gms | German Medical Science

25th Annual Meeting of the German Retina Society

German Retina Society

01.06. - 02.06.2012, Münster

Long-term effects of ranibizumab treatment delay in neovascular age-related macular degeneration

Meeting Abstract

  • Philipp S. Müther - Universitäts-Augenklinik Köln
  • R. Hörster - Universitäts-Augenklinik Köln
  • M.M. Hermann - Universitäts-Augenklinik Köln
  • B. Kirchhof - Universitäts-Augenklinik Köln
  • S. Fauser - Universitäts-Augenklinik Köln

German Retina Society. 25th Annual Conference of the German Retina Society. Münster, 01.-02.06.2012. Düsseldorf: German Medical Science GMS Publishing House; 2012. Doc12rg25

DOI: 10.3205/12rg25, URN: urn:nbn:de:0183-12rg252

This is the translated version of the article.
The original version can be found at: http://www.egms.de/de/meetings/rg2012/12rg25.shtml

Published: May 30, 2012

© 2012 Müther et al.
This is an Open Access article distributed under the terms of the Creative Commons Attribution License (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-nd/3.0/deed.en). You are free: to Share – to copy, distribute and transmit the work, provided the original author and source are credited.


Outline

Text

Background: Intravitreal injections of ranibizumab are the standard of care for neovascular age-related macular degeneration (AMD). In clinical trials comparable efficacy has been shown for either monthly injections or as needed injections upon monthly controls. Unlike in trial settings treatment in clinical routine is often delayed by complex approval procedures of health insurances and limited short-term surgical capacities.

Methods: Eighty-nine patients with neovascular AMD were followed for 12 months. Early treatment diabetic retinopathy study (ETDRS) visual acuity (VA), Radner reading VA and spectral domain optical coherence tomography were performed monthly. After an initial loading phase of three consecutive monthly intravitreal injections with ranibizumab, re-injections were performed after approval whenever recurrent or persistent activity of choroidal neovascularization (CNV) was detected.

Results: After an initial increase to a value of +5.0±11.87 ETDRS letters from baseline, VA constantly decreased over 12 months to a value of –0.66±16.82 ETDRS letters below baseline. Central retinal thickness (CRT) decreased from a value of 438.1±191.4 µm at baseline to a value of 289.9±138.6 µm after initial therapy and stabilized at a value of 322.4±199.5 µm. Loss of VA during latency between indication to treat and treatment was significantly greater than re-gain of VA after re-initiation of therapy (–2.2±5.0 versus 0.4±7.4 letters; p=0.046).

Conclusion: Latency between indication to treat and treatment is responsible for irreversible VA deterioration. A successful PRN treatment regimen for neovascular AMD requires immediate access to therapy after indication.

gms | German Medical Science

25. Jahrestagung der Deutschen Retinologischen Gesellschaft

Deutsche Gesellschaft für Retinologie

01.06. - 02.06.2012, Münster

Konzequenzen der Ranibizumab-Einzelbewilligung für die AMD-Therapie – Ein-Jahres-Ergebnisse

Kongressabstract

  • Philipp S. Müther - Universitäts-Augenklinik Köln
  • R. Hörster - Universitäts-Augenklinik Köln
  • M.M. Hermann - Universitäts-Augenklinik Köln
  • B. Kirchhof - Universitäts-Augenklinik Köln
  • S. Fauser - Universitäts-Augenklinik Köln

Retinologische Gesellschaft. 25. Jahrestagung der Retinologischen Gesellschaft. Münster, 01.-02.06.2012. Düsseldorf: German Medical Science GMS Publishing House; 2012. Doc12rg25

DOI: 10.3205/12rg25, URN: urn:nbn:de:0183-12rg252

Dieses ist die Originalversion des Artikels.
Die übersetzte Version finden Sie unter: http://www.egms.de/en/meetings/rg2012/12rg25.shtml

Veröffentlicht: 30. Mai 2012

© 2012 Müther et al.
Dieser Artikel ist ein Open Access-Artikel und steht unter den Creative Commons Lizenzbedingungen (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-nd/3.0/deed.de). Er darf vervielfältigt, verbreitet und öffentlich zugänglich gemacht werden, vorausgesetzt dass Autor und Quelle genannt werden.


Gliederung

Text

Hintergrund: Die intravitreale Injektion von Ranibizumab ist der therapeutische Standard in der Behandlung der neovaskulären altersbezogenen Makuladegeneration. (AMD). Klinische Studien zeigten vergleichbare funktionelle Verbesserungen sowohl bei monatlicher Therapie als auch bei unmittelbarer Bedarfstherapie mit monatlichen Kontrollen. Im Unterschied zu klinischen Studien führen die vielerorts erforderliche Einzelbewilligungen der Lucentis-Therapie und Termin-Vergaben zu Behandlungs-Verzögerungen.

Methoden: Neunundachtzig Patienten mit neovaskulärer AMD wurden über 12 Monate nachverfolgt. Wir führten monatliche ETDRS (Early treatment diabetic retinopathy study) und Radner Visuskontrollen sowie Spektral-Domänen optische Koherenztomographie durch. Nach einer Aufsättigungs-Phase mit drei monatlichen Injektionen wurde eine weitere Therapie bei persistierender oder erneuter CNV-Aktivität nach Antragsbewilligung durchgeführt.

Ergebnisse: Nach anfänglichem Visusanstieg von +5.0±11.87 ETDRS Buchstaben nahm der Visus konstant über 12 Monate ab, auf –0.66±16.82 ETDRS Buchstaben. Die zentrale Netzhautdicke (CRT) sank von 438.1±191.4 µm auf 289.9±138.6 µm nach der ersten Therapie-Serie, und stabilisierte sich bei 322.4±199.5 µm. Der Sehschärfe-Verlust während der Latenz zwischen Indikationsstellung und Therapiebeginn war größer als der Wiedergewinn durch die folgende Therapie-Serie (–2.2±5.0 versus 0.4±7.4 letters; p=0.046).

Schlussfolgerung: Die Verzögerung zwischen Indikationsstellung zur Ranibizumab-Therapie und letztendlichem Therapie-Beginn führt zu irreveriblem Visusverlust. Eine effiziente Bedarfstherapie der exsudativen AMD erfordert den kurzfristigen Zugang zur Therapie unmittelbar nach Indikationsstellung.