gms | German Medical Science

23rd Annual Meeting of the German Retina Society

German Retina Society

24.09. - 25.09.2010, Freiburg

Autofluorescent findings in a case of multiple evanescent white dot syndrome

Meeting Abstract

  • Christoph Zollfrank - University Eye Clinic Regensburg
  • P. Prahs - University Eye Clinic Regensburg
  • M.A. Gamulescu - University Eye Clinic Regensburg
  • H. Helbig - University Eye Clinic Regensburg

German Retina Society. 23rd Annual Conference of the German Retina Society. Freiburg i. Br., 24.-25.09.2010. Düsseldorf: German Medical Science GMS Publishing House; 2010. Doc10rg45

DOI: 10.3205/10rg45, URN: urn:nbn:de:0183-10rg453

This is the translated version of the article.
The original version can be found at: http://www.egms.de/de/meetings/rg2010/10rg45.shtml

Published: September 21, 2010

© 2010 Zollfrank et al.
This is an Open Access article distributed under the terms of the Creative Commons Attribution License (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-nd/3.0/deed.en). You are free: to Share – to copy, distribute and transmit the work, provided the original author and source are credited.


Outline

Text

Background: The multiple evanescent white dot syndrome (MEWDS) is part of a group called chorioretinal “white dot syndromes” which partly show overlapping symptoms. In this case we want to picutre the diseases progress by means of autoflurescence.

Method/Result: A 20-year-old healthy patient presented with a persistant flickering of the left eye for the last two weeks. With corrected refraction his visus was limited to 1,0 concerning the right eye and 0,6 concerning the left. Fundoscopic examination of the left eye showed hazy light spots at the rear eye-pole and its surrounding periphery. We could also find an enhancement of the autofluorescence in those spots. Perimetric tests did not lead to pathologic results. Electrophysiologic examination just showed a marginally prolonged latency. After inconclusive screening for systemic causes of the symtoms we considered it to be MEWDS.

Conclusion: Autofluorescence might be a very sensitive, save and secure method to prove retinal changes of a MEWDS.

gms | German Medical Science

23. Jahrestagung der Deutschen Retinologischen Gesellschaft

Deutsche Gesellschaft für Retinologie

24.09. - 25.09.2010, Freiburg

Autofluoreszenz-Befunde beim Multiple Evanscent White Dot Syndrom

Kongressabstract

  • Christoph Zollfrank - Universitäts-Augenklinik Regensburg
  • P. Prahs - Universitäts-Augenklinik Regensburg
  • M.A. Gamulescu - Universitäts-Augenklinik Regensburg
  • H. Helbig - Universitäts-Augenklinik Regensburg

Retinologische Gesellschaft. 23. Jahrestagung der Retinologischen Gesellschaft. Freiburg i. Br., 24.-25.09.2010. Düsseldorf: German Medical Science GMS Publishing House; 2010. Doc10rg45

DOI: 10.3205/10rg45, URN: urn:nbn:de:0183-10rg453

Dieses ist die Originalversion des Artikels.
Die übersetzte Version finden Sie unter: http://www.egms.de/en/meetings/rg2010/10rg45.shtml

Veröffentlicht: 21. September 2010

© 2010 Zollfrank et al.
Dieser Artikel ist ein Open Access-Artikel und steht unter den Creative Commons Lizenzbedingungen (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-nd/3.0/deed.de). Er darf vervielfältigt, verbreitet und öffentlich zugänglich gemacht werden, vorausgesetzt dass Autor und Quelle genannt werden.


Gliederung

Text

Das Multiple Evanescent White Dot Syndrom (MEWDS) gehört zur Gruppe der chorioretinalen „White Dot Syndrome“ mit sich teilweise überschneidender klinischer Symptomatik. Hier soll der Verlauf der Erkrankung in der Darstellung mittels Autofluoreszenz gezeigt werden.

Methoden/Ergebnis: Ein 20jähriger gesunder Patient stellte sich mit einem seit 2 Wochen bestehenden dauerhaftem Flimmern am linken Auge vor. Es wurde eine korrigierte Sehschärfe von rechts 1,0 und links 0,6 erhoben. Fundoskopisch wurden am linken Auge dezente unscharf begrenzte helle Flecken am hinteren Pol und in der engeren Peripherie gesehen. In der Autofluoreszenz zeigten sich entsprechend lokalisierte Bereiche verstärkter Autofluoreszenz. Perimetrisch zeigten sich keine Skotome, elektrophysiologisch lediglich eine grenzwertige Verlängerung der Latenzzeit. Nach Ausschluss systemischer Ursachen wurde die Diagnose eines MEWDS gestellt. Im Spontanverlauf zeigte sich eine Regrendienz der Symptomatik mit Visusanstieg auf 1,0 innerhalb von 2 Monaten. In der Autofluoreszenz waren die hyper-autofluoreszenten Bereiche nicht mehr nachweisbar.

Schlussfolgerung: Die Autofluoreszenz ist eine sehr sensitive, schnelle und für den Patienten nicht-invasive Methode, um die Veränderungen im Rahmen des MEWDS nachzuweisen.