gms | German Medical Science

25th Annual Meeting of the German Retina Society

German Retina Society

01.06. - 02.06.2012, Münster

Inhibition or genetic knockout of more than one cathepsin reduces angiogenic sprout formation in vitro and Laser-CNV formation in mice

Meeting Abstract

  • Anima Bühler - Universitäts-Augenklinik Freiburg i. B.
  • S. Berger - Universitäts-Augenklinik Freiburg i. B.
  • F. Werner - Institut für molekulare Medizin und Zellforschung der Universität Freiburg
  • G. Martin - Universitäts-Augenklinik Freiburg i. B.
  • H.T. Agostini - Universitäts-Augenklinik Freiburg i. B.
  • T. Reinheckel - Institut für molekulare Medizin und Zellforschung der Universität Freiburg
  • A. Stahl - Universitäts-Augenklinik Freiburg i. B.

German Retina Society. 25th Annual Conference of the German Retina Society. Münster, 01.-02.06.2012. Düsseldorf: German Medical Science GMS Publishing House; 2012. Doc12rg06

doi: 10.3205/12rg06, urn:nbn:de:0183-12rg064

This is the translated version of the article.
The original version can be found at: http://www.egms.de/de/meetings/rg2012/12rg06.shtml

Published: May 30, 2012

© 2012 Bühler et al.
This is an Open Access article distributed under the terms of the Creative Commons Attribution License (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-nd/3.0/deed.en). You are free: to Share – to copy, distribute and transmit the work, provided the original author and source are credited.


Outline

Text

Purpose: Cathepsins are a family of lysosomal and secreted proteases that are involved in

intracellular protein turnover and matrix invasion. Cathepsin B (Ctsb) and Z (Ctsz) are two cystein cathepsin family members with possible roles in angiogenesis. We therefore investigated the angiomodulatory function of these cathepsins in vitro as well as in a mouse model of laser-induced choroidal neovascularization (Laser-CNV).

Methods: Ctsb-/- mice, Ctsz-/- mice, Ctsb/Ctsz double knockouts (Ctsb/z DKO) and C57BL/6 wildtype controls underwent argon laser treatment to induce choroidal neovascularisation (CNV). 10 days after laser treatment, animals were perfused with FITC dextran, the eyes were collected and choroidal flatmounts prepared. The CNV area was quantified individually for each lesion. For in vitro analysis, endothelial cell (EC) sprouting was analyzed using a spheroidal sprouting assay in collagen matrix under VEGF stimulation. A pan cathepsin inhibitor was added to the matrix. VEGF 165 stimulation alone served as positive control.

Results: In the Laser CNV model, neither Ctsb-/- nor Ctsz-/- mice show a significant difference in CNV area compared to wildtyp controls (p=0.7 and p=0.1 respectively). Ctsb/z DKO, however display a significantly reduced area of CNV formation compared to wild type controls (p=0.001). Similarly, VEGF-induced EC spheroid sprouting in vitro was significantly suppressed using the cell-permeable broad-spectrum cysteine cathepsin inhibitor E64d (p=0.0001).

Conclusion: Our results show that the knockout of either Ctsb or Ctsz alone does not significantly alter Laser-induced CNV formation in mice. However, Laser-CNV formation is significantly reduced in Ctsb/z DKO mice suggesting a compensatory mechanism between different members of the cathepsin family. In accordance EC sprout formation is significantly reduced with broad-spectrum cathepsin inhibitor. The EC spheroid assay also gives a strong hint that the anti-angiogenic effect of cathepsin inhibition is mediated directly via an endothelial mechanism without the involvement of other cell types.

gms | German Medical Science

25. Jahrestagung der Deutschen Retinologischen Gesellschaft

Deutsche Gesellschaft für Retinologie

01.06. - 02.06.2012, Münster

Inhibition oder genetischer knockout von mehr als einem Cathepsin reduziert angiogenes Aussprossen in vitro und die Laser-CNV Entwicklung in der Maus

Kongressabstract

  • Anima Bühler - Universitäts-Augenklinik Freiburg i. B.
  • S. Berger - Universitäts-Augenklinik Freiburg i. B.
  • F. Werner - Institut für molekulare Medizin und Zellforschung der Universität Freiburg
  • G. Martin - Universitäts-Augenklinik Freiburg i. B.
  • H.T. Agostini - Universitäts-Augenklinik Freiburg i. B.
  • T. Reinheckel - Institut für molekulare Medizin und Zellforschung der Universität Freiburg
  • A. Stahl - Universitäts-Augenklinik Freiburg i. B.

