gms | German Medical Science

23rd Annual Meeting of the German Retina Society

German Retina Society

24.09. - 25.09.2010, Freiburg

Ranibizumab for Branch Retinal Vein Occlusion-Associated Macular Edema Study (RABAMES): 3 months results

Meeting Abstract

  • Alireza Mirshahi - University Eye Clinic Mainz
  • N. Feltgen - University Eye Clinic Göttingen
  • K. Lorenz - University Eye Clinic Mainz
  • A. Pielen - University Eye Clinic Freiburg i. Br.
  • K. Hauer - University Eye Clinic Freiburg i. Br.
  • C. Lange - Moorfields Eye Hospital, London (GB)
  • C. Kramann - University Eye Clinic Mainz
  • L.L. Hansen - University Eye Clinic Freiburg i. Br.
  • L.-O. Hattenbach - Hospital of the City of Ludwigshafen, Eye Clinic

German Retina Society. 23rd Annual Conference of the German Retina Society. Freiburg i. Br., 24.-25.09.2010. Düsseldorf: German Medical Science GMS Publishing House; 2010. Doc10rg76

doi: 10.3205/10rg76, urn:nbn:de:0183-10rg760

This is the translated version of the article.
The original version can be found at: http://www.egms.de/de/meetings/rg2010/10rg76.shtml

Published: September 21, 2010

© 2010 Mirshahi et al.
This is an Open Access article distributed under the terms of the Creative Commons Attribution License (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-nd/3.0/deed.en). You are free: to Share – to copy, distribute and transmit the work, provided the original author and source are credited.


Outline

Text

Background: To date, there is some evidence that intravitreal anti-VEGF agents may be effective in the treatment of macular edema secondary to branch retinal vein occlusion (BRVO). In the current study, we sought to investigate the efficacy of this therapeutic approach in comparison to retinal photocoagulation in patients with BRVO.

Methods: This was a prospective, randomized, controlled multicenter trial in patients with chronic (>3 months) macular edema secondary to BRVO, with a visual acuity between 20/320 and to 20/40. Patients were randomized to either intravitreal ranibizumab (3 times) or argon laser photocoagulation or a combination of both. The primary clinical outcome measure was change in BSCVA from baseline at 6 months. Secondary outcome measures were mean change in BSCVA, mean change in central retinal thickness, proportion of patients who gain ≥5, 10, 15 letters or lose less than 15 letters of BSCVA, change in area and intensity of leakage on fluorescein angiography.

Results: The enrollment has been completed (30 eyes of 30 patients). Each 10 eyes were assigned to one of the three study arms. Initial visual acuity ranged from 20/320 to 20/40 and the time-span from symptom onset to treatment ranged from 3 to 12 months. No major ocular complications such as intravitreal hemorrhage, retinal detachment, or endophthalmitis were observed.

Conclusions: We present for the first time 3 months results of the trial. We examine the hypothesis that combined treatment with intravitreal ranibizumab and laser photocoagulation has a more pronounced therapeutic effect than treatment with ranibizumab or photocoagulation alone.

gms | German Medical Science

23. Jahrestagung der Deutschen Retinologischen Gesellschaft

Deutsche Gesellschaft für Retinologie

24.09. - 25.09.2010, Freiburg

Ranibizumab for Branch Retinal Vein Occlusion-Associated Macular Edema Study (RABAMES): 3-Monats-Ergebnisse

Kongressabstract

  • Alireza Mirshahi - Universitäts-Augenklinik Mainz
  • N. Feltgen - Universitäts-Augenklinik Göttingen
  • K. Lorenz - Universitäts-Augenklinik Mainz
  • A. Pielen - Universitäts-Augenklinik Freiburg i. Br.
  • K. Hauer - Universitäts-Augenklinik Freiburg i. Br.
  • C. Lange - Moorfields Eye Hospital, London (GB)
  • C. Kramann - Universitäts-Augenklinik Mainz
  • L.L. Hansen - Universitäts-Augenklinik Freiburg i. Br.
  • L.-O. Hattenbach - Klinikum der Stadt Ludwigshafen, Augenklinik

Retinologische Gesellschaft. 23. Jahrestagung der Retinologischen Gesellschaft. Freiburg i. Br., 24.-25.09.2010. Düsseldorf: German Medical Science GMS Publishing House; 2010. Doc10rg76

doi: 10.3205/10rg76, urn:nbn:de:0183-10rg760

Dieses ist die Originalversion des Artikels.
Die übersetzte Version finden Sie unter: http://www.egms.de/en/meetings/rg2010/10rg76.shtml

Veröffentlicht: 21. September 2010

© 2010 Mirshahi et al.
Dieser Artikel ist ein Open Access-Artikel und steht unter den Creative Commons Lizenzbedingungen (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-nd/3.0/deed.de). Er darf vervielfältigt, verbreitet und öffentlich zugänglich gemacht werden, vorausgesetzt dass Autor und Quelle genannt werden.


Gliederung

Text

Hintergrund: Sowohl diee parazentrale Laserkoagulation als auch die intravitreale Injektion von Anti-VEGF-Substanzen scheinen bei der Therapie des Makulaödems nach Venenastverschluss (VAV) effektiv zu sein. In dieser Studie wurde die Effektivität dieser zwei Therapieoptionen miteinander verglichen.

Methoden: Wir initiierten eine prospektive randomisierte kontrollierte Multicenterstudie zur Behandlung des chronischen Makulaödems (>3 Monate) nach VAV. Die Visusgrenzen lagen zwischen 0,0625 und 0,5. Die Patienten wurden in drei Arme randomisiert: entweder intravitreale Ranibizumabinjektionen (3 mal) oder Argonlaserkoagulation oder eine Kombination aus beiden Methoden. Das primäre Outcome war die Änderung des korrigierten Visus nach 6 Monaten. Sekundäre Parameter waren Änderung der zentralen Netzhautdicke, Anteil der Patienten die ≥5, 10, 15 Buchstaben an Visus gewannen und weniger als 15 Buchstaben verloren und Änderung des Leckageareals in der Fluoresceinangiographie.

Ergebnisse: Die Einschlussphase wurde abgeschlossen (30 Augen von 30 Patienten). In jedem Studienarm wurden 10 Augen behandelt. Der korrigierte Visus war zwischen 0,0625 und 0,5 und die Zeitspanne zwischen dem Auftreten der Krankheit und der Behandlung lag zwischen 3 und 12 Monaten. Es traten keine oculäre Komplikationen (wie z.B. Glaskörperblutung, Netzhautablösung oder Endophthalmitis) auf.

Schlussfolgerungen: Erstmalig präsentieren wir die 3-Monats-Ergebnisse dieser Studie. Dabei untersuchen wir die Hypothese, dass eine kombinierte Behandlung effektiver ist als die Einzelbehandlungen mit intravitrealer Ranibizumab oder Laserkoaguation der Netzhaut.