gms | German Medical Science

25th Annual Meeting of the German Retina Society

German Retina Society

01.06. - 02.06.2012, Münster

Retinal microstructure in high definition OCT ( SD-OCT) after transconjunctival sutureless pars plana vitrectomy and Brilliant Blue G-assisted ILM peeling in patients with macular holes

Meeting Abstract

  • Mathias Maier - Universitäts-Augenklinik der TU München
  • S. Rass - Universitäts-Augenklinik der TU München
  • C. Müller - Universitäts-Augenklinik der TU München
  • N. Feucht - Universitäts-Augenklinik der TU München
  • C.P. Lohmann - Universitäts-Augenklinik der TU München

German Retina Society. 25th Annual Conference of the German Retina Society. Münster, 01.-02.06.2012. Düsseldorf: German Medical Science GMS Publishing House; 2012. Doc12rg70

doi: 10.3205/12rg70, urn:nbn:de:0183-12rg707

This is the translated version of the article.
The original version can be found at: http://www.egms.de/de/meetings/rg2012/12rg70.shtml

Published: May 30, 2012

© 2012 Maier et al.
This is an Open Access article distributed under the terms of the Creative Commons Attribution License (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-nd/3.0/deed.en). You are free: to Share – to copy, distribute and transmit the work, provided the original author and source are credited.


Outline

Text

Purpose: Aim of the study was to evaluate the visual and anatomical outcome and the restoration of the retinal microstructure in SD-OCT after 23-Gauge transconjunctival sutureless pars plana vitrectomy and Brilliant Blue G (BBG)- assisted ILM peeling in patients with macular holes.

Methods: In a consecutive retrospective study in 41 eyes of 41 patients with macular hole a standardized 23-G transconjunctival sutureless pars plana vitrectomy with ILM-peeling and Gas tamponade was performed. All patients underwent preoperative measurements of visual acuity (VA), the maximum hole diameter, basis, height, and retinal changes using high resolution optical coherence tomography (SD-OCT; Spectralis; Heidelberg Engineering). Main outcome measures included visual acuity 1,3, and 6 month after surgery and the closure rate. We also evaluated photoreceptor inner/outer segment (IS/OS) integrity as seen in SD-OCT for correlation with visual outcomes after macular hole surgery as well as the roughness of the retinal surface postoperatively over time.

Results: At baseline mean best corrected visual acuity (BCVA) was 20/100 (0,7 logMAR). BCVA improved significantly to 20/50 (0,4 logMAR) after 1 month, to 20/50 (0,4 logMAR) after 3 months and to 20/63 (0,2 logMAR) after 6 months respectively. A closure rate of 95,1% was achieved. The morphological parameter photoreceptor IS/OS integrity was measured semiquantitatively and showed a positive correlation to BCVA. Number and depth of the indentations increased according to time after surgery.

Conclusion: Transconjunctival sutureless pars plana vitrectomy and Brilliant Blue G (BBG)- assisted ILM peeling in patients with macular holes is a save procedure and leads to good functional and anatomical results. The integrity of the IS/OS segment is a good predictive parameter for BCVA improvement after macular hole surgery. The retinal surface shows an increasing roughness after ILM-peeling.

gms | German Medical Science

25. Jahrestagung der Deutschen Retinologischen Gesellschaft

Deutsche Gesellschaft für Retinologie

01.06. - 02.06.2012, Münster

Retinale Mikrostruktur im hochauflösenden OCT (SD-OCT) nach transkonjunktivaler nahtloser Pars plana Vitrektomie und Brilliant Blau G-assistiertem ILM peeling bei Patienten mit Makulaforamen

Kongressabstract

  • Mathias Maier - Universitäts-Augenklinik der TU München
  • S. Rass - Universitäts-Augenklinik der TU München
  • C. Müller - Universitäts-Augenklinik der TU München
  • N. Feucht - Universitäts-Augenklinik der TU München
  • C.P. Lohmann - Universitäts-Augenklinik der TU München