Retinologische Gesellschaft. 25. Jahrestagung der Retinologischen Gesellschaft. Münster, 01.-02.06.2012. Düsseldorf: German Medical Science GMS Publishing House; 2012. Doc12rg06

doi: 10.3205/12rg06, urn:nbn:de:0183-12rg064

Dieses ist die Originalversion des Artikels.
Die übersetzte Version finden Sie unter: http://www.egms.de/en/meetings/rg2012/12rg06.shtml

Veröffentlicht: 30. Mai 2012

© 2012 Bühler et al.
Dieser Artikel ist ein Open Access-Artikel und steht unter den Creative Commons Lizenzbedingungen (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-nd/3.0/deed.de). Er darf vervielfältigt, verbreitet und öffentlich zugänglich gemacht werden, vorausgesetzt dass Autor und Quelle genannt werden.


Gliederung

Text

Hintergrund: Cathepsine sind eine Familie lysosomaler und sezernierter Proteasen, die für den intrazellulären Proteinstoffwechsel und die Matrixinvasion eine Rolle spielen. Cathepsin B (Ctsb) und Cathepsin Z (Ctsz) sind zwei Mitglieder der Cystein-Cathepsine mit möglichem Einfluss auf die Angiogenese. Wir haben daher den angiomodulativen Effekt der beiden Cathepsine sowohl in vitro als auch im Model der Laser induzierten choroidalen Neovaskularisation (Laser-CNV) untersucht.

Methoden: Ctsb-/- Mäuse, Ctsz-/- Mäuse, Ctsb/Ctsz doppel- knockout Mäuse (Ctsb/z DKO) und C57BL/6 Wildtyp Kontrollen haben eine Argon-Laser Behandlung erhalten um eine CNV-Bildung zu induzieren.10 Tage nach der Laserbehandlung wurden die Tiere mit FITC-Dextran perfundiert, die Augen wurden entnommen und choroidale Flachpräparate wurden hergestellt. Die CNV Fläche jedes einzelnen Herdes wurde quantifiziert. Für die in vitro Untersuchung wurde das Aussprossen von Endothelzell-Sphäroiden in einer Kollagen Matrix unter VEGF Stimulation untersucht. Ein pan-Cathepsin Inhibitor wurde der Matrix hinzugefügt. Alleinige VEGF 165 Stimulation diente als Positivkontrolle.

Ergebnisse: Im Laser CNV Modell zeigten weder die Ctsb-/- noch die Ctsz-/- Mäuse einen signifikanten Unterschied hinsichtlich der CNV Fläche verglichen zu den Wildtypkontrollen (p=0,7 und p=0,1). Ctsb/z DKO zeigten jedoch eine signifikant geringe CNV Fläche verglichen zu den Wildtypkontrollen (p=0.001). Entsprechend zeigte die VEGF induzierte Sphäroidsprossung in vitro eine signifikante Reduktion unter dem breit-spektrum Cysteine-Cathepsin Inhibitor E64d (p=0,0001).

Schlussfolgerungen: Unsere Ergebnisse zeigen, dass der knockout von entweder Ctsb oder Ctsz alleine keinen signifikanten Einfluss auf die Laser-induzierte CNV Bildung hat. Allerdings zeigt die CNV Entwicklung in der Ctsb/z DKO Maus eine signifikante Reduktion, was möglicherweise auf einen kompensatorischen Mechanismus zwischen den verschiedenen Cathepsinen schließen lässt. Entsprechend zeigt sich eine signifikante Reduktion der Sphäroidsprossung unter Einfluss eines breit-Spektrum Cathepsin Inhibitors. Der Sphäroid-Versuch spricht auch dafür, dass der anti-angiogene Effekt der Cathepsin-Inhibition über einen direkten endothelialen Mechanismus vermittelt wird ohne Beteiligung anderer Zelltypen.