gms | German Medical Science

23rd Annual Meeting of the German Retina Society

German Retina Society

24.09. - 25.09.2010, Freiburg

Temperature-triggered variable exposure times facilitate reproducible laser lesions in retinal photocoagulation

Meeting Abstract

  • Stefan Koinzer - University Eye Clinic Schleswig-Holstein, Campus Kiel
  • R. Brinkmann - Institute of Biomedical Optics, University of Lübeck
  • K. Schlott - Institute of Biomedical Optics, University of Lübeck
  • L. Ptaszynski - Medical Laser Center Lübeck
  • A. Baade - Medical Laser Center Lübeck
  • M. Bever - Medical Laser Center Lübeck
  • R. Birngruber - Institute of Biomedical Optics, University of Lübeck
  • J. Roider - University Eye Clinic Schleswig-Holstein, Campus Kiel

German Retina Society. 23rd Annual Conference of the German Retina Society. Freiburg i. Br., 24.-25.09.2010. Düsseldorf: German Medical Science GMS Publishing House; 2010. Doc10rg42

DOI: 10.3205/10rg42, URN: urn:nbn:de:0183-10rg421

This is the translated version of the article.
The original version can be found at: http://www.egms.de/de/meetings/rg2010/10rg42.shtml

Published: September 21, 2010

© 2010 Koinzer et al.
This is an Open Access article distributed under the terms of the Creative Commons Attribution License (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-nd/3.0/deed.en). You are free: to Share – to copy, distribute and transmit the work, provided the original author and source are credited.


Outline

Text

Background: Retinal photocoagulation is the established gold standard to treat different central and peripheral retinal disorders. Conventional laser power control by judgement of retinal whitening is only possible in retrospect and is not very accurate. Real-time retinal temperature measurement during coagulation facilitates a temperature-feedback exposure time control for each individual spot, granting defined and homogenous strength of fundus lesions.

Method: Retinal temperature measurement in real time is realized by optoacoustics. Short probe laser pulses elicit temperature-dependent thermoelastic pressure waves of the retina and retinal pigment epithelium, that are detected by an ultrasonic transducer in the contact lens. A series of temperature plots for spots with varying exposure times and laser powers was generated, and by probit blot analysis the probability to achieve a clinically visible spot at a given early temperature rise could be determined. Based on these data, an algorithm was computed that shuts off the treatment laser when a defined coagulation effect is achieved. This algorithm was tested on rabbit eyes in vivo.

Results: Automatic temperature-feedback exposure time control allows the application of homogenous laser lesions over a wide power range, where conventional constant exposure times produce growing spot diameters with increased power. Temperatures during photocoagulation reached values of 50°C to 80°C.

Conclusions: This new method allows automatic laser effect control that generates homogenous fundus lesions during retinal photocoagulation in rabbits. For a next step, the same method should be applied to human eyes with inter- and intraindividually variable transmissions and absorptions, aiming to achieve even and defined lesions and thus avoid extraneous tissue damage and pain.

gms | German Medical Science

23. Jahrestagung der Deutschen Retinologischen Gesellschaft

Deutsche Gesellschaft für Retinologie

24.09. - 25.09.2010, Freiburg

Reproduzierbare Laserläsionen durch Temperatur-geregelte variable Expositionszeit bei retinaler Photokoagulation

Kongressabstract

  • Stefan Koinzer - Universitäts-Augenklinik Schleswig-Holstein, Campus Kiel
  • R. Brinkmann - Institut für Biomedizinische Optik, Universität Lübeck
  • K. Schlott - Institut für Biomedizinische Optik, Universität Lübeck
  • L. Ptaszynski - Medizinisches Laserzentrum Lübeck
  • A. Baade - Medizinisches Laserzentrum Lübeck
  • M. Bever - Medizinisches Laserzentrum Lübeck
  • R. Birngruber - Institut für Biomedizinische Optik, Universität Lübeck
  • J. Roider - Universitäts-Augenklinik Schleswig-Holstein, Campus Kiel

Retinologische Gesellschaft. 23. Jahrestagung der Retinologischen Gesellschaft. Freiburg i. Br., 24.-25.09.2010. Düsseldorf: German Medical Science GMS Publishing House; 2010. Doc10rg42

DOI: 10.3205/10rg42, URN: urn:nbn:de:0183-10rg421

Dieses ist die Originalversion des Artikels.
Die übersetzte Version finden Sie unter: http://www.egms.de/en/meetings/rg2010/10rg42.shtml

Veröffentlicht: 21. September 2010

© 2010 Koinzer et al.
Dieser Artikel ist ein Open Access-Artikel und steht unter den Creative Commons Lizenzbedingungen (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-nd/3.0/deed.de). Er darf vervielfältigt, verbreitet und öffentlich zugänglich gemacht werden, vorausgesetzt dass Autor und Quelle genannt werden.


Gliederung

Text

Hintergrund: Die retinale Photokoagulation hat sich als Goldstandard bei einer Anzahl von zentralen und peripheren Netzhauterkrankungen etabliert. Die konventionelle Laserleistungssteuerung durch Bewertung der retinalen Weißfärbung kann nur im Nachhinein erfolgen und ist vergleichsweise ungenau. Eine Netzhauttemperaturmessung während der Koagulation in Echtzeit soll eine temperaturabhängige Steuerung der Bestrahlungszeiten Herd-individuell ermöglichen und so eine definierte und gleichmäßige Stärke der Lasereffekte garantieren.

Methode: Die Messung des Netzhauttemperaturanstiegs wird optoakustisch realisiert. Dabei regen kurze Meßlaserpulse thermoelastische, temperaturabhängige Druckwellen des retinalen Pigmentepithels an, die mit einem Ultraschallsensor im Kontaktglas detektiert werden. Anhand einer Serie von Expositionen im über- und unterschwelligen Bereich bei verschiedenen Expositionszeiten mit verschiedenen Leistungen wurde eine Korrelationskurve zwischen dem Temperaturverlauf in der Anfangsphase und der Wahrscheinlichkeit eines sichtbaren klinischen Effektes erstellt, die als Grundlage für einen Algorithmus zur automatischen Abschaltung des Behandlungslasers bei Erreichen des gewünschten Koagulationseffektes dient. Diese automatische Abschaltung wurde am Kaninchenauge in vivo erprobt.

Ergebnisse: Die automatische Abschaltung erlaubt die Applikation von homogen erscheinenden Lasereffekten über einen weiten Leistungsbereich, während konventionelle Herde eine zunehmende Größe und Stärke mit zunehmender Leistung zeigen. Die bei den Koagulationen erreichten Temperaturen liegen zwischen 50°C und 80°C.

Schlussfolgerungen: Die vorgestellte Methode erlaubt die automatisch gesteuerte Applikation homogener Fundusläsionen am Kaninchen. In einem nächsten Schritt soll versucht werden, in gleicher Weise am menschlichen erkrankten Auge bei variablen Transmissions- und Absorptionsverhältnissen gleichmäßige Herde zu erzeugen, um Über- und Untereffekte und damit Schmerzen und Funktionsausfälle zu vermeiden.