Retinologische Gesellschaft. 25. Jahrestagung der Retinologischen Gesellschaft. Münster, 01.-02.06.2012. Düsseldorf: German Medical Science GMS Publishing House; 2012. Doc12rg70

doi: 10.3205/12rg70, urn:nbn:de:0183-12rg707

Dieses ist die Originalversion des Artikels.
Die übersetzte Version finden Sie unter: http://www.egms.de/en/meetings/rg2012/12rg70.shtml

Veröffentlicht: 30. Mai 2012

© 2012 Maier et al.
Dieser Artikel ist ein Open Access-Artikel und steht unter den Creative Commons Lizenzbedingungen (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-nd/3.0/deed.de). Er darf vervielfältigt, verbreitet und öffentlich zugänglich gemacht werden, vorausgesetzt dass Autor und Quelle genannt werden.


Gliederung

Text

Hintergrund: Ziel der Studie war es die Visusergebnisse, den anatomischen Erfolg und die Wiederherstellung der retinalen Mikrostruktur mittels hochauflösendem OCT nach transkonjunktivaler nahtloser 23-Gauge Pars plana Vitrektomie und Brilliant Blau G (BBG)- assistiertem ILM peeling bei Patienten mit Makulaforamen zu erfassen.

Methode: In einer retrospektiven Studie bei 41 Augen von 41 konsekutiven Patienten mit Makulaforamen wurde eine standardisierte 23-G Pars plana Vitrektomie mit BBG- assistiertem ILM-peeling and Gastamponade durchgeführt. Bei allen Patienten wurde präoperativ der bestkorrigierte Visus bestimmt und mittels hochauflösendem Spectral domain OCT (SD-OCT; Spectralis; Heidelberg Engineering) der maximale Durchmesser, die Basis und die Höhe des Makulaforamens, sowie retinale Veränderungen erfasst. Postoperativ wurde der bestkorrigierte Visus nach 1, 3, and 6 Monaten und die Verschlußrate bestimmt. Es wurde die mikrostrukturelle Integrität des Photorezeptor inner/outer Segments (IS/OS) im SD-OCT erfasst und mit dem Visusergebnis nach Makulaforamenchirurgie korreliert. Die Rauigkeit der Netzhautoberfläche im SD-OCT wurde semiquantitativ bestimmt und postoperativ im zeitlichen Verlauf evaluiert.

Ergebnisse: Der mittlere Ausgangsvisus betrug 0,2 (0,7 logMAR). Er verbesserte sich nach 1, 3 und 6 Monaten signifikant auf 0,4 (0,4 logMAR), 0,44 (0,4 logMAR) und 0,63 (0,2 logMAR). Die Verschlußrate der Makulaforamina betrug 95,1%. Die Integrität des IS/OS-Segmentes wurde semiquantitativ bestimmt und zeigte eine positive Korrelation zum bestkorrigierten Visus. Die Anzahl und Tiefe der Kerben als Zeichen der Rauigkeit der Netzhautoberfläche nahm im zeitlichen Verlauf postoperativ zu.

Schlussfolgerung: Die transkonjunktivale nahtlose Pars plana Vitrektomie mit Brilliant Blau G (BBG)- assistiertem ILM Peeling bei Patienten mit Makulaforamen ist eine sehr sichere Operationsmethode, die zu guten funktionellen und anatomischen Ergebnissen führt. Die mikrostrukturelle Integrität des IS/OS-Segments der Netzhaut läßt sich mittels SD-OCT gut beurteilen. Sie ist ein wichtiger prädiktiver Parameter für die Visusentwicklung nach Makulaforamenchirurgie. Die Netzhautoberfläche zeigt im SD-OCT im postoperativen Verlauf eine Zunahme der Rauigkeit, möglicherweise infolge des Abschwellens der inneren Netzhautschichten.