gms | German Medical Science

25th Annual Meeting of the German Retina Society

German Retina Society

01.06. - 02.06.2012, Münster

Software-based management of intravitreal injections: the IVI Manager

Meeting Abstract

Search Medline for

  • Miroslav Kulanga - Universitäts-Augenklinik Göttingen
  • N. Feltgen - Universitäts-Augenklinik Göttingen
  • H. Hoerauf - Universitäts-Augenklinik Göttingen

German Retina Society. 25th Annual Conference of the German Retina Society. Münster, 01.-02.06.2012. Düsseldorf: German Medical Science GMS Publishing House; 2012. Doc12rg54

doi: 10.3205/12rg54, urn:nbn:de:0183-12rg540

This is the translated version of the article.
The original version can be found at:

Published: May 30, 2012

© 2012 Kulanga et al.
This is an Open Access article distributed under the terms of the Creative Commons Attribution License ( You are free: to Share – to copy, distribute and transmit the work, provided the original author and source are credited.



Background: The increasing number of intravitreal injections (IVI) leads to a growing administrative burden. There is a need for a software solution that integrates both: the previously used data and a simplified documentation around the IVI.

Methods: The IVI Manager was developed without the participation of any company, using Microsoft Access and Visual Basic for Applications. Connection to an existing patient database was implemented using Open Database Connectivity (ODBC). For the execution of the IVI Manager, a free Microsoft Access Runtime or Microsoft Access is required. Its use in a multiuser environment is unproblematic.

Results: The IVI Manager is a software tool that supports the complete administrative process of intravitreal injections: insurance request, injection process, billing and follow-up. By performing documentation in IVI manager, all necessary forms, patient records and medical reports are created automatically. During the injection process documentation burden decreases, since information is transferred from the previous entries. Thus, redundant entries are eliminated, which can also counteract errors in documentation and in treatment. With IVI Manager statistical analysis of the injection numbers, used drugs, insurance requests and invoicing can also be made at any time.

Conclusion: The use of IVI Manager in clinical practice significantly facilitates the increasing administrative burden and allows easy and complete statistical analysis of the insurance requests and injections carried out to date. The IVI Manager is designed in such a way, that there are no license costs for the necessary programs.

gms | German Medical Science

25. Jahrestagung der Deutschen Retinologischen Gesellschaft

Deutsche Gesellschaft für Retinologie

01.06. - 02.06.2012, Münster

Softwaregestütztes Management intravitrealer Injektionen: Der IVI Manager

Kongressabstract

Suche in Medline nach

  • Miroslav Kulanga - Universitäts-Augenklinik Göttingen
  • N. Feltgen - Universitäts-Augenklinik Göttingen
  • H. Hoerauf - Universitäts-Augenklinik Göttingen

Retinologische Gesellschaft. 25. Jahrestagung der Retinologischen Gesellschaft. Münster, 01.-02.06.2012. Düsseldorf: German Medical Science GMS Publishing House; 2012. Doc12rg54

doi: 10.3205/12rg54, urn:nbn:de:0183-12rg540

Dieses ist die Originalversion des Artikels.
Die übersetzte Version finden Sie unter: http://www.egms.de/en/meetings/rg2012/12rg54.shtml

Veröffentlicht: 30. Mai 2012

© 2012 Kulanga et al.
Dieser Artikel ist ein Open Access-Artikel und steht unter den Creative Commons Lizenzbedingungen (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-nd/3.0/deed.de). Er darf vervielfältigt, verbreitet und öffentlich zugänglich gemacht werden, vorausgesetzt dass Autor und Quelle genannt werden.


Gliederung

Text

Hintergrund: Die zunehmende Anzahl der intravitrealen Injektionen (IVI) führt zu einem ständig wachsenden bürokratischen Aufwand. Wünschenswert ist eine Softwarelösung, die sowohl die bisher verwendeten Daten einbinden, als auch die Dokumentation rund um die IVI vereinfachen kann.

Methoden: Der IVI Manager wurde ohne Beteiligung einer Firma, nur mittels Microsoft Access und Visual Basic for Applications entwickelt. Eine Anbindung an eine bestehende Patientendatenbank wurde über Open Database Connectivity (ODBC) realisiert. Für die Ausführung von IVI Manager wird die kostenlose Microsoft Access Runtime oder Microsoft Access benötigt. Der Einsatz in einer Mehrbenutzerumgebung ist problemlos.

Ergebnisse: Der IVI Manager ist ein Softwaretool, mit dem es möglich ist den kompletten administrativen Prozess von intravitrealen Injektionen zu unterstützen: von der Antragstellung, über die tatsächliche Injektion bis zur Abrechnung und Nachsorge. Aus der Dokumentation im IVI Manager, werden alle benötigten Formulare, Patientenunterlagen und Arztbriefe automatisch erstellt. Im Laufe des Prozesses sinkt die Dokumentationslast, da Angaben von vorherigen Eintragungen übernommen werden. Somit sind redundante Eintragungen eliminiert, was auch Dokumentations- und Behandlungsfehlern entgegenwirkt. Mit Hilfe des IVI Managers kann zudem jederzeit eine statistische Auswertung der Injektionszahlen, verwendeten Medikamente, Kassenanträge sowie der Abrechnung erfolgen.

Schlussfolgerungen: Der Einsatz des IVI Managers im klinischen Alltag erleichtert den steigenden bürokratischen Aufwand spürbar und ermöglicht eine einfache und vollständige statistische Analyse der Antragstellungen und der bisher durchgeführten Injektionen. Der IVI Manager ist so konzipiert, dass keine Lizenzkosten für die erforderlichen Programme anfallen.