gms | German Medical Science

24th Annual Meeting of the German Retina Society

German Retina Society

17.06. - 18.06.2011, Aachen

Identification of prognostic factors for the surgical removal of epiretinal membranes using high-definition optical coherence tomography

Meeting Abstract

  • Lars-Olof Hattenbach - Augenklinik, Städt. Klinikum Ludwigshafen
  • T. Brauns - Augenklinik, Städt. Klinikum Ludwigshafen
  • G. Fulle - Augenklinik, Städt. Klinikum Ludwigshafen
  • F. Höhn - Augenklinik, Städt. Klinikum Ludwigshafen

German Retina Society. 24th Annual Conference of the German Retina Society. Aachen, 17.-18.06.2011. Düsseldorf: German Medical Science GMS Publishing House; 2011. Doc11rg28

doi: 10.3205/11rg28, urn:nbn:de:0183-11rg286

This is the translated version of the article.
The original version can be found at: http://www.egms.de/de/meetings/rg2011/11rg28.shtml

Published: June 15, 2011

© 2011 Hattenbach et al.
This is an Open Access article distributed under the terms of the Creative Commons Attribution License (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-nd/3.0/deed.en). You are free: to Share – to copy, distribute and transmit the work, provided the original author and source are credited.


Outline

Text

Background: To date, a reliable prediction of outcome after pars plana vitrectomy (PPV) and surgical membrane peeling in patients with epiretinal membrane formation remains difficult.

Methods: We investigated 40 eyes (40 patients) with idiopathic epiretinal membranes who underwent 23- or 20 gauge three-port PPV with surgical membrane peeling. Pre- and postoperative morphological features were assessed by using high-definition optical coherence tomography (Carl Zeiss Meditec). OCT patterns were correlated with clinical course and visual outcome. The significance of prognostic factors was examined with Fisher’s exact test.

Results: Based on OCT, we identified four morphological features termed “flat” (<450 µm), “prominent” (≥450 µm), “surface wrinkling” and “smooth”. Of those patients with prominent membranes and surface wrinkling (n=24), 13 (54%) exhibited a significant improvement in visual acuity (≥3 lines), whereas only 1 individual (11%) in the sugroup of patients with flat and smooth membranes (n=8) showed a comparable visual outcome. This difference was statistically significant (p=0,0466). Intraoperatively, flat and smooth membranes were more frequently judged to be tightly adherent than prominent membranes with surface wrinkling.

Conclusions: The assessment of specific morphological features with high-definition OCT may be useful in characterizing the surgical prognosis of eyes with an epiretinal membrane. It seems plausible that an association between morphology and visual outcome is causally related to the degree of membrane adherence to the retinal surface.

gms | German Medical Science

24. Jahrestagung der Deutschen Retinologischen Gesellschaft

Deutsche Gesellschaft für Retinologie

17.06. - 18.06.2011, Aachen

Identifizierung prognostischer Faktoren für das funktionelle Ergebnis nach Vitrektomie und Membranpeeling durch Charakterisierung epiretinaler Membranen mittels hochauflösender optischer Kohärenztomographie

Kongressabstract

Suche in Medline nach

  • Lars-Olof Hattenbach - Augenklinik, Städt. Klinikum Ludwigshafen
  • T. Brauns - Augenklinik, Städt. Klinikum Ludwigshafen
  • G. Fulle - Augenklinik, Städt. Klinikum Ludwigshafen
  • F. Höhn - Augenklinik, Städt. Klinikum Ludwigshafen

Retinologische Gesellschaft. 24. Jahrestagung der Retinologischen Gesellschaft. Aachen, 17.-18.06.2011. Düsseldorf: German Medical Science GMS Publishing House; 2011. Doc11rg28

DOI: 10.3205/11rg28, URN: urn:nbn:de:0183-11rg286

Dieses ist die Originalversion des Artikels.
Die übersetzte Version finden Sie unter: http://www.egms.de/en/meetings/rg2011/11rg28.shtml

Veröffentlicht: 15. Juni 2011

© 2011 Hattenbach et al.
Dieser Artikel ist ein Open Access-Artikel und steht unter den Creative Commons Lizenzbedingungen (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-nd/3.0/deed.de). Er darf vervielfältigt, verbreitet und öffentlich zugänglich gemacht werden, vorausgesetzt dass Autor und Quelle genannt werden.


Gliederung

Text

Hintergrund: Eine prognostische Aussage hinsichtlich des postoperativen funktionellen Ergebnisses nach Pars plana Vitrektomie (PPV) mit Membranpeeling bei epiretinaler Gliose ist bis heute nicht sicher möglich.

Methoden: Wir untersuchten den klinischen Verlauf von 40 Augen (40 Patienten) mit epiretinaler Gliose nach 23 Ga oder 20 Ga Pars plana Vitrektomie und Membranpeeling. Die Charakterisierung der Membranen erfolgte anhand der präoperativ durchgeführten hochauflösenden optischen Kohärenztomografie (HD-OCT, Carl-Zeiss Meditec). Der morphologische Befund wurde im Hinblick auf Visusentwicklung sowie intra- und postoperativen Verlauf analysiert. Die Signifikanz prognostischer Faktoren wurde mittels Fisher’s exact test bestimmt.

Ergebnisse: Anhand des OCT-Befundes konnte eine Einteilung der Membranen nach den Merkmalen „flach“ (<450 µm), „prominent“ (≥450 µm), „Faltenbildung“ und „glatt“ vorgenommen werden. Patienten mit prominenter Membran und Faltenbildung (n=24) zeigten in 13 Fällen (54%) eine deutliche Steigerung der zentralen Sehschärfe (≥3 Linien) im Vergleich zu nur einem Patienten (11%) in der Gruppe mit flacher, glatter Membran (n=8). Dieser Unterschied war statistisch signifikant (p=0,0466). Glatte, flache Membranen waren im Vergleich zu prominenten Membranen mit Faltenbildung signifikant häufiger durch den Operateur als „stark traktiv“ bewertet worden.

Schlussfolgerungen: Die Kombination bestimmter präoperativer, mittels hochauflösender OCT erfaßter morphologischer Merkmale epiretinaler Membranen läßt eine Aussage hinsichtlich des zu erwartenden funktionellen Ergebnisses nach PPV und Peeling zu. Der Zusammenhang zwischen Membrantyp und Visusentwicklung ist möglicherweise auf die intraoperativ beobachteten traktiven Eigenschaften zurückzuführen.