gms | German Medical Science

25th Annual Meeting of the German Retina Society

German Retina Society

01.06. - 02.06.2012, Münster

SD-OCT based characterization of eyes transitioning from early age-related macular degeneration to the neovascular form

Meeting Abstract

Search Medline for

  • Florian M. Heußen - Doheny Eye Institute, Los Angeles, USA
  • Y. Ouyang - Doheny Eye Institute, Los Angeles, USA
  • S.R. Sadda - Doheny Eye Institute, Los Angeles, USA

German Retina Society. 25th Annual Conference of the German Retina Society. Münster, 01.-02.06.2012. Düsseldorf: German Medical Science GMS Publishing House; 2012. Doc12rg28

doi: 10.3205/12rg28, urn:nbn:de:0183-12rg280

This is the translated version of the article.
The original version can be found at: http://www.egms.de/de/meetings/rg2012/12rg28.shtml

Published: May 30, 2012

© 2012 Heußen et al.
This is an Open Access article distributed under the terms of the Creative Commons Attribution License (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-nd/3.0/deed.en). You are free: to Share – to copy, distribute and transmit the work, provided the original author and source are credited.


Outline

Text

Purpose: Identify spectral domain OCT (SD-OCT) features in eyes with early age-related macular degeneration (AMD) which predict transition to neovascular AMD (NVAMD) within the next 12 months.

Methods: From a database of AMD cases we retrospectively selected eyes that transitioned to NVAMD with SD-OCT documentation (cube scans, 512x128). All scans were taken within 12 months prior to the clinical diagnosis of choroidal neovascularization (CNV). SD-OCT scans from a control group of patients with high risk (AREDS 3 or 4) early AMD who did not transition were also selected for masked grading. Graded parameters included: break/thickening/thinning/integrity of the RPE-band, internal reflectivity of pigment epithelial detachments (PED), retinal atrophy (RA), quantification (# of B-scans, maximum height) of any subretinal fluid (SRF), cystoid macular edema (CME), or intraretinal hyperreflective foci (HRF).

Results: 23 eyes from the transitional group (TG) and 23 control eyes were included. The logistic regression model showed a significant predictive power of HRF (>10 B-scans, odds ratio (OR) 6.18, 95% confidence interval (CI) 1.03 to 37.13), internal PED reflectivity (OR 7.92, CI 1.02 to 61.51), and RA (OR 0.07, CI 0.01 to 0.72) with regard to transitioning to NVAMD. Interestingly, 4 eyes in the TG showed a subtle presence of SRF or CME, although clinically they were classified as dry AMD at that timepoint.

Conclusions: Eyes with HRF or PED with heterogenous internal reflectivity on OCT seem to be at risk for transitioning. While validation in a prospective series is warranted, we advise close monitoring of patients exhibiting these features.

gms | German Medical Science

25. Jahrestagung der Deutschen Retinologischen Gesellschaft

Deutsche Gesellschaft für Retinologie

01.06. - 02.06.2012, Münster

SD-OCT basierte Charakterisierung von Augen im Übergang von früher altersbedingter Makuladegeneration in die feuchte Form

Kongressabstract

Suche in Medline nach

  • Florian M. Heußen - Doheny Eye Institute, Los Angeles, USA
  • Y. Ouyang - Doheny Eye Institute, Los Angeles, USA
  • S.R. Sadda - Doheny Eye Institute, Los Angeles, USA

Retinologische Gesellschaft. 25. Jahrestagung der Retinologischen Gesellschaft. Münster, 01.-02.06.2012. Düsseldorf: German Medical Science GMS Publishing House; 2012. Doc12rg28

DOI: 10.3205/12rg28, URN: urn:nbn:de:0183-12rg280

Dieses ist die Originalversion des Artikels.
Die übersetzte Version finden Sie unter: http://www.egms.de/en/meetings/rg2012/12rg28.shtml

Veröffentlicht: 30. Mai 2012

© 2012 Heußen et al.
Dieser Artikel ist ein Open Access-Artikel und steht unter den Creative Commons Lizenzbedingungen (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-nd/3.0/deed.de). Er darf vervielfältigt, verbreitet und öffentlich zugänglich gemacht werden, vorausgesetzt dass Autor und Quelle genannt werden.


Gliederung

Text

Hintergrund: Spezifische Spectral Domain OCT (SD-OCT) basierte Merkmale von Augen mit früher altersbedingter Makuladegeneration (AMD) zu finden, die den Übergang in die feuchte Form innerhalb der nächsten 12 Monate vorhersehen.

Methoden: Aus einer Datenbank von AMD-Fällen wurden retrospektiv Augen mit Übergang von AMD zu NVAMD und SD-OCT Bildgebung (Volumenscans, 512x128) ausgewählt. Alle Scans wurden innerhalb von 12 Monaten vor der klinischen Diagnose einer choroidalen Neovaskularisation angefertigt. SD-OCT Scans einer Kontrollgruppe von Patienten mit Hochrisiko-AMD (AREDS 3 oder 4), welche keinen Übergang zur feuchten Form zeigten wurden ebenfalls ausgewählt und maskiert bewertet. Merkmale: Bruch/Verdickung/Verdünnung/Integrität des retinalen Pigmentepithels (RPE), interne Reflektivität der Pigmentepithelabhebungen (PED), RPE-Atrophie, Quantifizierung (# von B-Scans, Maximale Höhe) von subretinaler Flüssigkeit, zystoidem Makulaödem und intraretinalen hyperreflektiven Foci (HRF).

Ergebnisse: 23 Augen aus der Übergangsgruppe und 23 Augen aus der Kontrollgruppe wurden eingeschlossen. Die logistische Regressionsanalyse zeigte einen signifikant prädiktiven Wert für HRF (>10 B-Scans, Odds Ratio (OR) 6.18, 95% Konfidenzintervall (KI) 1.03 bis 37.13), interne PED-Reflektivität (OR 7.92, KI 1.02 bis 61.51) und RPE-Atrophie (OR 0.07, KI 0.01 bis 0.72). Interessanterweise zeigten 4 Augen aus der Übergangsgruppe bereits vor Diagnose einer choroidalen Neovaskularisation Zeichen von subretinaler oder intraretinaler Flüssigkeit.

Schlussfolgerungen: Augen mit HRF oder PEDs mit sehr heterogener interner Reflektivität im OCT scheinen ein erhöhtes Risiko für den Übergang zur feuchten AMD zu haben. Die Validierung in großen, prospektiven Studien steht noch aus, dennoch empehlen wir engmaschige OCT-Kontrollen bei Patienten mit diesen Merkmalen.