. Mai 2012

© 2012 Schmitz-Valckenberg et al.
Dieser Artikel ist ein Open Access-Artikel und steht unter den Creative Commons Lizenzbedingungen (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-nd/3.0/deed.de). Er darf vervielfältigt, verbreitet und öffentlich zugänglich gemacht werden, vorausgesetzt dass Autor und Quelle genannt werden.


Gliederung

Text

Ziele: Ziel der Studie ist die longitudinale Analyse von retikuären Drusen (RDR) bei Patienten mit altersabhängiger Makuladegeneration (AMD) mittels simultaner kombinierter konfokaler Scanning Laser Ophthamoskopie und spectral-domain optischer Kohärenztomographie (SD-OCT).

Methoden: Bei 84 Augen von 42 Patienten (Alter: Median75,9 Jahre) mit trockener AMD wurde die topographische Verteilung der RDR-Fläche und deren Veränderung über 18 Monate anhand Drei-Felder-Fundusautofluoreszenz-Aufnahmen (FAF, exc=488, em 500–700 nm) durch zwei unabhängige Untersucher quantifiziert. In einer weiteren Analyse wurden SD-OCT Aufnahmen von 55 Augen von 37 Patienten (Alter: 79,7 Jahre) mit AMD und mit mindestens zwei Untersuchungen (Mittlere Beobachtungszeit: 27,5 Monate) analysiert. Hierbei wurden Follow-up-Aufnahmen verwendet, um eine Alignierung von SD-OCT Scans zu unterschiedlichen Zeitpunkten sicherzustellen.

Ergebnisse: Mittels FAF Bildgebung wurde eine Zunahme sowohl der von RDR betroffenen Netzhaut-Fläche als auch der Dichte beobachtet. Die quantitative Analyse zeigte eine mittlere RDR- Fläche von 53,73 mm² (95%-Konfidenzintervall (95% CI) [40,71 bis 66,75]) bei Erstuntersuchung und eine mittlere Wachstumsrate von 4,44 mm²/Jahr (95% Cl [1,94 bis 6,93]). Mittels SD-OCT Bildgebung waren jeweils bei 13 Augen eine Zunahme, bei 15 Augen eine Abnahme und bei 16 Augen keine wesentliche Veränderung des vorher beschriebenen typischen wellenförmigen Musters in äußeren Netzhautschichten zu erkennen. Bei 11 Augen waren sowohl ein Wachstum als auch eine Verminderung des Musters im gleichen SD-OCT B-Scan zu sehen.

Schlußfolgerungen: Die FAF-Bildgebung erlaubt sowohl eine qualitative als auch quantitative longitudinale Analyse der zunehmenden Ausdehnung der von RDR-betroffenen Netzhautfläche. Mittels SD-OCT Bildgebung lassen sich ebenfalls dynamische Veränderungen beobachten. Für die weitere Analyse ist eine noch präzisere Alignierung von verschiedenen Bildmodalitäten und Untersuchungen zu unterschiedlichen Zeitpunkten erforderlich, um auch diskrete Veränderungen über die Zeit beurteilen zu können.