gms | German Medical Science

25th Annual Meeting of the German Retina Society

German Retina Society

01.06. - 02.06.2012, Münster

Imaging of focally increased pigment in early and Intermediate AMD – analysis of longitudinal alterations

Meeting Abstract

  • Arno P. Göbel - Universitäts-Augenklinik Bonn
  • S. Grundei - Universitäts-Augenklinik Bonn
  • F.G. Holz - Universitäts-Augenklinik Bonn
  • S. Schmitz-Valckenberg - Universitäts-Augenklinik Bonn

German Retina Society. 25th Annual Conference of the German Retina Society. Münster, 01.-02.06.2012. Düsseldorf: German Medical Science GMS Publishing House; 2012. Doc12rg33

doi: 10.3205/12rg33, urn:nbn:de:0183-12rg338

This is the translated version of the article.
The original version can be found at: http://www.egms.de/de/meetings/rg2012/12rg33.shtml

Published: May 30, 2012

© 2012 Göbel et al.
This is an Open Access article distributed under the terms of the Creative Commons Attribution License (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-nd/3.0/deed.en). You are free: to Share – to copy, distribute and transmit the work, provided the original author and source are credited.


Outline

Text

Purpose: Focally increased pigment represents a high-risk factor for AMD progression. Purpose of the study was to determine alterations of increased pigment in early and intermediate AMD by means of multimodal imaging over time.

Methods: 18 eyes with early or intermediate AMD (AREDS-classification) of 14 patients (mean age 74) were included. Imaging including color fundus photography (CFP) (Visucam), cSLO-fundus autofluorescene (FAF) and spectral-domain optical coherence tomography (SD-OCT) (Spectralis HRA+OCT) was performed at baseline examination (t0) and one year later (t1). After semi-automated alignment of different imaging modalities and examination dates, each increased pigment was topographically correlated with the focal FAF- and SD-OCT-signal.

Results: Increased pigment was funduscopically visible in 8 of 18 eyes at t0 and t1. At t1, 27 loci of increased pigment were identified, of which 11 showed an increase, 5 a decrease and 11 no change in size over time. FAF at t0 revealed an increased signal in 14 and a normal signal in 6 cases. FAF signal altered over time in 3 cases: from increased at t0 to normal at t1. SD-OCT imaging showed focal hyperreflectivity above band 4 in 8 and only at band 4 level in 2 cases. At 4 sites of increased pigment SD-OCT revealed migration of the hyperreflective signal in inner retinal direction.

Conclusion: Increased pigment visible in CFP correlates with different alterations in FAF and SD-OCT. By means of multimodal imaging dynamic change over time alluding to migration of RPE cells and compromised outer retinal integrity can be identified.

gms | German Medical Science

25. Jahrestagung der Deutschen Retinologischen Gesellschaft

Deutsche Gesellschaft für Retinologie

01.06. - 02.06.2012, Münster

Imaging fokaler Hyperpigmentierungen bei früher und intermediärer AMD – Analyse longitudinaler Veränderungen

Kongressabstract

  • Arno P. Göbel - Universitäts-Augenklinik Bonn
  • S. Grundei - Universitäts-Augenklinik Bonn
  • F.G. Holz - Universitäts-Augenklinik Bonn
  • S. Schmitz-Valckenberg - Universitäts-Augenklinik Bonn

Retinologische Gesellschaft. 25. Jahrestagung der Retinologischen Gesellschaft. Münster, 01.-02.06.2012. Düsseldorf: German Medical Science GMS Publishing House; 2012. Doc12rg33

DOI: 10.3205/12rg33, URN: urn:nbn:de:0183-12rg338

Dieses ist die Originalversion des Artikels.
Die übersetzte Version finden Sie unter: http://www.egms.de/en/meetings/rg2012/12rg33.shtml

Veröffentlicht: 30. Mai 2012

© 2012 Göbel et al.
Dieser Artikel ist ein Open Access-Artikel und steht unter den Creative Commons Lizenzbedingungen (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-nd/3.0/deed.de). Er darf vervielfältigt, verbreitet und öffentlich zugänglich gemacht werden, vorausgesetzt dass Autor und Quelle genannt werden.


Gliederung

Text

Hintergrund: Fokale Hyperpigmentierungen stellen einen Hochrisikofaktor für die Progression der altersabhängigen Makuladegeneration (AMD) dar. Ziel dieser prospektiven Studie war die Erfassung longitudinaler Veränderungen bei früher und intermediärer AMD mittels multimodaler Bildgebung.

Methoden: 18 Augen mit früher oder intermediärer AMD (AREDS-Klassifikation) von 14 Patienten (mittleres Alter 74 Jahre) wurden eingeschlossen. Bei Erstuntersuchung (t0) und nach einem Jahr (t1) erfolgten Farbfundusphotographie (Visucam), cSLO-Fundusautofluoreszenz und spectral-domain optische Kohärenztomographie (SD-OCT) (Spectralis HRA+OCT). Nach semi-automatischer Alignierung zwischen verschiedenen Bildmodalitäten und beiden Untersuchungszeitpunkten erfolgte die topographische Korrelation von Hyperpigmentierungen mit dem fokalen FAF- und SD-OCT-Signal.

Ergebnisse: In 8 der 18 Augen waren Hyperpigmentierungen in der Fundusphotographie zu t0 und t1 zu erkennen. Zu t0 fanden sich 27 Hyperpigmentierungen, von denen zu t1 11 eine Zunahme, 5 eine Abnahme und 11 keine Veränderung in der Größe zeigten. In der Fundusautofluoreszenz zeigte sich zu t0 bei 14 ein erhöhtes, bei 6 ein normales Signal. Über die Zeit veränderte sich das Signal in 3 Fällen: von erhöht bei t0 zu normal bei t1. In der SD-OCT zeigte sich zu t0 in 8 Fällen eine fokale Hyperreflektivität oberhalb der Bande 4, in 2 nur auf Höhe der Bande 4. Über die Zeit zeigte sich in 4 Fällen eine Migration des hyperreflektiven Signals in Richtung innerer Netzhautschichten.

Schlussfolgerungen: In der Fundusphotographie sichtbare Hyperpigmentierungen gehen mit unterschiedlichen Veränderungen in FAF und SD-OCT einher. Über die Zeit können dynamische Veränderungen mittels multimodaler Bildgebung beobachtet werden, die auf eine Migration von Pigmentepithelzellen und Zelluntergang in äußeren Netzhautschichten hinweisen.