gms | German Medical Science

25th Annual Meeting of the German Retina Society

German Retina Society

01.06. - 02.06.2012, Münster

Effects of Pioglitazone on immune modulation in choroidal neovascularisation

Meeting Abstract

  • Anne Friederike Alex - Universitäts-Augenklinik Münster
  • S. Cordes - Universitäts-Augenklinik Münster
  • P. Heiduschka - Universitäts-Augenklinik Münster
  • N. Eter - Universitäts-Augenklinik Münster

German Retina Society. 25th Annual Conference of the German Retina Society. Münster, 01.-02.06.2012. Düsseldorf: German Medical Science GMS Publishing House; 2012. Doc12rg34

doi: 10.3205/12rg34, urn:nbn:de:0183-12rg346

This is the translated version of the article.
The original version can be found at: http://www.egms.de/de/meetings/rg2012/12rg34.shtml

Published: May 30, 2012

© 2012 Alex et al.
This is an Open Access article distributed under the terms of the Creative Commons Attribution License (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-nd/3.0/deed.en). You are free: to Share – to copy, distribute and transmit the work, provided the original author and source are credited.


Outline

Text

Purpose: CNV in age-related macular degeneration (AMD) is thought to be an immunologically regulated process. Pioglitazone (PPARγ agonist) is an anti-diabetic drug with known anti-inflammatory properties. The aim was to investigate the anti-inflammatory and immune modulatory effects of Pioglitazone in a mouse model of laser-induced CNV.

Methods: Cultured and Pioglitazone-treated human retinal endothelial cells (hREC) were analysed by flow-cytometry (absolute cell numbers, proliferation and dead cells). CX3CR1+/GFP mice were fed either with Piogliazone or its vehicle cellulose and treated with an argon laser. Three and 14 days later, eyes were enucleated and retina and choroid separated. One day before, in vivo high resolution autofluorescence imaging for GFP-positive cells was performed. CX3CR1- and CD11b-positive cells were analysed by flow-cytometry. Pro- and anti-inflammatory cytokine expression (TNF-α , IL-6, IL-10) was evaluated by real-time PCR.

Results: In vitro, Pioglitazone did not show an effect on the proliferation of hREC. In vivo, a trend towards a reduction in the absolute numbers of CX3CR1- and CD11b-positive cells could be seen in the Pioglitazone group. A strong anti-inflammatory effect could be seen on cytokine levels. TNF-α and IL-6 were reduced and the anti-inflammatory IL-10 was upregulated. In autofluorescence imaging, markedly less GFP-positive cells were present in the area of the laser spots under Pioglitazone treatment.

Conclusion: Pioglitazone showed a strong anti-inflammatory effect on cytokine level and reduced the immigration of GFP-positive immune cells into the area of laser. Absolute immune cell numbers did not diminish significantly. Pioglitazone administration could be a therapeutic approach with an early influence in the cascade of CNV pathogenesis.

gms | German Medical Science

25. Jahrestagung der Deutschen Retinologischen Gesellschaft

Deutsche Gesellschaft für Retinologie

01.06. - 02.06.2012, Münster

Der Effekt von Pioglitazon auf die Immunmodulation bei der choroidalen Neovaskularisation

Kongressabstract

Suche in Medline nach

  • Anne Friederike Alex - Universitäts-Augenklinik Münster
  • S. Cordes - Universitäts-Augenklinik Münster
  • P. Heiduschka - Universitäts-Augenklinik Münster
  • N. Eter - Universitäts-Augenklinik Münster

Retinologische Gesellschaft. 25. Jahrestagung der Retinologischen Gesellschaft. Münster, 01.-02.06.2012. Düsseldorf: German Medical Science GMS Publishing House; 2012. Doc12rg34

doi: 10.3205/12rg34, urn:nbn:de:0183-12rg346

Dieses ist die Originalversion des Artikels.
Die übersetzte Version finden Sie unter: http://www.egms.de/en/meetings/rg2012/12rg34.shtml

Veröffentlicht: 30. Mai 2012

© 2012 Alex et al.
Dieser Artikel ist ein Open Access-Artikel und steht unter den Creative Commons Lizenzbedingungen (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-nd/3.0/deed.de). Er darf vervielfältigt, verbreitet und öffentlich zugänglich gemacht werden, vorausgesetzt dass Autor und Quelle genannt werden.


Gliederung

Text

Hintergrund: Pathogenetische Ansätze für die CNV bei altersbedingter Makuladegeneration (AMD) vermuten einen immunregulierten Prozess. Pioglitazon (PPARγ-Agonist) ist ein Antidiabetikum mit bekannten antientzündlichen Eigenschaften. Ziel dieser Studie war es, die Effekte von Pioglitazon an humanen retinalen Endothelzellen (hREZ) in vitro und in einem Mausmodell der Laser-induzierten CNV zu untersuchen.

Methoden: hREZ wurden mit Pioglitazon inkubiert und absolute Zellzahlen, Zellproliferation und Zelltod durchflusszytometrisch bestimmt. CX3CR1+/GFP-Mäuse wurden mit Pioglitazon oder dem Vehikel Cellulose gefüttert und mit Laser behandelt. Drei und 14 Tage nach Laser wurden die Tiere enukleiert und Netzhaut und Choroid isoliert. Einen Tag zuvor wurden die autofluoreszenten GFP-positiven Zellen in vivo visualisiert. Durchflusszytometrisch wurden CX3CR1- und CD11b-positive Zellen analysiert. Pro- und antiinflammatorische Zytokine (TNF-α, IL-6, IL-10) wurden mittels Real-time PCR gemessen.

Ergebnisse: Proliferationsuntersuchungen an hREZ in vitro zeigten keine signifikanten Unterschiede unter Pioglitazon. In vivo zeigte sich durchflusszytometrisch drei und 14 Tage nach Laserbehandlung ein Trend einer reduzierten Anzahl von CX3CR1- und CD11b-positiven Zellen in der Pioglitazongruppe. Deutlich zeigte sich eine Verminderung der Immunzellimmigration in den Laserherd. Ein starker antiinflammatorischer Effekt von Pioglitazon zeigte sich in der herunterregulierten Expression von TNF-α und IL-6 und der vermehrten Expression des antiinflammatorischen IL-10.

Schlussfolgerung: Wir konnten einen ausgeprägten antiinflammatorischen Effekt von Pioglitazon nachweisen. Die Einwanderung GFP-positiver Immunzellen in den Laserherd wurde vermindert, wie auch die Expression von proinflammtorischen Zytokinen. Zudem zeigte sich ein Trend in der Reduktion der Anzahl CX3CR1- und CD11b-positiver Immunzellen. Pioglitazon greift in einem frühen Stadium der CNV in die Signalkaskade ein und könnte sich als therapeutischer Ansatz bei der CNV eignen.