gms | German Medical Science

25th Annual Meeting of the German Retina Society

German Retina Society

01.06. - 02.06.2012, Münster

Spectral-domain optical coherence tomography in subjects over 60-years-old and its implications for designing clinical trials

Meeting Abstract

  • Albert Caramoy - Universitäts-Augenklinik Köln
  • J. Foerster - Universitäts-Augenklinik Köln
  • E. Allakhiarova - Universitäts-Augenklinik Köln
  • C.B. Hoyng - Radboud University Nijmegen Medical Centre, Niederlande
  • K. Dröge - Universitäts-Augenklinik Köln
  • B. Kirchhof - Universitäts-Augenklinik Köln
  • S. Fauser - Universitäts-Augenklinik Köln

German Retina Society. 25th Annual Conference of the German Retina Society. Münster, 01.-02.06.2012. Düsseldorf: German Medical Science GMS Publishing House; 2012. Doc12rg42

doi: 10.3205/12rg42, urn:nbn:de:0183-12rg421

This is the translated version of the article.
The original version can be found at: http://www.egms.de/de/meetings/rg2012/12rg42.shtml

Published: May 30, 2012

© 2012 Caramoy et al.
This is an Open Access article distributed under the terms of the Creative Commons Attribution License (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-nd/3.0/deed.en). You are free: to Share – to copy, distribute and transmit the work, provided the original author and source are credited.


Outline

Text

Aims: To study the variability of central retinal thickness (CRT), its concordance to the fellow eyes, and the implications for designing future clinical trials using spectral-domain optical coherence tomography (SD-OCT).

Methods: Cross sectional retrospective analysis of European Genetic Database (EUGENDA). Six hundred thirty two eyes of 316 subjects over 60 years old without macular pathology were examined using SD-OCT.

Results: Mean CRT was 280.22 µm and 281.02 µm for the right and left eyes, respectively. There was a strong concordance for all measured values between right and left eyes. Men had significantly thicker CRT than women. Variation up to 23 µm difference between both eyes was seen. To detect a change of at least 30 µm in CRT, a sample size of 90 or 176 per group is needed for a single or double arm study, respectively (α=0.05, power=0.80, no loss to follow up, assuming standard deviation in future studies=100 µm).

Conclusions: Clinical trials using CRT as an endpoint are feasible in terms of sample size needed.

gms | German Medical Science

25. Jahrestagung der Deutschen Retinologischen Gesellschaft

Deutsche Gesellschaft für Retinologie

01.06. - 02.06.2012, Münster

Interindividuelle Netzhautdicke bei Probanden über 60 und ihre Bedeutung für die Planung einer klinischen Studie

Kongressabstract

  • Albert Caramoy - Universitäts-Augenklinik Köln
  • J. Foerster - Universitäts-Augenklinik Köln
  • E. Allakhiarova - Universitäts-Augenklinik Köln
  • C.B. Hoyng - Radboud University Nijmegen Medical Centre, Niederlande
  • K. Dröge - Universitäts-Augenklinik Köln
  • B. Kirchhof - Universitäts-Augenklinik Köln
  • S. Fauser - Universitäts-Augenklinik Köln

Retinologische Gesellschaft. 25. Jahrestagung der Retinologischen Gesellschaft. Münster, 01.-02.06.2012. Düsseldorf: German Medical Science GMS Publishing House; 2012. Doc12rg42

doi: 10.3205/12rg42, urn:nbn:de:0183-12rg421

Dieses ist die Originalversion des Artikels.
Die übersetzte Version finden Sie unter: http://www.egms.de/en/meetings/rg2012/12rg42.shtml

Veröffentlicht: 30. Mai 2012

© 2012 Caramoy et al.
Dieser Artikel ist ein Open Access-Artikel und steht unter den Creative Commons Lizenzbedingungen (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-nd/3.0/deed.de). Er darf vervielfältigt, verbreitet und öffentlich zugänglich gemacht werden, vorausgesetzt dass Autor und Quelle genannt werden.


Gliederung

Text

Ziel: Um die interindividuelle Variabilität der Netzhautdicke, ihre Konkordanz zu dem Partnerauge und ihre Bedeutung für zukünftige Planung einer klinischen Studie mittels spectral-domain OCT (SD-OCT) zu untersuchen.

Methodik: Eine retrospective Analyse der OCT-Bilder von Probanden der europäischen Gendatenbank (EUGENDA) in Köln wurde durchgeführt. Sechshundertzweiunddreißig Augen ohne makuläre Pathologie wurden mittels SD-OCT untersucht.

Ergebnis: Mittlere Netzhautdicken waren 280,22 µm und 281,02 µm für jeweils das rechte und das linke Auge. Es besteht eine starke Konkordanz zwischen dem rechten und dem linken Auge. Männer haben durchschnittlich etwas dickere zentrale Netzhautdicke als Frauen. Eine Variation bis 23 µm zwischen beiden Augen wurde beobachtet. Um mindestens einen 30 µm Unterschied zwischen beiden Augen in einer klinischen Studie zu detektieren, eine Fallzahl von 90 oder 176 Augen per Gruppe in einer einarmigen bzw. zweiarmigen Studie wird benötigt (α=0.05, power=0.80, unter der Annahme Standardabweichung in der zukünftigen Studie=100 µm).

Schlussfolgerung: Eine klinische Studie mit SD-OCT als primärer Endpunkt ist möglich im Hinblick der benötigten Fallzahl.