gms | German Medical Science

25th Annual Meeting of the German Retina Society

German Retina Society

01.06. - 02.06.2012, Münster

Electrical stimulation as a treatment option for dry ARMD: preliminary results with the TheraMac device

Meeting Abstract

  • Gerasimos Anastassiou - Augenklinik, Evangelische Kliniken Gelsenkirchen
  • A.L. Schneegans - Augenklinik, Evangelische Kliniken Gelsenkirchen
  • M. Iliadou - Augenklinik, Evangelische Kliniken Gelsenkirchen
  • M. Selbach - Augenklinik, Evangelische Kliniken Gelsenkirchen
  • S. Kremmer - Augenklinik, Evangelische Kliniken Gelsenkirchen

German Retina Society. 25th Annual Conference of the German Retina Society. Münster, 01.-02.06.2012. Düsseldorf: German Medical Science GMS Publishing House; 2012. Doc12rg16

doi: 10.3205/12rg16, urn:nbn:de:0183-12rg169

This is the translated version of the article.
The original version can be found at: http://www.egms.de/de/meetings/rg2012/12rg16.shtml

Published: May 30, 2012

© 2012 Anastassiou et al.
This is an Open Access article distributed under the terms of the Creative Commons Attribution License (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-nd/3.0/deed.en). You are free: to Share – to copy, distribute and transmit the work, provided the original author and source are credited.


Outline

Text

Background: based on the results of many investigations electrical stimulation represents at least a theoretical option for the treatment of retinal diseases. Several devices are now – at least online – available for the treatment of dry ARMD. However, to date no verifiable data on the efficacy (see also Statement of the RG January 2012) exists. This work examines the effectiveness of one of these devices.

Methods: 16 patients currently (recruitment still open) with dry AMD and visual acuity between 0.3–0.6 are treated in a prospective placebo-controlled study with the TheraMac device. The treatment is performed twice a day for five consecutive days. EDTRS visual acuity, contrast sensitivity, microperimetry (sensitivity and fixation stability), SD-OCT and VFQ-25 questionnaire are evaluated before treatment, on day 5, 4 weeks after and 6 months later.

Results: In the treatment group (n=12) a significant improvement in EDTRS visual acuity was found after 5 days (+4.3 letters, p=0.003), after 4 weeks (+5.5 letters, p=0.002), and after 6 months (+ 5.1 letters, n=10, p=0.05). A significant improvement of the contrast sensitivity was found after 5 days (p=0.006) and after 4 weeks (p=0.004), while the values deteriorated after 6 months and showed no significant difference from the baseline. In the control group (n=4, open recruitment) had neither the EDTRS vision nor the contrast seeing a difference after 5 days.

Conclusions: The results of the treatment group are encouraging and justify the evaluation of electrical stimulation in a larger collective. The upcoming results of the control group could reinforce that first impression, or diminish.

gms | German Medical Science

25. Jahrestagung der Deutschen Retinologischen Gesellschaft

Deutsche Gesellschaft für Retinologie

01.06. - 02.06.2012, Münster

Elektrostimulation als Behandlungsmöglichkeit bei Patienten mit trockener AMD: erste Ergebnisse mit dem TheraMac Gerät

Kongressabstract

  • Gerasimos Anastassiou - Augenklinik, Evangelische Kliniken Gelsenkirchen
  • A.L. Schneegans - Augenklinik, Evangelische Kliniken Gelsenkirchen
  • M. Iliadou - Augenklinik, Evangelische Kliniken Gelsenkirchen
  • M. Selbach - Augenklinik, Evangelische Kliniken Gelsenkirchen
  • S. Kremmer - Augenklinik, Evangelische Kliniken Gelsenkirchen

Retinologische Gesellschaft. 25. Jahrestagung der Retinologischen Gesellschaft. Münster, 01.-02.06.2012. Düsseldorf: German Medical Science GMS Publishing House; 2012. Doc12rg16

DOI: 10.3205/12rg16, URN: urn:nbn:de:0183-12rg169

Dieses ist die Originalversion des Artikels.
Die übersetzte Version finden Sie unter: http://www.egms.de/en/meetings/rg2012/12rg16.shtml

Veröffentlicht: 30. Mai 2012

© 2012 Anastassiou et al.
Dieser Artikel ist ein Open Access-Artikel und steht unter den Creative Commons Lizenzbedingungen (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-nd/3.0/deed.de). Er darf vervielfältigt, verbreitet und öffentlich zugänglich gemacht werden, vorausgesetzt dass Autor und Quelle genannt werden.


Gliederung

Text

Hintergrund: Elektrostimulation stellt aufgrund von vielen Untersuchungen eine zumindest theoretische Option zur Behandlung von retinalen Erkrankungen dar. Mehrere Geräte werden derzeit – zumindest online – zur Behandlung der trockenen AMD angeboten. Bisher liegen jedoch keine überprüfbaren Daten zur Wirksamkeit vor (siehe auch Stellungnahme der RG Januar 2012). Diese Arbeit überprüft die Wirksamkeit eines dieser Geräte.

Methoden: Derzeit 16 Patienten (Rekrutierung noch offen) mit trockener AMD und Visus zwischen 0.3–0.6 werden in einer prospektiven placebo kontrollierten Studie mit dem TheraMac Gerät behandelt. Die Behandlung erfolgt mit einer Sonde durch die Lider zwei Mal am Tag für fünf aufeinander folgende Tage. EDTRS Visus, Kontrastsehen, Mikroperimetrie (Sensitivität und Fixationsstabilität), SD-OCT und VFQ-25 Fragebogen werden vor der Behandlung, am Tag 5, 4 Wochen danach und 6 Monate später evaluiert.

Ergebnisse: In der Therapiegruppe (n=12) zeigte sich eine signifikante Verbesserung des EDTRS Visus nach 5 Tagen (+4,3 Buchstaben, p=0,003), nach 4 Wochen (+5,5 Buchstaben, p=0,002), und nach 6 Monaten (+5,1 Buchstaben, n=10, p=0,05). Eine signifikante Verbesserung zeigte ebenfalls das Kontrastsehen nach 5 Tagen (p=0,006) und nach 4 Wochen (p=0,004), wobei sich die Werte nach 6 Monaten wieder verschlechterten und keinen signifikanten Unterschied zum Ausgangsbefund zeigten. In der Kontrollgruppe (n=4, Rekrutierung offen) zeigten weder der EDTRS Visus noch das Kontrastsehen einen Unterschied nach 5 Tagen.

Schlussfolgerungen: Die Ergebnisse der Therapiegruppe sind ermutigend und begründen die Evaluation der Elektrostimulation in einem größeren Kollektiv. Die noch abzuwartenden Ergebnisse der Kontrollgruppe könnten diesen ersten Eindruck bestärken oder abschwächen.