gms | German Medical Science

25th Annual Meeting of the German Retina Society

German Retina Society

01.06. - 02.06.2012, Münster

Photostability and safety aspects of Brilliant Blue G and Trypan Blue

Meeting Abstract

  • Jost Hillenkamp - Universitäts-Augenklinik Kiel
  • A. Klettner - Universitäts-Augenklinik Kiel
  • J. Roider - Universitäts-Augenklinik Kiel
  • R. Vasold - Institut für Organische Chemie der Universität Regensburg
  • W. Bäumler - Klinik für Dermatologie der Universität Regensburg

German Retina Society. 25th Annual Conference of the German Retina Society. Münster, 01.-02.06.2012. Düsseldorf: German Medical Science GMS Publishing House; 2012. Doc12rg57

doi: 10.3205/12rg57, urn:nbn:de:0183-12rg571

This is the translated version of the article.
The original version can be found at: http://www.egms.de/de/meetings/rg2012/12rg57.shtml

Published: May 30, 2012

© 2012 Hillenkamp et al.
This is an Open Access article distributed under the terms of the Creative Commons Attribution License (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-nd/3.0/deed.en). You are free: to Share – to copy, distribute and transmit the work, provided the original author and source are credited.


Outline

Text

Purpose: To study photostability and toxicity of Brilliant Blue G (BBG), Trypan Blue (TB), and of a combination product (BBG+TB+PEG, polyethylene glycol) applying illumination parameters used in macular surgery.

Methods: BBG 0.25% and TB 0.06% solutions were illuminated with a 300-W xenon surgical light source set on full power for 5 and 60 min and a standard fiberoptic endoillumination probe. Light induced changes of BBG and TB were analysed with high-performance liquid chromatography (HPLC). Generation of singlet oxygen during and after illumination of the solutions was detected using time resolved luminescence spectroscopy at 1270 nm. Cell viability of human ARPE-19 cell culture after incubation with BBG, TB, and BBG+TB+PEG solutions with and without illumination with the same light source was tested with MTT- and trypan blue assays.

Results: The HPLC peak pattern of BBG remained unchanged after short and prolonged illumination. Both solutions are pharmaceutically impure. The HPLC pattern of TB showed a marked increase of several decomposition products with increasing illumination time. Singlet oxygen was not detected during or after illumination of BBG or TB. Incubation with BBG, TB, or BBG+TB+PEG with or without illumination did not alter cell viability.

Conclusion: BBG is a photostable compound while TB decomposes under illumination. Although both BBG and TB appear to be safe in cell culture the epiretinal application of TB is critical because decomposition products may cause yet undetermined toxic effects. The safety profile of BBG and TB could possibly be improved by purification of the solutions.

gms | German Medical Science

25. Jahrestagung der Deutschen Retinologischen Gesellschaft

Deutsche Gesellschaft für Retinologie

01.06. - 02.06.2012, Münster

Photostabilität und Sicherheitsaspekte von Brilliant Blau G und Trypan Blau

Kongressabstract

  • Jost Hillenkamp - Universitäts-Augenklinik Kiel
  • A. Klettner - Universitäts-Augenklinik Kiel
  • J. Roider - Universitäts-Augenklinik Kiel
  • R. Vasold - Institut für Organische Chemie der Universität Regensburg
  • W. Bäumler - Klinik für Dermatologie der Universität Regensburg

Retinologische Gesellschaft. 25. Jahrestagung der Retinologischen Gesellschaft. Münster, 01.-02.06.2012. Düsseldorf: German Medical Science GMS Publishing House; 2012. Doc12rg57

DOI: 10.3205/12rg57, URN: urn:nbn:de:0183-12rg571

Dieses ist die Originalversion des Artikels.
Die übersetzte Version finden Sie unter: http://www.egms.de/en/meetings/rg2012/12rg57.shtml

Veröffentlicht: 30. Mai 2012

© 2012 Hillenkamp et al.
Dieser Artikel ist ein Open Access-Artikel und steht unter den Creative Commons Lizenzbedingungen (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-nd/3.0/deed.de). Er darf vervielfältigt, verbreitet und öffentlich zugänglich gemacht werden, vorausgesetzt dass Autor und Quelle genannt werden.


Gliederung

Text

Ziel: Die Untersuchung von Photostabilität und Toxizität von Brilliant Blau G (BBG), Trypan Blau (TB) und einem Kombinationsprodukt (BBG+TB+PEG, Polyethylenglycol) mit Illuminationsparametern der Makulachirurgie.

Methoden: BBG 0,25% und TB 0,06% Lösungen wurden mit einer chirurgischen 300-W Xenon Lichtquelle und einer chirurgischen Standard-Lichtfaser für 5 und 60 min mit maximaler Intensität bestrahlt. Licht-induzierte Veränderungen von BBG und TB wurden mit High-Performance Liquid Chromatography (HPLC) analysiert. Die Entstehung von Singulett Sauerstoff während und nach Bestrahlung der Lösungen wurde mit zeit-aufgelöster Photolumineszenz-Spektroskopie bei 1270 nm gemessen. Die Vitalität von humanen ARPE-19 Zellkulturen nach Inkubation mit BBG, TB und BBG+TB+PEG Lösungen mit und ohne Bestrahlung mit derselben Lichtquelle wurden mit MTT- und Trypan Blau Tests quantifiziert.

Ergebnisse: Das Peak-Muster des HPLC Chromatogramms von BBG blieb nach kurzer und langer Bestrahlung unverändert. Das Chromatogramm von TB zeigte mit zunehmender Bestrahlungsdauer einen deutlichen Anstieg von mehreren Spaltprodukten. Beide Lösungen sind pharmazeutisch unrein. Singulett Sauerstoff wurde weder während noch nach Bestrahlung von BBG oder TB detektiert. Die Zellvitalität war nach Inkubation mit BBG, TB oder BBG+TB+PEG mit und ohne Bestrahlung nicht beeinträchtigt.

Schlussfolgerung: BBG ist eine photostabile Verbindung während TB unter Licht zerfällt. Obwohl BBG und TB im Zellkulturexperiment als sicher erscheinen, ist die epiretinale Applikation von TB als kritisch zu bewerten weil licht-induzierte Spaltprodukte zu bisher unbestimmten toxischen Effekten führen könnten. Das Sicherheitsprofil von BBG und TB könnte möglicherweise durch einen höheren Reinheitsgrad der Lösungen verbessert werden.