gms | German Medical Science

23rd Annual Meeting of the German Retina Society

German Retina Society

24.09. - 25.09.2010, Freiburg

Combined branch retinal artery and central retinal vein obstruction associated with interferon β therapy

Meeting Abstract

  • Teresa Jenisch - University Eye Clinic Regensburg
  • T. Dietrich - University Eye Clinic Regensburg
  • A.B. Renner - University Eye Clinic Regensburg
  • H. Helbig - University Eye Clinic Regensburg
  • M.A. Gamulescu - University Eye Clinic Regensburg

German Retina Society. 23rd Annual Conference of the German Retina Society. Freiburg i. Br., 24.-25.09.2010. Düsseldorf: German Medical Science GMS Publishing House; 2010. Doc10rg46

DOI: 10.3205/10rg46, URN: urn:nbn:de:0183-10rg465

This is the translated version of the article.
The original version can be found at: http://www.egms.de/de/meetings/rg2010/10rg46.shtml

Published: September 21, 2010

© 2010 Jenisch et al.
This is an Open Access article distributed under the terms of the Creative Commons Attribution License (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-nd/3.0/deed.en). You are free: to Share – to copy, distribute and transmit the work, provided the original author and source are credited.


Outline

Text

Background: Interferon β is commonly used in treatment of multiple sclerosis. Thromboembolic complications are associated with IFN β therapy. Ocular complications have not previously been reported.

Method: We describe a case of branch artery obstruction (BAO) combined with central vein obstruction (CVO) in a female patient undergoing IFN β therapy.

Results: A 44-year-old woman was evaluated for sudden and painless decreased vision in her right eye. For ten years she had been receiving IFN β for multiple sclerosis. On examination, her visual acuity was 1/35 on her right eye. Fundus examination revealed a CVO. In addition fluorescein angiogram showed 2 non perfusion areas in the papillomacular bundle and nasal of the optic nerve, compatible with BAO. The OCT revealed a cystoid macular edema. The patient was admitted for heamodilution therapy and underwent a systemic workup. Diabetes and arterial hypertension have been ruled out, hypercoagulable status and rheumatoid factors studies were negative. The patient denied the use of hormonal contraception.

Conclusion: CVO occurring together with a simultaneous BAO has only been reported with IFN α therapy in combination with ribavirin in hepatitis C patients. Ribavirin may be a contributing factor to the occurrence of IFN α retinopathy because of its synergistic action when used together with IFN. The occurrence of a combined retinal vascular occlusion in our patient, in which we did not reveal any other risc factors for thromboembolic events, points toward an association with the long-term use of IFN β.

gms | German Medical Science

23. Jahrestagung der Deutschen Retinologischen Gesellschaft

Deutsche Gesellschaft für Retinologie

24.09. - 25.09.2010, Freiburg

Kombinierter Zentralvenen- und Arterienastverschluss unter der Therapie von Interferon β

Kongressabstract

  • Teresa Jenisch - Universitäts-Augenklinik Regensburg
  • T. Dietrich - Universitäts-Augenklinik Regensburg
  • A.B. Renner - Universitäts-Augenklinik Regensburg
  • H. Helbig - Universitäts-Augenklinik Regensburg
  • M.A. Gamulescu - Universitäts-Augenklinik Regensburg

Retinologische Gesellschaft. 23. Jahrestagung der Retinologischen Gesellschaft. Freiburg i. Br., 24.-25.09.2010. Düsseldorf: German Medical Science GMS Publishing House; 2010. Doc10rg46

doi: 10.3205/10rg46, urn:nbn:de:0183-10rg465

Dieses ist die Originalversion des Artikels.
Die übersetzte Version finden Sie unter: http://www.egms.de/en/meetings/rg2010/10rg46.shtml

Veröffentlicht: 21. September 2010

© 2010 Jenisch et al.
Dieser Artikel ist ein Open Access-Artikel und steht unter den Creative Commons Lizenzbedingungen (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-nd/3.0/deed.de). Er darf vervielfältigt, verbreitet und öffentlich zugänglich gemacht werden, vorausgesetzt dass Autor und Quelle genannt werden.


Gliederung

Text

Hintergrund: Interferon β wird zur Behandlung einer schubweise verlaufenden multiplen Sklerose verwendet. In seltenen Fällen kann es unter Therapie zu thromboembolischen Ereignissen kommen, Beschreibungen zu Gefäßverschlüssen am Auge finden sich in der Literatur bisher nicht.

Methode: Fallvorstellung einer Patientin mit kombiniertem Arterienastverschluss und Zentralvenenverschluss unter IFN β Therapie.

Befunde: Eine 44jährige Patientin stellte sich mit plötzlichem, schmerzlosen Visusverlust am rechten Auge vor. Eine multiple Sklerose wurde seit 10 Jahren mit IFN β behandelt. Bei Erstvorstellung betrug der Visus am betroffenen Auge 1/25 MT. Funduskopisch stellte sich der V.a. einen ZVV. In der Angiographie zeigten sich zusätzlich im papillomakulären Bündel und nasal 2 Bereiche fehlender Perfusion im Sinne von AAV. In der OCT fand sich ein deutliches zystoides Makulaödem. Es erfolgte die stationäre Aufnahme zur Hämodilutionstherapie und weiteren Diagnostik. Langzeit-Blutdruck- und Blutzuckermessungen sowie alle untersuchten Parameter inklusive Thrombophiliescreening und Rheumafaktoren lagen im Normalbereich. Die Patientin verwendet keine hormonelle Kontrazeption. Im Verlauf normalisierten sich die Befunde, der Visus stieg auf 0.8–1.0 an.

Schlussfolgerung: Bisher ist ein kombinierter AAV mit ZVV nur unter der Therapie von Interferon α in Kombination mit Ribavirin, das die Wirkung dieses Interferons zu potenzieren scheint, bei einem Patienten mit Hepatitis C beschrieben.Das Auftreten eines kombinierten Gefäßverschlusses bei unserer Patientin in Abwesenheit sämtlicher kardiovaskulärer Risikofaktoren oder Gerinnungsstörungen und ohne die Einnahme anderer Medikamente, die das thromboembolische Risiko erhöhen könnten, lässt einen Zusammenhang mit der langjährigen Therapie mit IFN β vermuten.