gms | German Medical Science

25th Annual Meeting of the German Retina Society

German Retina Society

01.06. - 02.06.2012, Münster

Morphological characterisation of early AMD in homocygosity for polymorphisms associated with elevated risk of AMD: current results from the MARS study

Meeting Abstract

  • Martha Dietzel - Augenabteilung, St. Franziskus-Hospital, Münster; Institut für Epidemiologie, Universität Münster
  • B. Heimes - Augenabteilung, St. Franziskus-Hospital, Münster
  • D. Pauleikhoff - Augenabteilung, St. Franziskus-Hospital, Münster
  • H.-W. Hense - Institut für Epidemiologie, Universität Münster

German Retina Society. 25th Annual Conference of the German Retina Society. Münster, 01.-02.06.2012. Düsseldorf: German Medical Science GMS Publishing House; 2012. Doc12rg32

doi: 10.3205/12rg32, urn:nbn:de:0183-12rg329

This is the translated version of the article.
The original version can be found at: http://www.egms.de/de/meetings/rg2012/12rg32.shtml

Published: May 30, 2012

© 2012 Dietzel et al.
This is an Open Access article distributed under the terms of the Creative Commons Attribution License (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-nd/3.0/deed.en). You are free: to Share – to copy, distribute and transmit the work, provided the original author and source are credited.


Outline

Text

Purpose: Defined single-nucleotide polymorphisms (SNP) in CFH and ARMS2 genes are risk factors for AMD. This study aims to assess the association between predefined genotypes and specific phenotypes in early AMD.

Methods: In the MARS study, 85 participants with early AMD were selected who were homozygous for the risk variant in CFH (rs1061170; n=43), homozygous for the risk variant in ARMS2 (rs10490924; n=22) or non-carrier of both SNPs (n=27). AMD was classified according to Rotterdam Study Classification using fundus photographs. Furthermore, the following parameters were determined: presence of peripheral drusen; and, by using SD-OCT, presence of macular drusen, number of drusen, macular choroidal and retinal thickness; and, by using fundus autofluorescence images, presence of reticular drusen. Findings were correlated with SNPs in CFH and ARMS2.

Results: Participants, who were homozygous for the SNP in CFH, but also in ARMS2, were significantly more affected by early AMD regarding drusen features detected by the macular SD-OCT scan, but also regarding the presence of reticular drusen and peripheral drusen, compared to non-carrier of both SNPs. The central choroid and central retina were thinner in genetically predisposed participants compared to non-carrier of both SNPs. This relationship was most pronounced in homozygous carrier of both SNPs.

Conclusions: The present study showed associations between SNPs in CFH and ARMS2 genes and specific morphological characteristics of early AMD. These results indicate that there are phenotypic differences regarding the morphology of the central retina, Bruch´s membrane and choroid, and the peripheral retina, in genetically predisposed patients with early AMD.

gms | German Medical Science

25. Jahrestagung der Deutschen Retinologischen Gesellschaft

Deutsche Gesellschaft für Retinologie

01.06. - 02.06.2012, Münster

Morphologische Charakterisierung der frühen AMD bei Homozygotie von Risiko-Polymorphismen: Aktuelle Ergebnisse der MARS-Studie

Kongressabstract

  • Martha Dietzel - Augenabteilung, St. Franziskus-Hospital, Münster; Institut für Epidemiologie, Universität Münster
  • B. Heimes - Augenabteilung, St. Franziskus-Hospital, Münster
  • D. Pauleikhoff - Augenabteilung, St. Franziskus-Hospital, Münster
  • H.-W. Hense - Institut für Epidemiologie, Universität Münster

Retinologische Gesellschaft. 25. Jahrestagung der Retinologischen Gesellschaft. Münster, 01.-02.06.2012. Düsseldorf: German Medical Science GMS Publishing House; 2012. Doc12rg32

DOI: 10.3205/12rg32, URN: urn:nbn:de:0183-12rg329

Dieses ist die Originalversion des Artikels.
Die übersetzte Version finden Sie unter: http://www.egms.de/en/meetings/rg2012/12rg32.shtml

Veröffentlicht: 30. Mai 2012

© 2012 Dietzel et al.
Dieser Artikel ist ein Open Access-Artikel und steht unter den Creative Commons Lizenzbedingungen (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-nd/3.0/deed.de). Er darf vervielfältigt, verbreitet und öffentlich zugänglich gemacht werden, vorausgesetzt dass Autor und Quelle genannt werden.


Gliederung

Text

Hintergrund: Definierte Einzelnukleotid-Polymorphismen (SNP) im CFH- und ARMS2-Gen sind Risikofaktoren für das Auftreten einer altersabhängigen Makuladegeneration (AMD). Die vorliegende Studie wurde durchgeführt, um die Assoziation zwischen bestimmten Genotypen und individuell spezifischen Phänotypen der frühen AMD zu untersuchen.

Methoden: In der MARS-Studie wurden 85 Probanden mit früher AMD ausgewählt, die homozygot für den CFH-Risiko-SNP (rs1061170; n=43), homozygot für den ARMS2-Risiko-SNP (rs10490924; n=22) oder Noncarrier beider Risiko-SNPs (n=27) waren. Die AMD-Stadieneinteilung erfolgte anhand von Fundusfotografien nach Rotterdam-Studien-Klassifikation. Zudem wurde die Präsenz von peripheren Drusen sowie mittels SD-OCT-Untersuchung das Vorhandensein von makulären Drusen, die Drusenanzahl sowie die zentrale Aderhaut- und Netzhautdicke sowie mittels Fundusautofluoreszenz-Untersuchung das Vorhandensein von retikulären Drusen bestimmt und auf Zusammenhänge mit dem genetischen Status analysiert.

Ergebnisse: Es zeigte sich beim Vorliegen des Risikopolymorphismus insbesondere im CFH-Gen, jedoch auch im ARMS2-Gen eine signifikant höhergradige Ausprägung der frühen AMD in allen Drusenparametern im makulären SD-OCT-Scan und ein häufigeres Auftreten von retikulären Drusen sowie von peripheren Drusen im Vergleich zu genetisch nicht disponierten Probanden. Die zentrale Ader- und Netzhaut zeigte sich bei Trägern der Risiko-SNPs jeweils dünner als bei Noncarriern der Risiko-SNPs, was bei homozygoten Trägern beider Risiko-SNPs am ausgeprägtesten war.

Schlussfolgerungen: Die vorliegende Studie zeigte Assoziationen zwischen etablierten AMD-Risikopolymorphismen im CFH- und ARMS2-Gen und spezifischen morphologischen Charakteristika der frühen AMD. Die Ergebnisse sprechen dafür, dass bei genetisch disponierten Patienten mit früher AMD phänotypische Unterschiede hinsichtlich der Morphologie der makulären Netzhaut, Bruchschen Membran und Aderhaut sowie auch der peripheren Netzhaut bestehen.