gms | German Medical Science

25th Annual Meeting of the German Retina Society

German Retina Society

01.06. - 02.06.2012, Münster

Elevated pro-fibrotic factors in anterior chamber fluid of high-risk patients for proliferative vitreoretinopathy correspond with elevated laser-flare values

Meeting Abstract

  • Robert Hörster - Universitäts-Augenklinik Köln
  • P.S. Müther - Universitäts-Augenklinik Köln
  • B. Kirchhof - Universitäts-Augenklinik Köln
  • S. Fauser - Universitäts-Augenklinik Köln

German Retina Society. 25th Annual Conference of the German Retina Society. Münster, 01.-02.06.2012. Düsseldorf: German Medical Science GMS Publishing House; 2012. Doc12rg64

DOI: 10.3205/12rg64, URN: urn:nbn:de:0183-12rg647

This is the translated version of the article.
The original version can be found at: http://www.egms.de/de/meetings/rg2012/12rg64.shtml

Published: May 30, 2012

© 2012 Hörster et al.
This is an Open Access article distributed under the terms of the Creative Commons Attribution License (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-nd/3.0/deed.en). You are free: to Share – to copy, distribute and transmit the work, provided the original author and source are credited.


Outline

Text

Background: Laser-flare-photometry of anterior chamber (AC) fluid allows identification of high-risk patients with primary retinal detachment for proliferative vitreoretinopathy (PVR). Aim of this study was to analyse pro-fibrotic factors in AC fluid in relation to laser-flare-value and PVR incidence.

Methods: 68 patients with primary retinal detachment were prospectively enrolled. All patients received laser-flare analysis (FM-500, Kowa Optimed, Düsseldorf) preoperatively. Standard surgical procedure was 20 Gauge pars plana vitrectomy, encircling band and SF-6 gas endotamponade. IL-6, IL-8, MCP-1, TGF-ß 1, 2, 3, PDGF aa, and VEGF (R&D Systems GmbH, Wiesbaden, Germany) were analysed in intraoperatively obtained AC fluid samples by multiple bead analysis (Luminex, Austin, Texas, USA).

Results: 20 patients had flare values >15 pc/ms. 4 patients developed PVR retinal detachment, 6 patients developed PVR grade C. 8/10 patients (80%) with PVR had flare values of >15 pc/ms. 46/52 patients (79%) without PVR had flare values of <15 pc/ms. The odds for PVR with flare values of >15 pc/ms were 15-fold increased compared to <15 pc/ms (p=0.0005). Levels of IL-6, IL-8, MCP-1, and TGF-ß1 in AC fluid were elevated depending on the flare value (p<0.0001, p=0.0007, p=0.0008 respectively). Levels of VEGF, PDGF aa and TGF-ß2 were not elevated (p=0.263, p=0.926, p=0.444 respectively). TGF-ß3 was not detected.

Conclusion: Laser flare photometry in patients with primary retinal detachment allows risk-estimation for later PVR with high sensitivity and specificity. Pro-fibrotic factors were elevated in AC fluid, dependent on the flare value and constitute promising targets for prophylactic intervention. Anti-fibrotic TGF-ß3 was not detected in AC fluid.

gms | German Medical Science

25. Jahrestagung der Deutschen Retinologischen Gesellschaft

Deutsche Gesellschaft für Retinologie

01.06. - 02.06.2012, Münster

Erhöhte pro-fibrotische Faktoren in Vorderkammerflüssigkeit von Risikopatienten für proliferative Vitreoretinopathie korrespondieren mit erhöhten Laser-Flare-Werten

Kongressabstract

  • Robert Hörster - Universitäts-Augenklinik Köln
  • P.S. Müther - Universitäts-Augenklinik Köln
  • B. Kirchhof - Universitäts-Augenklinik Köln
  • S. Fauser - Universitäts-Augenklinik Köln

Retinologische Gesellschaft. 25. Jahrestagung der Retinologischen Gesellschaft. Münster, 01.-02.06.2012. Düsseldorf: German Medical Science GMS Publishing House; 2012. Doc12rg64

DOI: 10.3205/12rg64, URN: urn:nbn:de:0183-12rg647

Dieses ist die Originalversion des Artikels.
Die übersetzte Version finden Sie unter: http://www.egms.de/en/meetings/rg2012/12rg64.shtml

Veröffentlicht: 30. Mai 2012

© 2012 Hörster et al.
Dieser Artikel ist ein Open Access-Artikel und steht unter den Creative Commons Lizenzbedingungen (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-nd/3.0/deed.de). Er darf vervielfältigt, verbreitet und öffentlich zugänglich gemacht werden, vorausgesetzt dass Autor und Quelle genannt werden.


Gliederung

Text

Hintergrund: Laser-Flare-Photometrie der Vorderkammer (VK)-Flüssigkeit erlaubt die Identifizierung von Risikopatienten mit primärer Amotio für die Entwicklung von proliferativer Vitreoretinopathie (PVR). Ziel dieser Studie war es, pro-fibrotische Zytokine und Wachstumsfaktoren in der VK-Flüssigkeit in Abhängigkeit vom Flare-Wert und der späteren PVR-Inzidenz zu bestimmen.

Methoden: 68 Patienten mit primärer Amotio wurden prospektiv untersucht. Alle Patienten erhielten präoperativ eine Laser-Flare-Analyse (FM-500, Kowa Optimed, Düsseldorf). Die Standard-OP-Methode war 20 Gauge pars plana Vitrektomie mit Cerclage und SF-6 Gas Endotamponade. Mit Hilfe von Multiplex-Bead-Analyse (Luminex, Austin, Texas, USA) wurden IL-6, IL-8, MCP-1, TGF-ß 1, 2, 3, PDGF aa, und VEGF (R&D Systems GmbH, Wiesbaden, Germany) in der intraoperativ gewonnenen VK-Flüssigkeit untersucht.

Ergebnisse: 20 Patienten hatten einen Flare-Wert von >15 pc/ms. 4 Patienten entwickelten eine PVR-Amotio, 6 Patienten eine PVR Grad C. 8/10 Patienten (80%) mit PVR hatten einen Flare-Wert >15 pc/ms. 46/52 Patienten (79%) ohne PVR hatten einen Flare-Wert <15 pc/ms. Das Risiko für PVR mit einem Flare-Wert >15 pc/ms war 15-fach höher als <15 pc/ms (p=0,0005). In der VK-Flüssigkeit waren die Spiegel von IL-6, IL-8, MCP-1, und TGF-ß1 in Abhängigkeit vom Flare-Wert signifikant erhöht (p<0,0001, p=0,0007, p=0,0008 bzw. p=0,0019). Die Spiegel von VEGF, PDGF aa und TGF-ß2 waren nicht signifikant erhöht (p=0,263, p=0,926 bzw. p=0,444). TGF-ß3 konnte nicht nachgewiesen werden.

Schlussfolgerung: Laser-Flare-Photometrie der VK-Flüssigkeit von Patienten mit primärer Amotio erlaubt mit hoher Sensitivität und Spezifität eine Einschätzung des späteren PVR-Risikos. Pro-fibrotische Zytokine und Wachstumsfaktoren waren in Abhängigkeit vom Flare-Wert erhöht und stellen mögliche Angriffspunkte für prophylaktische Interventionen dar. Anti-fibrotisches TGF-ß3 wurde in VK-Flüssigkeit nicht nachgewiesen.