gms | German Medical Science

25th Annual Meeting of the German Retina Society

German Retina Society

01.06. - 02.06.2012, Münster

Ocular injuries caused by firework – a national survey by the german retina.net

Meeting Abstract

  • Hansjürgen Agostini für Retina.net - Universitäts-Augenklinik Freiburg i. Br.

German Retina Society. 25th Annual Conference of the German Retina Society. Münster, 01.-02.06.2012. Düsseldorf: German Medical Science GMS Publishing House; 2012. Doc12rg68

doi: 10.3205/12rg68, urn:nbn:de:0183-12rg685

This is the translated version of the article.
The original version can be found at: http://www.egms.de/de/meetings/rg2012/12rg68.shtml

Published: May 30, 2012

© 2012 .
This is an Open Access article distributed under the terms of the Creative Commons Attribution License (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-nd/3.0/deed.en). You are free: to Share – to copy, distribute and transmit the work, provided the original author and source are credited.


Outline

Text

Background: Anecdotal reports about ocular injuries caused by firework triggered a survey by the german retina.net among University Eye Hospitals to check the hypothesis that the incidence of firework induced ocular injuries increased over the last three years.

Methods: Supported by the ZKS Köln a register was sent by e-mail to put down the number of patients with facial burns, injuries of the lid (requiring surgery), ocular contusion, rupture of the eyeball, hospital admission and surgery caused by firework in the transition of the old to the new year starting 2009.

Results: Results are based on answers from from the Universities of Leipzig, Berlin-Benjamin Franklin, Bonn, Freiburg, Regensburg, München, Jena, Düsseldorf, Erlangen, Lübeck, Berlin-Virchow and Köln which equals a return rate of 32%. Compared to 2009/2010 the incidence doubled in 2011 for facial burns, ocular contusion and hospital admission. There were regional differences. Particularly affected were the cities od Berlin, München, Freiburg, Regensburg, Lübeck and Köln.

Conclusions: Retina.net is a suitable forum to launch a survey on a short time base. To improve the return rate dedicated contacts at each institution could be helpful. With regard to firework induced injuries, an increasing tendency can be noted over the last three years. Based on the admission rate it can be assumed that the severity of injuries increased.

gms | German Medical Science

25. Jahrestagung der Deutschen Retinologischen Gesellschaft

Deutsche Gesellschaft für Retinologie

01.06. - 02.06.2012, Münster

Augenverletzungen durch Feuerwerkskörper – nationale Umfrageergebnisse des Retina.net

Kongressabstract

  • Hansjürgen Agostini für Retina.net - Universitäts-Augenklinik Freiburg i. Br.

Retinologische Gesellschaft. 25. Jahrestagung der Retinologischen Gesellschaft. Münster, 01.-02.06.2012. Düsseldorf: German Medical Science GMS Publishing House; 2012. Doc12rg68

doi: 10.3205/12rg68, urn:nbn:de:0183-12rg685

Dieses ist die Originalversion des Artikels.
Die übersetzte Version finden Sie unter: http://www.egms.de/en/meetings/rg2012/12rg68.shtml

Veröffentlicht: 30. Mai 2012

© 2012 .
Dieser Artikel ist ein Open Access-Artikel und steht unter den Creative Commons Lizenzbedingungen (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-nd/3.0/deed.de). Er darf vervielfältigt, verbreitet und öffentlich zugänglich gemacht werden, vorausgesetzt dass Autor und Quelle genannt werden.


Gliederung

Text

Hintergrund: Nachdem vermehrt über feuerwerksbedingte Augenverletzungen während des Jahreswechsels 2011/2012 berichtet wurde, initiierte das Retina.net Deutschland ein nationale Umfrage an den universitären Augenkliniken, um die Hypothese zu prüfen, dass die Häufigkeit dieser Verletzungen im Vergleich zu den beiden vorangegangenen Jahren zugenommen hat.

Methoden: Unterstützt durch das ZKS Köln wurde ein Tabelle per e-mail an die deutschen Universitäts-Augenklinik verschickt, in der die Fallzahlen für Gesichtsverbrennungen, Lid-Verletzungen (operativ versorgt), Bulbus-Prellungen, Bulbus-Berstungen, stationäre Aufnahmen und Operationen, die durch Feuerwerk bedingt waren, über die letzten drei Jahreswechsel für die jeweilige Institution erfasst werden sollten.

Ergebnisse: Die Ergebnisse basieren auf Antworten der Universitätskliniken Leipzig, Berlin-Benjamin Franklin, Bonn, Freiburg i. Br., Regensburg, München, Jena, Düsseldorf, Erlangen, Lübeck, Berlin-Virchow und Köln. Dies entspricht einer Rücklaufquote von 32%. Im Vergleich zu 2009/2010 mit steigender Tendenz 2010/2011 wurden beim letzten Jahreswechsel doppelt so viele Gesichtsverbrennungen, Bulbus-Prellungen und stationäre Aufnahmen vermerkt. Dieser Effekt war jedoch regional unterschiedlich. Besonders deutlich war die Zunahme in Berlin, München, Freiburg i. Br., Regensburg, Lübeck und Köln.

Schlussfolgerung: Retina.net ist als Studienplattform für Umfragen auch mit einfachem Inhalt geeignet. Die Rücklaufqoute könnte durch fest Ansprechpartner auch außerhalb universitärer Einrichtungen gesteigert werden. Was die Augenverletzungen durch Feuerwerkskörper angeht lässt sich eine steigende Tendenz über die letzten drei Jahre nachweisen. Die Schwere der Verkletzungen nimmt – gemessen an den stationären Aufnahmen – zu.