gms | German Medical Science

23rd Annual Meeting of the German Retina Society

German Retina Society

24.09. - 25.09.2010, Freiburg

Three-dimensional self-sealing “screwcut”-incision – a novel approach to sutureless transconjunctival vitrectomy

Meeting Abstract

Search Medline for

  • Lars-Olof Hattenbach - Hospital of the City of Ludwigshafen, Eye Clinic

German Retina Society. 23rd Annual Conference of the German Retina Society. Freiburg i. Br., 24.-25.09.2010. Düsseldorf: German Medical Science GMS Publishing House; 2010. Doc10rg58

doi: 10.3205/10rg58, urn:nbn:de:0183-10rg585

This is the translated version of the article.
The original version can be found at: http://www.egms.de/de/meetings/rg2010/10rg58.shtml

Published: September 21, 2010

© 2010 Hattenbach.
This is an Open Access article distributed under the terms of the Creative Commons Attribution License (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-nd/3.0/deed.en). You are free: to Share – to copy, distribute and transmit the work, provided the original author and source are credited.


Outline

Text

Purpose: Flattened sclerotomies are an essential step in ensuring postoperative wound stability in transconjunctival sutureless vitrectomy. However, in complex cases, conventional angled incisions often leak at the end of the procedure. In the present study, we evaluated the outcome of 23-gauge sutureless vitrectomy in various vitreoretinal disorders using a novel self-sealing incision technique.

Methods: Retrospective, noncomparative interventional case series. Thirty eyes of 30 patients underwent complete vitrectomy with shaving of the vitreous base, laser application and peeling of surface membranes using a 23-gauge one-step microcannula array with sharp solid trocar blades and a novel curved and twisted (“screw”-like) self-sealing incision technique. All operations were performed bimanually with 25-gauge chandelier illumination. Indications included epiretinal membrane (n=17), macular hole (n=5), and proliferative diabetic retinopathy (n=3). Primary outcome measures included occurrence of an intra- or postoperative complication such as retinal tears, retinal detachment, vitreous hemorrhage, postoperative hypotony (≤5 mmHg), conversion to 20-gauge vitrectomy or need for scleral sutures.

Results: The 23-gauge incisions were self-sealing in all eyes. In one patient with severe peripheral retinal degeneration and tractional tears requiring silicone oil tamponade, all pars plana incisions were sutured prophylactically. However, of 30 patients, 8 (26.6%) required suturing of the 25-gauge straight two-step chandelier incision. There was no postoperative hypotony, choroidal effusion or vitreous hemorrhage and no postoperative endophthalmitis was observed.

Conclusions: This new approach to 23-gauge sutureless surgery combining a sharp trocar blade and a curved and twisted incision (“screwcut”) provides excellent wound closure and potentially minimizes the risk of wound leak. The finding that straight 25-gauge incisions frequently necessitated suturing underscores the role of careful wound construction in cases that require a very complete vitrectomy.

gms | German Medical Science

23. Jahrestagung der Deutschen Retinologischen Gesellschaft

Deutsche Gesellschaft für Retinologie

24.09. - 25.09.2010, Freiburg

Eine neue selbstverschließende Sklerainzisionstechnik für die nahtlose transkonjunktivale Netzhautchirurgie

Kongressabstract

Suche in Medline nach

  • Lars-Olof Hattenbach - Klinikum der Stadt Ludwigshafen, Augenklinik

Retinologische Gesellschaft. 23. Jahrestagung der Retinologischen Gesellschaft. Freiburg i. Br., 24.-25.09.2010. Düsseldorf: German Medical Science GMS Publishing House; 2010. Doc10rg58

DOI: 10.3205/10rg58, URN: urn:nbn:de:0183-10rg585

Dieses ist die Originalversion des Artikels.
Die übersetzte Version finden Sie unter: http://www.egms.de/en/meetings/rg2010/10rg58.shtml

Veröffentlicht: 21. September 2010

© 2010 Hattenbach.
Dieser Artikel ist ein Open Access-Artikel und steht unter den Creative Commons Lizenzbedingungen (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-nd/3.0/deed.de). Er darf vervielfältigt, verbreitet und öffentlich zugänglich gemacht werden, vorausgesetzt dass Autor und Quelle genannt werden.


Gliederung

Text

Hintergrund: Selbstverschließende lamellierende Sklerotomien verbessern die Dichtigkeit von Sklerainzisionen bei der nahtlosen transkonjunktivalen Vitrektomie. Konventionelle lamellierende Inzisionstechniken sind jedoch insbesondere bei längerdauernden, komplexen Eingriffen mit dem Risiko einer Schnittinsuffizienz assoziiert.

Methoden: Untersucht wurde der intra- und postoperative Verlauf von 30 Augen (30 Patienten), bei denen unter Verwendung eines 23 Ga One-Step Vitrektomie-Systems und Anwendung einer neuen, in Form einer Schraubenlamelle („Screwcut“) geführten Sklerainzision eine komplette Vitrektomie mit Entfernung der anterioren Glaskörper-Basis, Endolaserkoagulation und Peeling epiretinaler Membranen durchgeführt worden war. Alle Eingriffe wurden bimanuell mittels eines 25 Ga Two-Step Chandelier Illuminationssystems vorgenommen. Die Indikationsstellung zur OP erfolgte aufgrund einer Epiretinalen Gliose (n=17), eines Makulaforamens (n=5) oder einer Proliferativen Diabetischen Vitreoretinopathie (n=3). Die primären Bewertungsparameter umfaßten das Auftreten einer postoperativen Bulbushypotonie (≤5 mmHg), Konversion zu 20 Ga-Vitrektomie oder Notwendigkeit zusätzlicher Skleranähte.

Ergebnisse: Nach vollständiger Vitrektomie und einer Operationsdauer von 30–90 min war bei allen Sklerainzisionen die selbstverschließende Wirkung erhalten. Bei einem Patienten erfolgte aufgrund der Notwendigkeit einer Silikonölendotamponade die prophylaktische Anlage von Skleranähten. In 8 von 30 Fällen (26,6%) war eine Naht der nicht-lamellierenden 25 Ga Chandelier-Inzision erforderlich. Eine postoperative Hypotonie, Aderhautschwellung, Glaskörperblutung oder Endophthalmitis wurde nicht beobachtet.

Schlussfolgerungen: Die mit einem One-Step Trokarsystem geführte „Screwcut“-Inzisionstechnik gewährleistet einen sehr guten Wundverschluß nach nahtloser transconjunktivaler Vitrektomie. Die Beobachtung, daß die gerade geführte 25 Ga-Inzision häufig einen Nahtverschluß erforderte, unterstreicht die Bedeutung einer sorgfältigen Sklerainzisionstechnik bei umfangreicheren Eingriffen im 23 Ga-Format.