gms | German Medical Science

25th Annual Meeting of the German Retina Society

German Retina Society

01.06. - 02.06.2012, Münster

AMD with concurrent hemorrhages: specific features and classification

Meeting Abstract

Search Medline for

  • Silvia Bopp - Augenklinik Universitätsallee, Bremen

German Retina Society. 25th Annual Conference of the German Retina Society. Münster, 01.-02.06.2012. Düsseldorf: German Medical Science GMS Publishing House; 2012. Doc12rg40

DOI: 10.3205/12rg40, URN: urn:nbn:de:0183-12rg402

This is the translated version of the article.
The original version can be found at: http://www.egms.de/de/meetings/rg2012/12rg40.shtml

Published: May 30, 2012

© 2012 Bopp.
This is an Open Access article distributed under the terms of the Creative Commons Attribution License (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-nd/3.0/deed.en). You are free: to Share – to copy, distribute and transmit the work, provided the original author and source are credited.


Outline

Text

Background: Visual prognosis decreases significantly when exudative AMD is complicated by hemorrhages. The present report discusses the peculiarities of hemorrhagic AMD with respect to the clinical course and treatment options.

Methods: Based on our patient data the following questions are addressed.

1.
When considering the heterogeneous clinical presentation, which therapy is indicated in which situation?
2.
Why are results after medial and surgical treatment often unsatisfactorily?
3.
Why do we need a classification for subretinal hemorrhages in AMD?

Results: About 10% of eyes that present for initial therapy of exudative AMD show concurrent hemorrhages of varying extent. Furthermore, recurrent bleeding is frequent.

1.
CNV with spotty hemorrhages or bleedings at their margin are usually treated by anti-VEGF only. Treatment of larger hemorrhages, however, has remained controversial. In clinical practice, decision-making is based on rationales and personal experience. Except for the SST, no randomized studies are available.
2.
Histopathologic studies show complex pathologies of the CNV and adjacent structures (e.g. photoreceptor cells, RPE, Bruchs membrane and choriocapillaris). Hemorrhages lead to even more serious alterations. As bleeding most often occur in occult-type membranes, the sub-RPE space often is affected. Anti-VEGF therapy aims at control of the CNV, but has no impact on the hemorrhagic component. Surgery to dislocate blood from the fovea has proven to be insufficient when sub-RPE blood is present and carries a high risk of RIP formation.
3.
A major difficulty in comparing different treatment modalities for larger hemorrhages is the lack of standardized definition subretinal blood. As current imaging techniques allow quantification and localization of the hemorrhagic component, the author suggests a classification system for subretinal hemorrhages in AMD, which may be useful for clinical practice and future studies.

Conclusions: AMD with concurrent hemorrhages is a “nasty” subtyp. Despite of numerous treatment options available, the prognosis is dubious. Outcomes after medical and surgical treatment are poor. Furthermore, the risk/benefit ratio of surgical methods is ill-defined and requires reevaluation

gms | German Medical Science

25. Jahrestagung der Deutschen Retinologischen Gesellschaft

Deutsche Gesellschaft für Retinologie

01.06. - 02.06.2012, Münster

Hämorrhagischen AMD: Besonderheiten und Klassifikationsvorschlag

Kongressabstract

Suche in Medline nach

  • Silvia Bopp - Augenklinik Universitätsallee, Bremen

Retinologische Gesellschaft. 25. Jahrestagung der Retinologischen Gesellschaft. Münster, 01.-02.06.2012. Düsseldorf: German Medical Science GMS Publishing House; 2012. Doc12rg40

DOI: 10.3205/12rg40, URN: urn:nbn:de:0183-12rg402

Dieses ist die Originalversion des Artikels.
Die übersetzte Version finden Sie unter: http://www.egms.de/en/meetings/rg2012/12rg40.shtml

Veröffentlicht: 30. Mai 2012

© 2012 Bopp.
Dieser Artikel ist ein Open Access-Artikel und steht unter den Creative Commons Lizenzbedingungen (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-nd/3.0/deed.de). Er darf vervielfältigt, verbreitet und öffentlich zugänglich gemacht werden, vorausgesetzt dass Autor und Quelle genannt werden.


Gliederung

Text

Hintergrund: Unzweifelhaft verschlechtert sich die Prognose, wenn bei exsudativer AMD eine Blutung auftritt. Der Beitrag setzt sich kritisch mit den Besonderheiten dieser Variante der AMD in Bezug auf den Verlauf und die Therapie auseinander.

Methoden: Anhand des eigenen Patientengutes werden folgende Fragestellungen behandelt:

1.
Welche Art Behandlung ist in welcher Situation indiziert, berücksichtigt man das heterogene klinische Erscheinungsbild und den unterschiedlichen Verlauf?
2.
Warum sind die Ergebnisse nach medikamentöser und operativer Behandlung so unbefriedigend?
3.
Warum brauchen wir eine Klassifikation für subretinale Blutungen bei AMD?

Ergebnisse: Die klinische Bedeutung der Fragen liegt in der Tatsache, dass rund 10% aller Augen, die zur Erstbehandlung einer exsudativen AMD kommen, bereits begleitende Blutung unterschiedlichen Ausmasses haben. Ferner sind Rezidivblutungen häufig.

1.
Während Fleck- oder kleine Randblutungen die Kandidaten für eine anti-VEGF-Therapie sind, wird die Behandlung größerer Blutungen kontrovers beurteilt. Im klinischen Alltag basiert die Entscheidung meist auf konzeptionellen Überlegungen und persönlicher Erfahrung. Abgesehen von dem Subretinal Surgery Trial (SST) liegen keine randomisierten Studien vor.
2.
Histopathologische Untersuchungen zeigen komplexe Veränderungen im Bereich der CNV und benachbarten Strukturen (Photorezeptoren, RPE, Bruchsche' Membran, Choriokapillaris), die bei einer Blutung noch aggraviert werden. Ferner sind die meisten CNV, aus denen es blutet, vom okkulten Typ, und die Blutung bezieht den sub-RPE Raum ein. Bei medikamentöser Therapie sind die Erfolge bescheiden, da eine anti-VEGF-Therapie die hämorrhagische Komponente nicht beeinflusst. Operativen Verfahren, die eine Blutdislokation aus der Makula zum Ziel haben, erweisen sich in Bezug auf das sub-RPE Blut als ineffektiv und gehen mit einem hohen RIP-Risko einher.
3.
Bei „größeren“ Blutungen gibt es keine Standardisierung in Bezug auf die Ausgangssituation. Daher ist eine vergleichende Bewertung der verschiedenen operativen Therapieoptionen nicht möglich. Die heutigen Bildgebungsverfahren erlauben eine Quantifizierung und Lokalisation des subretinalen Blutes. Es wird daher eine Klassifikation für subretinale Blutungen bei AMD vorgeschlagen, die nützlich für weitere Studien sein könnte.

Schlussfolgerungen

Die „hämorrhagische AMD” stellt eine prognostisch besonders unheilvolle Untergruppe dar. Trotz der zahlreichen Therapieoptionen incl. kombiniert operativ-medikamentöser Verfahren sind die Ergebnisse bescheiden. Zudem bleibt das Risiko/Nutzen Verhältnis vieler Techniken unklar und bedarf einer Reevaluierung.