gms | German Medical Science

24rd Annual Meeting of the German Retina Society

German Retina Society

17.06. - 18.06.2011, Aachen

Phase I MP0112 wet AMD study results: DARPin® MP0112 shows potential for quarterly dosing in wet AMD

Meeting Abstract

  • Carsten Framme - Universitäts-Augenklinik Bern
  • U.E.K. Wolf-Schnurrbusch - Universitäts-Augenklinik Bern
  • M.T. Stumpp - Molecular Partners AG, Zürich
  • S. Wolf - Universitäts-Augenklinik Bern
  • MPO 112 AMD Studiengruppe

German Retina Society. 24th Annual Conference of the German Retina Society. Aachen, 17.-18.06.2011. Düsseldorf: German Medical Science GMS Publishing House; 2011. Doc11rg58

DOI: 10.3205/11rg58, URN: urn:nbn:de:0183-11rg588

This is the translated version of the article.
The original version can be found at: http://www.egms.de/de/meetings/rg2011/11rg58.shtml

Published: June 15, 2011

© 2011 Framme et al.
This is an Open Access article distributed under the terms of the Creative Commons Attribution License (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-nd/3.0/deed.en). You are free: to Share – to copy, distribute and transmit the work, provided the original author and source are credited.


Outline

Text

Background: DARPin® MP0112 is an extremely potent VEGF inhibitor with very long ocular half-life. Animal studies indicate that dosing frequency in patients may be reduced 3–4 fold compared to current standard therapy. This clinical study assessed the safety and preliminary efficacy of DARPin® MP0112.

Method: The MP0112 wet AMD study is a Phase I/II, open-label, non-controlled, multicentre trial. It consisted of 5 dose (0.04 mg; up to 2.0 mg MP0112) ascending cohorts. Patients with newly diagnosed wet AMD and a BCVA of maximal 20/40 were enrolled. Four to nine patients were included per cohort and received a single dose of MP0112 as intravitreal injection.

Results: Baseline visual acuity in all patients was 56 ETDRS letters (32–72 letters) and improved to 59 ETDRS letters (28–80 letters) after 16 weeks. FA revealed dose-dependent reduction of leakage. In the highest two dose cohorts central retinal thickness measured by SD-OCT was reduced by 95 µm and 111 µm respectively after 4 weeks. In these groups, 8 of 10 patients had no disease progression for 8 weeks, and 7 of 10 patients for even 16 weeks. Fifty perecent of all patients – especially in the low dose groups – required rescue therapy. The most frequent adverse effect was a dose-related transient sterile inflammation that resolved without visual consequences.

Conclusion: The results of this Phase I dose-escalation study demonstrate overall safety and efficacy of MP0112. The higher MP0112 doses show potential for quarterly dosing for the treatment of wet AMD. DARPin MP0112 represents a very promising new anti-VEGF treatment option.

gms | German Medical Science

24. Jahrestagung der Deutschen Retinologischen Gesellschaft

Deutsche Gesellschaft für Retinologie

17.06. - 18.06.2011, Aachen

Phase 1-Studie bei neovaskulärer AMD mit DARPin® MP0112 zeigt Potential für quartalsweise Injektionen

Kongressabstract

  • Carsten Framme - Universitäts-Augenklinik Bern
  • U.E.K. Wolf-Schnurrbusch - Universitäts-Augenklinik Bern
  • M.T. Stumpp - Molecular Partners AG, Zürich
  • S. Wolf - Universitäts-Augenklinik Bern
  • MPO 112 AMD Studiengruppe

Retinologische Gesellschaft. 24. Jahrestagung der Retinologischen Gesellschaft. Aachen, 17.-18.06.2011. Düsseldorf: German Medical Science GMS Publishing House; 2011. Doc11rg58

DOI: 10.3205/11rg58, URN: urn:nbn:de:0183-11rg588

Dieses ist die Originalversion des Artikels.
Die übersetzte Version finden Sie unter: http://www.egms.de/en/meetings/rg2011/11rg58.shtml

Veröffentlicht: 15. Juni 2011

© 2011 Framme et al.
Dieser Artikel ist ein Open Access-Artikel und steht unter den Creative Commons Lizenzbedingungen (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-nd/3.0/deed.de). Er darf vervielfältigt, verbreitet und öffentlich zugänglich gemacht werden, vorausgesetzt dass Autor und Quelle genannt werden.


Gliederung

Text

Hintergrund: DARPin® MP0112 ist ein potentes Anti-VEGF-Protein mit sehr langer okulärer Halbwertzeit. Tierversuche haben gezeigt, dass die Injektionsfrequenz um das 3–4 fache gegenüber der Standardtherapie reduziert werden kann. Ziel war es, die Sicherheit und Wirksamkeit in einer Phase 1-Studie bei neovaskulärer AMD zu demonstrieren.

Methode: Die „MP0112 wet AMD study“ ist eine prospektive Phase I/II, open-label, nicht-kontrollierte, multizentrische Studie mit acht Zentren in Europa. Patienten mit neovaskulärer bisher nicht behandelter AMD und einen Visus bis maximal 0,5 erhielten eine einmalige Dosis MP0112 (5 Kohorten von 4–9 Patienten, Dosissteigerung von 0,04 mg bis 2,0 mg MP0112) und wurden bis 16 Wochen nachuntersucht (Fluoreszein-Angiographie (FA), Spectralis-OCT).

Ergebnisse: Bei insgesamt 32 Patienten ergab sich eine Stabilisierung oder Verbesserung des Ausgangsvisus von durchschnittlich 56 ETDRS-Buchstaben (32–72 Buchstaben) auf 59 ETDRS-Buchstaben (28–80 Buchstaben) nach 16 Wochen. In der FA präsentierte sich eine dosis-abhängige Reduktion der Leckage. In den höchsten beiden Dosisgruppen zeigte sich eine Reduktion der zentralen Netzhautdicke von -95 µm und -111 µm im OCT nach 4 Wochen. Acht von 10 Patienten in diesen beiden Gruppen hatten keine Krankheitsprogression für 8 Wochen, 7 von ihnen sogar auch nach 16 Wochen nicht. Von allen Patienten – insbesondere bei den niedrigen Dosierungen – bedurften 50% einer „Rescue“-Therapie innerhalb des Beobachtungszeitraumes. Als unerwünschter Effekt trat eine dosis-abhängige sterile intraokulare Entzündung ohne visuelle Konsequenzen auf.

Schlussfolgerung: Die MP0112-Phase 1 Dosis-Eskalationsstudie ergab ein gutes Sicherheitsprofil. Höhere Dosen haben das Potential die derzeitige Injektionsfrequenz um den Faktor 4 zu reduzieren, so dass DARPin® MP0112 eine vielversprechende neue Anti-VEGF-Behandlungsoption bildet.