gms | German Medical Science

23rd Annual Meeting of the German Retina Society

German Retina Society

24.09. - 25.09.2010, Freiburg

High resolution autofluorescence microscopy of human RPE cells using structured illumination

Meeting Abstract

  • Thomas Ach - University Eye Clinic Heidelberg
  • G. Best - University of Heidelberg, Institute of Physics
  • C. Cremer - University of Heidelberg, Institute of Physics
  • F. Schütt - University Eye Clinic Heidelberg
  • S. Dithmar - University Eye Clinic Heidelberg

German Retina Society. 23rd Annual Conference of the German Retina Society. Freiburg i. Br., 24.-25.09.2010. Düsseldorf: German Medical Science GMS Publishing House; 2010. Doc10rg54

DOI: 10.3205/10rg54, URN: urn:nbn:de:0183-10rg548

This is the translated version of the article.
The original version can be found at: http://www.egms.de/de/meetings/rg2010/10rg54.shtml

Published: September 21, 2010

© 2010 Ach et al.
This is an Open Access article distributed under the terms of the Creative Commons Attribution License (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-nd/3.0/deed.en). You are free: to Share – to copy, distribute and transmit the work, provided the original author and source are credited.


Outline

Text

Background: Several microscopic techniques can be used for detection of autofluorescent pigments in retinal pigment epithelial (RPE) cells. Structured illumination in fluorescence microscopy allows for high resolution imaging in a nanometer range.

Methods: The utilized structured illumination microscopy (SIM) setup is based on a common wide field microscope with different applicable excitation wavelengths (488, 568, 647 nm). The object is illuminated with a periodical pattern (i.e. structured illumination). The acquired data that consists of a superimposition of the illumination pattern and the object is processed subsequently by reconstruction software to generate high resolution images. SIM was applied to histological RPE sections and RPE cell cultures. Lipofuscin (LF) granules, melanolipofuscin granules (MLF) and melanosomes were characterized with regard to their morphology and autofluorescence distribution.

Results: SIM significantly improves the lateral resolution compared to commonly used wide field microscopes by a factor of two down to 110 nm. LF granules showed the strongest autofluorescence signal (AS) at 488 and 568 nm excitation while the melanosomes showed a red shifted fluorescence with a strong signal at 647 nm. LF granules were significantly smaller than MLF granules (976 vs. 1156 nm; p<0.001); the size of LF granules increased with decreasing distance to the bruch membrane (BM). The melanosomes were significantly further away from BM than LF and MLF granules.

Conclusion: SIM is suitable for high resolution imaging of autofluorescent LF and MLF granules and melanosomes in RPE cells. The significant improvement in lateral resolution allows for better insights in the autofluorescence distribution of RPE cells.

gms | German Medical Science

23. Jahrestagung der Deutschen Retinologischen Gesellschaft

Deutsche Gesellschaft für Retinologie

24.09. - 25.09.2010, Freiburg

Hoch auflösende Autofluoreszenzmikroskopie humaner RPE Zellen durch strukturierte Beleuchtung

Kongressabstract

Suche in Medline nach

  • Thomas Ach - Universitäts-Augenklinik Heidelberg
  • G. Best - Universität Heidelberg, Kirchhoff Institut für Physik
  • C. Cremer - Universität Heidelberg, Kirchhoff Institut für Physik
  • F. Schütt - Universitäts-Augenklinik Heidelberg
  • S. Dithmar - Universitäts-Augenklinik Heidelberg

Retinologische Gesellschaft. 23. Jahrestagung der Retinologischen Gesellschaft. Freiburg i. Br., 24.-25.09.2010. Düsseldorf: German Medical Science GMS Publishing House; 2010. Doc10rg54

DOI: 10.3205/10rg54, URN: urn:nbn:de:0183-10rg548

Dieses ist die Originalversion des Artikels.
Die übersetzte Version finden Sie unter: http://www.egms.de/en/meetings/rg2010/10rg54.shtml

Veröffentlicht: 21. September 2010

© 2010 Ach et al.
Dieser Artikel ist ein Open Access-Artikel und steht unter den Creative Commons Lizenzbedingungen (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-nd/3.0/deed.de). Er darf vervielfältigt, verbreitet und öffentlich zugänglich gemacht werden, vorausgesetzt dass Autor und Quelle genannt werden.


Gliederung

Text

Hintergrund: Autofluoreszierende Pigmente in Zellen des retinalen Pigmentepithels (RPE) lassen sich mit verschiedenen mikroskopischen Techniken nachweisen. Die Anwendung strukturierter Beleuchtung in der Fluoreszenzmikroskopie ermöglicht erstmals hoch aufgelöste lichtmikroskopische Darstellungen im Nanometerbereich.

Methoden: Basis dieser hoch auflösenden Mikroskopie bildet ein herkömmliches Weitfeldmikroskop mit verschiedenen Anregungswellenlängen (488, 568, 647 nm). Das Objekt wird mit einem periodischen Muster (= Struktur) beleuchtet. Die Daten aus Beleuchtungsstruktur und Objekt können anschließend softwareunterstützt zu einem hoch aufgelösten Bild rekonstruiert werden. Diese Technik wurde an histologischen RPE-Schnitten und RPE-Zellkulturen angewendet. Lipofuszin (LF)- und Melanolipofuszingranula (MLF) sowie Melanosomen wurden nach ihrer Morphologie und Autofluoreszenzcharakteristika beurteilt.

Ergebnisse: Mit der Mikroskopie durch strukturierte Beleuchtung lässt sich die Auflösung, im Vergleich zu herkömmlichen Weitfeldmikroskopen, signifikant verbessern. Laterale Auflösungen von 110 nm sind möglich. LF-Granula zeigten bei 568 nm ein signifikant höheres Autofluoreszenzsignal als bei 488 oder 647 nm; Melanosomen hatten bei 568 und 647 nm ihre Autofluoreszenzmaxima. LF-Granula waren signifikant kleiner als MLF-Granula (976 vs. 1156 nm; p<0.001) und nahmen mit steigendem Abstand zur Bruch Membran (BM) an Größe zu. Melanosomen waren signifikant weiter von der BM entfernt als LF- und MLF-Granula.

Schlussfolgerungen: Die Mikroskopie mit strukturierter Beleuchtung eignet sich zur hoch aufgelösten Darstellung von autofluoreszierenden LF- und MLF-Granula sowie Melanosomen in RPE-Zellen. Die signifikante Auflösungsverbesserung erlaubt zudem bessere Einblicke in die Fluoreszenzeigenschaften von RPE-Zellen.