gms | German Medical Science

25th Annual Meeting of the German Retina Society

German Retina Society

01.06. - 02.06.2012, Münster

12 months results after Ozurdeximplantation by patients with retinal vein occlusion

Meeting Abstract

  • Daniel Krause - St.-Johannes-Hospital Dortmund
  • S. Krause - St.-Johannes-Hospital Dortmund
  • T. Schilde - St.-Johannes-Hospital Dortmund
  • H. Schilling - St.-Johannes-Hospital Dortmund

German Retina Society. 25th Annual Conference of the German Retina Society. Münster, 01.-02.06.2012. Düsseldorf: German Medical Science GMS Publishing House; 2012. Doc12rg03

DOI: 10.3205/12rg03, URN: urn:nbn:de:0183-12rg032

This is the translated version of the article.
The original version can be found at: http://www.egms.de/de/meetings/rg2012/12rg03.shtml

Published: May 30, 2012

© 2012 Krause et al.
This is an Open Access article distributed under the terms of the Creative Commons Attribution License (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-nd/3.0/deed.en). You are free: to Share – to copy, distribute and transmit the work, provided the original author and source are credited.


Outline

Text

Purpose: Since July 2010 in Germany the therapy of macular oedema by retinal vein occlusion with Ozurdex® (Allergan) is approved. In this lecture the 2, 6 and 12 months results of the St.-Johannes-Hospital in Dortmund should be presented.

Methods: In this retrospective analysis we present the results of 102 eyes. 48 eyes with central vein occlusion and 54 eyes with branch vein occlusion. These eyes were treated with Ozurdex (Dexamethason) and the maximum follow up was after 12 months. The main assessment were the central retina thickness in the OCT, the best visual acuity and the implantation frequency. Furthermore we distinguished between eyes with and without intravitreal pretherapy.

Results: On average in both groups were a significant improvement of the vision: after 2 months (12 months) by 5.24 (6.92) letters in the branch vein group and by 7.00 (6.38) in the central vein group. The central retina thickness was reduced to 277.24 µm (325.29) in the branch vein group and to 201.64 µm (154.5) in the central vein group. In the 12 months we re-injected Ozurdex in 2.25 times.

Conclusions: Therapy with Ozurdex shows in clinical routine also after 12 months and re-injection several times a very good improvement of the vision and reducing of macula oedema. The maximum improvement of the vision is 2 months after the application of Ozurdex. In the branch vein group the results after 12 months shows continuously trend to functional recovery.

gms | German Medical Science

25. Jahrestagung der Deutschen Retinologischen Gesellschaft

Deutsche Gesellschaft für Retinologie

01.06. - 02.06.2012, Münster

12 Monatsergebnisse nach Ozurdeximplantation bei Patienten mit retinalen Venenverschlüssen (RVO)

Kongressabstract

Suche in Medline nach

  • Daniel Krause - St.-Johannes-Hospital Dortmund
  • S. Krause - St.-Johannes-Hospital Dortmund
  • T. Schilde - St.-Johannes-Hospital Dortmund
  • H. Schilling - St.-Johannes-Hospital Dortmund

Retinologische Gesellschaft. 25. Jahrestagung der Retinologischen Gesellschaft. Münster, 01.-02.06.2012. Düsseldorf: German Medical Science GMS Publishing House; 2012. Doc12rg03

doi: 10.3205/12rg03, urn:nbn:de:0183-12rg032

Dieses ist die Originalversion des Artikels.
Die übersetzte Version finden Sie unter: http://www.egms.de/en/meetings/rg2012/12rg03.shtml

Veröffentlicht: 30. Mai 2012

© 2012 Krause et al.
Dieser Artikel ist ein Open Access-Artikel und steht unter den Creative Commons Lizenzbedingungen (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-nd/3.0/deed.de). Er darf vervielfältigt, verbreitet und öffentlich zugänglich gemacht werden, vorausgesetzt dass Autor und Quelle genannt werden.


Gliederung

Text

Hintergrund: In der Therapie des Makulaödems (MÖ) bei retinalen Venenverschlüssen (RVO) ist seit Juli 2010 in Deutschland Ozurdex® (Firma Allergan) zugelassen. In diesem Vortrag sollen die 2, 6 und 12 Monatsdaten aus dem St.-Johannes Hospital in Dortmund vorgestellt werden.

Methodik: In dieser retrospektiven Analyse werden die Ergebnisse von 102 Augen vorgestellt. 48 Augen wiesen einen Zentralvenenverschluss (ZVV) und 54 Augen einen Venenastverschluss (VAV) auf. Diese wurden mit Ozurdex® (Dexamethason) behandelt und über einen Zeitraum von maximal 12 Monaten nachkontrolliert. Die Beurteilungskriterien waren die foveale Netzhautdicke im OCT, der bestkorrigierte Visus und die Applikationshäufigkeit. Des Weiteren wurde zwischen Augen mit und ohne intravitrealer Vortherapie unterschieden.

Ergebnisse: Im Durchschnitt zeigte sich in beiden Gruppen ein signifikanter Visusanstieg: nach 2 Monaten (12 Monaten) um 5,24 (6,92) Buchstaben in der VAV-Gruppe und um 7,00 (6,38) in der ZVV-Gruppe. Die foveale Netzhautdicke nahm nach 2 Monaten (12 Monaten) in der VAV-Gruppe um 277,24 µm (325,29) und um 201,64 µm (154,5) in der ZVV Gruppe ab. Durchschnittlich wurden 2,25 Injektionen mit Ozurdex® in den 12 Monaten durchgeführt.

Schlussfolgerungen: Die Therapie mit Ozurdex® zeigt in der klinischen Routine auch nach 12 Monaten und mehrmaliger Implantation eine sehr gute Visusverbesserung und Abnahme des Makulaödems. Insgesamt war der Gipfel der Sehschärfe 2 Monate nach der Applikation des Ozurdeximplantates erreicht. In der VAV-Gruppe wiesen die Resultate in den 12 Monatasergebnissen sogar noch einen weiter fortlaufenden Trend zur funktionellen Besserung auf.