gms | German Medical Science

25th Annual Meeting of the German Retina Society

German Retina Society

01.06. - 02.06.2012, Münster

Progression of macular-on rhegmatogenous retinal detachment

Meeting Abstract

  • Eva Lahme - Universitäts-Augenklinik Göttingen
  • H. Kroll - Universitäts-Augenklinik Göttingen
  • U. Ritzau-Tondrow - Universitäts-Augenklinik Göttingen
  • H. Baraki - Universitäts-Augenklinik Göttingen
  • N. Feltgen - Universitäts-Augenklinik Göttingen
  • H. Hoerauf - Universitäts-Augenklinik Göttingen

German Retina Society. 25th Annual Conference of the German Retina Society. Münster, 01.-02.06.2012. Düsseldorf: German Medical Science GMS Publishing House; 2012. Doc12rg69

DOI: 10.3205/12rg69, URN: urn:nbn:de:0183-12rg697

This is the translated version of the article.
The original version can be found at: http://www.egms.de/de/meetings/rg2012/12rg69.shtml

Published: May 30, 2012

© 2012 Lahme et al.
This is an Open Access article distributed under the terms of the Creative Commons Attribution License (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-nd/3.0/deed.en). You are free: to Share – to copy, distribute and transmit the work, provided the original author and source are credited.


Outline

Text

Background: Retinal detachment reported without macular involvment is a retinological emergency. It is known that the rate of intraoperative complications increases beyond regular schedule care. The aim of this prospective case series is to analyze retinal situations in which surgery can be scheduled.

Method: All patients with primary rhegmatogenous retinal detachment without macular involvement between June 2011 and February 2012 were included. A detailed fundus drawing and OCT of the macula was made on admission and directly prior to surgery to determine the progression. The following data were collected: BCVA, duration of symptoms, configuration and extent of retinal detachment, localisation of retinal tears. Patients with primary PVR and ocular trauma history were excluded.

Results: 60 patients with primary rhegmatogenous retinal detachment without macular involvement were included. The mean interval from admission to surgery was 1.7 days (range 1–4 days). The most common reasons were general diseases and anticoagulation. In 5 patients retinal detachment progressed and involved the macula. In these cases a bullous retinal detachment of the upper quadrants with one larger or several smaller horseshoe tears was present.

Conclusion: Rhegmatogenous retinal detachment is still an emergency in patients with bullous configuration in the upper quadrants. It seems that under frequent funduscopic control surgery can be scheduled to the regular service in the most configurations of retinal detachment.

gms | German Medical Science

25. Jahrestagung der Deutschen Retinologischen Gesellschaft

Deutsche Gesellschaft für Retinologie

01.06. - 02.06.2012, Münster

Progression der rhegmatogenen Amotio bei anliegender Makula

Kongressabstract

  • Eva Lahme - Universitäts-Augenklinik Göttingen
  • H. Kroll - Universitäts-Augenklinik Göttingen
  • U. Ritzau-Tondrow - Universitäts-Augenklinik Göttingen
  • H. Baraki - Universitäts-Augenklinik Göttingen
  • N. Feltgen - Universitäts-Augenklinik Göttingen
  • H. Hoerauf - Universitäts-Augenklinik Göttingen

Retinologische Gesellschaft. 25. Jahrestagung der Retinologischen Gesellschaft. Münster, 01.-02.06.2012. Düsseldorf: German Medical Science GMS Publishing House; 2012. Doc12rg69

DOI: 10.3205/12rg69, URN: urn:nbn:de:0183-12rg697

Dieses ist die Originalversion des Artikels.
Die übersetzte Version finden Sie unter: http://www.egms.de/en/meetings/rg2012/12rg69.shtml

Veröffentlicht: 30. Mai 2012

© 2012 Lahme et al.
Dieser Artikel ist ein Open Access-Artikel und steht unter den Creative Commons Lizenzbedingungen (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-nd/3.0/deed.de). Er darf vervielfältigt, verbreitet und öffentlich zugänglich gemacht werden, vorausgesetzt dass Autor und Quelle genannt werden.


Gliederung

Text

Hintergrund: Eine Ablatio retinae mit anliegender Makula ist ein retinologischer Notfall. Es wird berichtet, dass die operative Komplikationsrate außerhalb der Regelversorgung in der Amotiochirurgie erhöht ist. Ob und in welcher Situation abgewartet werden kann, soll in dieser prospektiven Fallserie untersucht werden.

Methode: Alle Patienten mit einer primären rhegmatogenen Amotio bei anliegender Makula zwischen Juni 2011 und Februar 2012 wurden in die Studie eingeschlossen. Bei Aufnahme und direkt präoperativ wurde eine Fundusskizze und wenn möglich ein OCT der Makula angefertigt. Folgende Parameter wurden ausgewertet: Visus, Dauer der Symptome, Ablatiokonfiguration, Lochlokalisation und Vorliegen einer hochblasigen Amotio. Patienten mit primärer PVR, Traumavorgeschichte oder Reablatio wurden ausgeschlossen.

Ergebnis: Im Zeitraum stellten sich 60 Patienten mit rhegmatogener Amotio und anliegender Makula vor. Die Zeit zwischen Vorstellung und Operation betrug im Mittel 1,7 Tage (1–4 Tage). Ursächlich dafür waren u.a. Allgemeinerkrankungen oder Antikoagulation. Bei 5 Patienten hat sich in diesem Zeitraum die Amotio über die Makula hinweg ausgedehnt. Dabei handelte es sich um hochblasige Amotiones der oberen Netzhauthälfte mit großem, oder mehreren kleinen Hufeisenforamina.

Diskussion: Die rhegmatogene Amotio bleibt bei Patienten mit einer hochblasigen Amotio der oberen Netzhautquadranten ein akuter Notfall. Andere Lochkonfigurationen scheinen unter Kontrolle zur Versorgung in den Regeldienst geplant werden zu können.