gms | German Medical Science

23rd Annual Meeting of the German Retina Society

German Retina Society

24.09. - 25.09.2010, Freiburg

How fast declines the Avastin concentration in eye? Measurements of the pharmacokinetics of Bevacizumab in human eyes

Meeting Abstract

Search Medline for

  • Carsten H. Meyer - University Eye Clinic Bonn
  • T. Krohne - University Eye Clinic Bonn
  • F.G. Holz - University Eye Clinic Bonn

German Retina Society. 23rd Annual Conference of the German Retina Society. Freiburg i. Br., 24.-25.09.2010. Düsseldorf: German Medical Science GMS Publishing House; 2010. Doc10rg47

DOI: 10.3205/10rg47, URN: urn:nbn:de:0183-10rg479

This is the translated version of the article.
The original version can be found at: http://www.egms.de/de/meetings/rg2010/10rg47.shtml

Published: September 21, 2010

© 2010 Meyer et al.
This is an Open Access article distributed under the terms of the Creative Commons Attribution License (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-nd/3.0/deed.en). You are free: to Share – to copy, distribute and transmit the work, provided the original author and source are credited.


Outline

Text

Objectives: The intraocular pharmacokinetics of a single intravitreal injection Bevacizumab in the human eye remains unknown.

Methods: In a prospective case series including 30 eyes of 30 patients with clinically significant cataract and simultaneous macular edema due to diabetic maculopathy, AMD or retinal vein occluision in the same eye, all patients received an intravitreale injection of 1.5 mg Bevacizumab. After 1 to 53 days an anterior chamber sample was obtained during an elective cataract operation. The concentration of unbound Bevacizumab in the anterior chamber sample was determined by ELISA.

Results: The highest concentration (cmax 33.3 µg/ml (area 16,6–42.5 µg/ml)) of unbound Bevacizumab in the anterior chamber was measured a day after the injection, followed by a rdecline in a mono exponential function. The linear regression analysis showed a half time of 9.82 days (R2=0.81).

Summary: Reinjections intervals of 4 weeks are necessary to maintain a concentration above the biological active concentration. Two additional studies investigate the pharmakokinetic effectes of Lucentis as well as double dose Bevacizumab. The corresponding half time are presented.

gms | German Medical Science

23. Jahrestagung der Deutschen Retinologischen Gesellschaft

Deutsche Gesellschaft für Retinologie

24.09. - 25.09.2010, Freiburg

Wie schnell fällt die Avastinkonzenteration im Auge ab? Messung der Pharmacokinetik von Bevacizumab in menschlichen Augen

Kongressabstract

Suche in Medline nach

  • Carsten H. Meyer - Universitäts-Augenklinik Bonn
  • T. Krohne - Universitäts-Augenklinik Bonn
  • F.G. Holz - Universitäts-Augenklinik Bonn

Retinologische Gesellschaft. 23. Jahrestagung der Retinologischen Gesellschaft. Freiburg i. Br., 24.-25.09.2010. Düsseldorf: German Medical Science GMS Publishing House; 2010. Doc10rg47

doi: 10.3205/10rg47, urn:nbn:de:0183-10rg479

Dieses ist die Originalversion des Artikels.
Die übersetzte Version finden Sie unter: http://www.egms.de/en/meetings/rg2010/10rg47.shtml

Veröffentlicht: 21. September 2010

© 2010 Meyer et al.
Dieser Artikel ist ein Open Access-Artikel und steht unter den Creative Commons Lizenzbedingungen (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-nd/3.0/deed.de). Er darf vervielfältigt, verbreitet und öffentlich zugänglich gemacht werden, vorausgesetzt dass Autor und Quelle genannt werden.


Gliederung

Text

Hintergrund: Die intraokulare Pharmacokinetik von Bevacizumab nach einer einzigen intravitrealen Injektion ist am menschlichen Auge unbekannt.

Methoden: In einer prospektiven Fallserie an 30 nicht-vitrektomierten Augen von 30 Patienten mit klinisch signifikanter Katarakt und gleichzeitigem Makulaödem bei diabetischer Makulopathie, feuchter altersabhängiger Makuladegeneration oder retinalen Venenverschlüssen am gleichen Auge erhielten alle Patienten zunächst eine intravitreale Injektion von 1,5 mg Bevacizumab. Zu einem späteren Zeitpunkt (1 bis 53 Tagen danach wurde vor einer elektiven Kataraktoperation über eine Parazenthese eine Vorderkammerprobe gewonnen. Die Konzentration an ungebundenem Bevacizumab aus der Vorderkammerprobe wurde mittels ELISA bestimmt.

Ergebnisse: Die mittlere maximale Konzentration (cmax 33,3 µg/ml (Bereich 16,6–42,5 µg/ml)) an Bevacizumab in der Vorderkammer wurde einen Tag nach der Injektion gemessen, gefolgt durch einen Abfall in einer monoexponentiellen Funktion. Die nicht-lineare Regressionsanalyse zeigte eine Halbwertszeit von 9,82 Tagen (R2=0,81).

Zusammenfassung: Die Konzentrationsabnahme in der Vorderkammer nach einer Avastininjektion verhält sich ähnlich wie Berichte über die Elimination von Lucentis (Ranibizumab). Zwei weitere Studie untersucht gegenwärtig die pharmakokinetischen Effekte von Lucentis sowie der doppelten intravitrealen Dosis von Bevacizumab. Die Halbwertszeit der Elimination wird präsentiert.