gms | German Medical Science

23rd Annual Meeting of the German Retina Society

German Retina Society

24.09. - 25.09.2010, Freiburg

SD-OCT complements histologic evaluation of potential Bruch's Membrane Prosthetics

Meeting Abstract

  • Boris V. Stanzel - University Eye Clinic Bonn
  • Z.P. Liu - University Eye Clinic Bonn
  • C.R. Clemens - University Eye Clinic Bonn
  • R. Brinken - University Eye Clinic Bonn
  • V. Kearns - Departments of Ophthalmology and Clinical Engineering, University of Liverpool, UK
  • A. Wegener - University Eye Clinic Bonn
  • C. Sheridan - Departments of Ophthalmology and Clinical Engineering, University of Liverpool, UK
  • R. Williams - Departments of Ophthalmology and Clinical Engineering, University of Liverpool, UK
  • F.G. Holz - University Eye Clinic Bonn
  • N. Eter - University Eye Clinic Bonn

German Retina Society. 23rd Annual Conference of the German Retina Society. Freiburg i. Br., 24.-25.09.2010. Düsseldorf: German Medical Science GMS Publishing House; 2010. Doc10rg48

DOI: 10.3205/10rg48, URN: urn:nbn:de:0183-10rg481

This is the translated version of the article.
The original version can be found at: http://www.egms.de/de/meetings/rg2010/10rg48.shtml

Published: September 21, 2010

© 2010 Stanzel et al.
This is an Open Access article distributed under the terms of the Creative Commons Attribution License (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-nd/3.0/deed.en). You are free: to Share – to copy, distribute and transmit the work, provided the original author and source are credited.


Outline

Text

Background: Cell-based replacement strategies of the RPE could be improved through cotransplantation of a prosthetic Bruch's membrane. Using a rabbit model we studied 2 biostable artificial substrates, which differed in surface topography, thickness, rigidity and porosity.

Methods: Acellular artificial Bruch's membrane prostheses were either an etched pore polyester membrane (PET/Corning, Inc.), or a surface-modified expanded polytetrafluoroethylene membrane (ePTFE/Millipore, Inc.). Standardized implants were inserted into the subretinal space in a consecutive series of 13 female, 2–2.5 kg Chinchilla-Bastard rabbits. They were followed up on postOP days 3, 7 and 14 with spectral domain (SD) OCT (Spectralis®/Heidelberg Engineering, Inc.), as well as infra-red (IR) and red-free fundus photography. The animals were perfusion fixed at 2 weeks postOP and samples embedded in Epon 812 and cut semithin.

Results: Both prosthetic materials could be implanted in the subretinal space with a custom-made instrument (Geuder). The neural retina overlying the implants was attached by 1 week postOP in SD-OCT, but showed material-dependent alterations (atrophy) of outer reflexion bands. The IR mode showed a transitional zone around the implant and RF imaging revealed only minimal vitreal condensations around the retinotomy site at 2 weeks postOP. The initial comparison of SD-OCT and histology showed encouraging results.

Conclusions: A rabbit model for subretinal implantation cellular carriers was established. Our data suggest that PET and ePTFE membranes can be implanted safely into the subretinal space and are tolerated well over at least 2 weeks.

gms | German Medical Science

23. Jahrestagung der Deutschen Retinologischen Gesellschaft

Deutsche Gesellschaft für Retinologie

24.09. - 25.09.2010, Freiburg

SD-OCT unterstützt die histologische Evaluation von potentiellen Bruch'sche Membran Prothesen

Kongressabstract

  • Boris V. Stanzel - Universitäts-Augenklinik Bonn
  • Z.P. Liu - Universitäts-Augenklinik Bonn
  • C.R. Clemens - Universitäts-Augenklinik Bonn
  • R. Brinken - Universitäts-Augenklinik Bonn
  • V. Kearns - Departments of Ophthalmology and Clinical Engineering, University of Liverpool (GB)
  • A. Wegener - Universitäts-Augenklinik Bonn
  • C. Sheridan - Departments of Ophthalmology and Clinical Engineering, University of Liverpool (GB)
  • R. Williams - Departments of Ophthalmology and Clinical Engineering, University of Liverpool (GB)
  • F.G. Holz - Universitäts-Augenklinik Bonn
  • N. Eter - Universitäts-Augenklinik Bonn

Retinologische Gesellschaft. 23. Jahrestagung der Retinologischen Gesellschaft. Freiburg i. Br., 24.-25.09.2010. Düsseldorf: German Medical Science GMS Publishing House; 2010. Doc10rg48

doi: 10.3205/10rg48, urn:nbn:de:0183-10rg481

Dieses ist die Originalversion des Artikels.
Die übersetzte Version finden Sie unter: http://www.egms.de/en/meetings/rg2010/10rg48.shtml

Veröffentlicht: 21. September 2010

© 2010 Stanzel et al.
Dieser Artikel ist ein Open Access-Artikel und steht unter den Creative Commons Lizenzbedingungen (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-nd/3.0/deed.de). Er darf vervielfältigt, verbreitet und öffentlich zugänglich gemacht werden, vorausgesetzt dass Autor und Quelle genannt werden.


Gliederung

Text

Hintergrund: Zelluläre Ersatzstrategien des RPE könnten durch Mitlieferung einer Zellträgermatrix verbessert werden. Wir untersuchten am Kaninchentiermodell 2 biostabile synthetische Substrate, welche sich durch Oberflächentopographie, Dicke, Steifheit and Porosität unterscheiden.

Methoden: Azelluläre synthetische Bruch'sche Membran Prothesen waren entweder aus porösen Polyester Membranen (PET/Corning, Inc.), oder von oberflächen-modifizierten expandierten Polytetrafluoroethylene Membranen (ePTFE/Millipore, Inc.). Diese wurden bei einer konsekutiven Serie von 13 weiblichen, 2–2,5 kg schweren Chinchilla-Bastard Kaninchen in den subretinalen Raum implantiert. Anschliessend wurden die Tiere am postOP Tag 3, 7 und 14 mit Spectral domain (SD) OCT (Spectralis®/Heidelberg Engineering, Inc.), sowie infrarot (IR) und rotfrei (RF) Fundusphotographie nachuntersucht. 2 Wochen postOP wurden die Tiere perfusionsfixiert, die Proben in EPON 812 eingebettet und Semidünn geschnitten.

Ergebnisse: Beide Trägermaterialien konnten in den subretinalen Raum mit einem speziell angefertigtem Instrument (Geuder) implantiert werden. Im SD-OCT Verlauf zeigte sich nur geringe Vernarbung um die Implantate, die Netzhaut über beiden Substraten lag bereits nach 1 Woche an, zeigte aber materialabhängige Veränderungen (Atrophien) der äußeren Reflexionsbanden. Im IR Modus zeigte sich eine Übergangszone um das Implant und im RF Bild zeigten sich nur minimale Glaskörper Verdichtungen um die Retinotomiestelle 2 Wochen postOP. Der initiale Vergleich von SD-OCT und Histologie zeigte vielversprechende Ergebnisse.

Schlussfolgerungen: Wir haben ein Kaninchenmodell zur subretinalen Implantation von zellulären Trägermaterialien etabliert. Unsere Daten deuten darauf hin, dass PET und ePTFE Membranen subretinal sicher eingebracht werden können und über mindestens 2 Wochen gut toleriert werden.