gms | German Medical Science

23rd Annual Meeting of the German Retina Society

German Retina Society

24.09. - 25.09.2010, Freiburg

Can genetically modified PEDF-secreting RPE cells substitute for anti-VEGFs for the treatment of exudative AMD?

Meeting Abstract

Search Medline for

  • Gabriele Thumann - Eye Clinic of the RWTH Aachen

German Retina Society. 23rd Annual Conference of the German Retina Society. Freiburg i. Br., 24.-25.09.2010. Düsseldorf: German Medical Science GMS Publishing House; 2010. Doc10rg52

doi: 10.3205/10rg52, urn:nbn:de:0183-10rg523

This is the translated version of the article.
The original version can be found at: http://www.egms.de/de/meetings/rg2010/10rg52.shtml

Published: September 21, 2010

© 2010 Thumann.
This is an Open Access article distributed under the terms of the Creative Commons Attribution License (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-nd/3.0/deed.en). You are free: to Share – to copy, distribute and transmit the work, provided the original author and source are credited.


Outline

Text

Introduction: The intravitreal administration of VEGF inhibitors has resulted in significant recovery of vision in over 30% of patients with exudative AMD. In addition to the possible system side effects, the frequent, possibly life-long intravitreal injections are accompanied by significant ocular risks. To overcome the disadvantages of frequent anti-VEGF injections, we have transfected RPE cells with the gene for PEDF using non-viral protocols. Transplantation of these cells to the subretinal space will inhibit neovascularization and maintain a proper neurogenic microenvironment.

Methods: Using electroporation RPE cells were transfected with a plasmid encoding for PEDF. To evaluate transfection efficiency and protein expression stability, secreted rPEDF was identified by immunoblotting at various times. rPEDF was compared in vitro to bevacizumab for its ability to inhibit vascular endothelial cell chemotaxis, sprouting and induction of apoptosis of vascular endothelial cells. Genome stability of the transfected RPE cells was examined using real time PCR to analyze tumor and differentiation markers.

Results: Transfected RPE cells stable PEDF expression for at least 1.5 years and 50 passages, secreting at a rate of 32 ng PEDF/hour/100,000 cells. rPEDF inhibited in vitro endothelial cell proliferation, chemotaxis and sprouting and compared to bevacizumab the rPEDF was over 2000 times more potent. No significant change was evident in gene expression expression.

Conclusions: Genetic ex vivo modification of pigment epithelial cells to produce elevated levels of PEDF should improve the potential therapeutic treatment of AMD by transplantation of these cells to the subretinal space where it would inhibit neovascularization and improve RPE survival.

gms | German Medical Science

23. Jahrestagung der Deutschen Retinologischen Gesellschaft

Deutsche Gesellschaft für Retinologie

24.09. - 25.09.2010, Freiburg

Können genetisch modifizierte PEDF-sezernierende RPE Zellen die VEGF Inhibitoren in der Behandlung der AMD ersetzen?

Kongressabstract

Suche in Medline nach

  • Gabriele Thumann - Augenklinik der RWTH Aachen

Retinologische Gesellschaft. 23. Jahrestagung der Retinologischen Gesellschaft. Freiburg i. Br., 24.-25.09.2010. Düsseldorf: German Medical Science GMS Publishing House; 2010. Doc10rg52

doi: 10.3205/10rg52, urn:nbn:de:0183-10rg523

Dieses ist die Originalversion des Artikels.
Die übersetzte Version finden Sie unter: http://www.egms.de/en/meetings/rg2010/10rg52.shtml

Veröffentlicht: 21. September 2010

© 2010 Thumann.
Dieser Artikel ist ein Open Access-Artikel und steht unter den Creative Commons Lizenzbedingungen (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-nd/3.0/deed.de). Er darf vervielfältigt, verbreitet und öffentlich zugänglich gemacht werden, vorausgesetzt dass Autor und Quelle genannt werden.


Gliederung

Text

Hintergrund: Die intravitreale Injektion von VEGF Inhibitoren erzielt eine signifikante Visusverbesserung in über 30% der Patienten mit exsudativer AMD. Zusätzlich zu den möglichen systemischen Nebenwirkungen und den hohen Kosten sind die häufigen, möglicherweise lebenslangen intravitrealen Injektionen von signifikanten okulären Risiken begleitet. Um diese Nachteile der wiederholten anti-VEGF Injektionen zu vermeiden, haben wir RPE Zellen mit nicht-viralen Methoden mit dem PEDF Gen transfiziert. Die Transplantation dieser Zellen in den subretinalen Raum soll die Neovaskularisation hemmen und ein angemessenes neurotrophes Milieu aufrecht erhalten.

Methoden: RPE Zellen wurden mittels Elektroporation mit einem Plasmid, welches humanes PEDF kodiert, transfiziert. Transfektionseffizienz und Expressionsstabilität konnte im zeitlichen Verlauf durch Immunoblots nachgewiesen. Die biologische Aktivität des rekombinanten PEDF wurde in vitro auf dem Gebiet der Inhibierung von Endothelzell-Chemotaxis, Gefäßbildung und Endothelzellapoptose mit Bevacizumab verglichen. Die genomische Stabilität hinsichtlich Differenzierungsfaktoren und Tumormarkern wurde mittels Real-Time PCR bestimmt.

Ergebnisse: Rekombinantes PEDF, von RPE Zellen exprimiert und mit einer Rate von 32 ng PEDF/Stunde/100.000 Zellen ins Zellkulturmedium sezerniert, konnte über einen Zeitraum von 1,5 Jahren bzw. über multiple Passagen nachgewiesen werden. rPEDF inhibiert in vitro Endothelzellproliferation, Chemotaxis und Gefäßbildung. Im Vergleich ist rPEDF in allen Aspekten der in vitro Angiogenesehemmung um den Faktor 2000 wirksamer als Bevacizumab. Auf genomischer Ebene konnten unerwünschte Nebeneffekte der PEDF Integration ausgeschlossen werden.

Schlussfolgerungen: Die Überexpression von PEDF von ex vivo genetisch modifizierten Zellen eröffnet eine neue therapeutische Strategie für die Therapie der AMD. Werden diese Zellen in den subretinalen Raum transplantiert, inhibieren sie die Neovaskularisation und verbessern das neuronale Überleben.