gms | German Medical Science

25th Annual Meeting of the German Retina Society

German Retina Society

01.06. - 02.06.2012, Münster

Artificial nutrition of the ischemic retina by perfoming PPV with Dulbecco`s Modified Eagle Medium

Meeting Abstract

  • Maximilian Schultheiss - Universitäts-Augenklinik Tübingen
  • T. Herrmann - Naturwissenschaftliches und Medizinisches Institut an der Universität Tübingen
  • S. Schnichels - Universitäts-Augenklinik Tübingen
  • K.U. Bartz-Schmidt - Universitäts-Augenklinik Tübingen
  • G. Zeck - Naturwissenschaftliches und Medizinisches Institut an der Universität Tübingen
  • M.S. Spitzer - Universitäts-Augenklinik Tübingen

German Retina Society. 25th Annual Conference of the German Retina Society. Münster, 01.-02.06.2012. Düsseldorf: German Medical Science GMS Publishing House; 2012. Doc12rg08

DOI: 10.3205/12rg08, URN: urn:nbn:de:0183-12rg082

This is the translated version of the article.
The original version can be found at: http://www.egms.de/de/meetings/rg2012/12rg08.shtml

Published: May 30, 2012

© 2012 Schultheiss et al.
This is an Open Access article distributed under the terms of the Creative Commons Attribution License (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-nd/3.0/deed.en). You are free: to Share – to copy, distribute and transmit the work, provided the original author and source are credited.


Outline

Text

Purpose: Up to date no evidence-based causal therapy exists for the treatment of the central retinal artery occlusion. In order to win time for causal therapies like the reperfusion-therapy, the retina should be supplied with oxygen and nutritions until the artery is opened again. Our aim is to enlarge the retinal tolerance time against ischemia.

Methods: Enucleated bovine eyes underwent Pars Plana Vitrectomy 100 minutes after the animal's death. The eyes were filled with Dulbecco`s Modified Eagle Medium and an oxygen bubble. Four hours after the start of PPV the eyes were opened, the retina was prepared and analyzed from functional and morphological perspective. The functional cell density and the spontaneous electrical activity of retinal ganglion cells was measured with a multielectrode array. The cellular morphology was investigated by evaluating the TUNEL-positive cells in the ganglion-cell-layer. Furthermore the THY-1 mRNA expression was measured 24 hours after the beginning of the PPV. The operated eyes were compared to freshly prepared ones and to eyes suffering from 340 minutes of ischemia.

Results: The eyes which underwent PPV showed a higher spontanoues ganglion-cell-activity compared to the unoperated ones. Furthermore the THY-1 Expression of the ganglion cells was also elevated 24 h after operation.

Conclusions: Performation of PPV and filling up the globe with Dulbecco`s Modified Eagle Medium and an oxygen bubble can extend the retinal tolerance time against ischemic injury. Further in-vivo studies are needed to approve these findings.

gms | German Medical Science

25. Jahrestagung der Deutschen Retinologischen Gesellschaft

Deutsche Gesellschaft für Retinologie

01.06. - 02.06.2012, Münster

Künstliche Ernährung einer ischämischen Retina durch eine PPV mit Dulbecco`s Modified Eagle Medium

Kongressabstract

  • Maximilian Schultheiss - Universitäts-Augenklinik Tübingen
  • T. Herrmann - Naturwissenschaftliches und Medizinisches Institut an der Universität Tübingen
  • S. Schnichels - Universitäts-Augenklinik Tübingen
  • K.U. Bartz-Schmidt - Universitäts-Augenklinik Tübingen
  • G. Zeck - Naturwissenschaftliches und Medizinisches Institut an der Universität Tübingen
  • M.S. Spitzer - Universitäts-Augenklinik Tübingen

Retinologische Gesellschaft. 25. Jahrestagung der Retinologischen Gesellschaft. Münster, 01.-02.06.2012. Düsseldorf: German Medical Science GMS Publishing House; 2012. Doc12rg08

DOI: 10.3205/12rg08, URN: urn:nbn:de:0183-12rg082

Dieses ist die Originalversion des Artikels.
Die übersetzte Version finden Sie unter: http://www.egms.de/en/meetings/rg2012/12rg08.shtml

Veröffentlicht: 30. Mai 2012

© 2012 Schultheiss et al.
Dieser Artikel ist ein Open Access-Artikel und steht unter den Creative Commons Lizenzbedingungen (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-nd/3.0/deed.de). Er darf vervielfältigt, verbreitet und öffentlich zugänglich gemacht werden, vorausgesetzt dass Autor und Quelle genannt werden.


Gliederung

Text

Hintergrund: Bis heute gibt es keine evidenz-basierte kausale Therapie des Zentralarterienverschlusses. Um für mögliche kausale Behandlungen wie eine Reperfusionstherapie mehr Zeit zu gewinnen, soll die Retina mit Sauerstoff und Nährstoffen bis zur Wiederöffnung der Zentralarterie versorgt werden. Dadurch soll die Ischämietoleranz der Netzhaut verlängert werden.

Methoden: Enukleierte Rinderaugen wurden 100 Minuten nach deren Enukleation vitrektomiert und mit Dulbecco`s Modified Eagle Medium gefüllt. Zusätzlich wurde am Ende der OP eine Sauerstoffblase in das Auge gegeben. Dreihundertvierzig Minuten nach der Enukleation wurden die Bulbi eröffnet, die Retinae präpariert und analysiert. Diese wurden mit nicht operierten Augen bzw. frisch enukleierten Augen verglichen. Durch Messung der spontanen Ganglienzellaktivität haben wir die Anzahl der noch lebenden Ganglienzellen bestimmt. Für weitere 24 h wurden die Retinae als Explantate kultiviert und anschließend histologisch auf die Anzahl der TUNEL-positiven Zellen in der Ganglienzellschicht untersucht. Zudem bestimmten wir mittels Real-Time-PCR die mRNA von THY-1 um auf die Anzahl der noch lebenden Ganglienzellen rückschließen zu können.

Ergebnisse: Die Retinae der operierten Augen zeigten eine deutlich höhere, spontane Ganglienzellaktivität als die nicht operierten Augen. Zudem war die THY-1-Expression der Ganglienzellen 24 h nach Ende der OP ebenfalls erhöht.

Schlussfolgerungen: Die Ischämietoleranz der Retina kann durch eine Vitrektomie und Füllen des Glaskörperraumes mit Dulbecco`s Modified Eagle Medium und einer Sauerstoffblase verlängert werden. In-vivo Studien sind notwendig um diese Ergebnisse zu bestätigen.