gms | German Medical Science

25th Annual Meeting of the German Retina Society

German Retina Society

01.06. - 02.06.2012, Münster

Functional relevance of subretinal drusenoid deposits

Meeting Abstract

  • Florian Alten - Universitäts-Augenklinik Münster
  • P. Heiduschka - Universitäts-Augenklinik Münster
  • C.R. Clemens - Universitäts-Augenklinik Münster
  • N. Eter - Universitäts-Augenklinik Münster

German Retina Society. 25th Annual Conference of the German Retina Society. Münster, 01.-02.06.2012. Düsseldorf: German Medical Science GMS Publishing House; 2012. Doc12rg31

DOI: 10.3205/12rg31, URN: urn:nbn:de:0183-12rg311

This is the translated version of the article.
The original version can be found at: http://www.egms.de/de/meetings/rg2012/12rg31.shtml

Published: May 30, 2012

© 2012 Alten et al.
This is an Open Access article distributed under the terms of the Creative Commons Attribution License (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-nd/3.0/deed.en). You are free: to Share – to copy, distribute and transmit the work, provided the original author and source are credited.


Outline

Text

Purpose: Different studies were able to demonstrate a strong relationship of subretinal drusenoid deposits (SDD) to age-related macular degeneration (AMD) and AMD progression. However, the functional relevance of SDD remains unclear. The aim of this study is to evaluate the impact of SDD on retinal function by mfERG.

Methods: Seventeen eyes of 13 patients with SDD in the posterior pole and no other phenotypic retinal alteration such as conventional drusen, choroidal neovascularization (CNV) or geographic atrophy (GA) were included (6 females, 7 males; age 77.2±5.1 years). Patients underwent fundus photography, spectral domain optical coherence tomography (SD-OCT), fluorescence angiography (FA) and confocal scanning laser ophthalmoscopy (cSLO). mfERG measurements were performed by stimulating the retina by a field of 103 hexagons covering an area of approximately 30°. Both amplitudes and latencies of focal retinal responses obtained at affected and non-affected sites were compared.

Results: In all included eyes, SDD could be clearly demonstrated in SD-OCT, FA and cSLO. Mean BCVA of the studied eyes was 0.86±0.14. In total, mfERG measurements did not show any significant difference in retinal response in the areas where SDD were present compared to non-affected retinal fields.

Conclusions: In contrast to other phenotypic characteristics of AMD, mfERG measurements did not show a definite influence on electrophysiological activity in retinal areas exclusively affected with SDD.

gms | German Medical Science

25. Jahrestagung der Deutschen Retinologischen Gesellschaft

Deutsche Gesellschaft für Retinologie

01.06. - 02.06.2012, Münster

Funktionelle Relevanz von retikulären Pseudodrusen

Kongressabstract

Suche in Medline nach

  • Florian Alten - Universitäts-Augenklinik Münster
  • P. Heiduschka - Universitäts-Augenklinik Münster
  • C.R. Clemens - Universitäts-Augenklinik Münster
  • N. Eter - Universitäts-Augenklinik Münster

Retinologische Gesellschaft. 25. Jahrestagung der Retinologischen Gesellschaft. Münster, 01.-02.06.2012. Düsseldorf: German Medical Science GMS Publishing House; 2012. Doc12rg31

doi: 10.3205/12rg31, urn:nbn:de:0183-12rg311

Dieses ist die Originalversion des Artikels.
Die übersetzte Version finden Sie unter: http://www.egms.de/en/meetings/rg2012/12rg31.shtml

Veröffentlicht: 30. Mai 2012

© 2012 Alten et al.
Dieser Artikel ist ein Open Access-Artikel und steht unter den Creative Commons Lizenzbedingungen (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-nd/3.0/deed.de). Er darf vervielfältigt, verbreitet und öffentlich zugänglich gemacht werden, vorausgesetzt dass Autor und Quelle genannt werden.


Gliederung

Text

Hintergrund: Die funktionelle Relevanz von retikulären Pseudodrusen (RPD) in der Makula ist bis dato unklar. Ziel dieser Studie ist, mittels multifokaler Elektroretinographie (mfERG) die Auswirkungen von RPD auf die retinale Funktion zu untersuchen.

Methoden: 17 Augen von 13 Patienten mit ausschließlich RPD am hinteren Pol und keiner anderen phänotypischen retinalen Veränderung wie konventionellen Drusen, choroidalen Neovaskularisationen (CNV) oder geographischer Atrophie (GA) wurden eingeschlossen (6 Frauen, 7 Männer; 77.2±5.1 Jahre). Durchgeführt wurden eine Fundusphotographie, eine spectraldomain optische Kohärenztomographie (SD-OCT), eine Fluoreszenzangiographie (FA), sowie Aufnahmen mittels konfokaler Scanning Laserophthalmoskopie (cSLO) (Autofluoreszenz [λ=488 nm], Nahinfrarot [λ=830 nm]) (Spectralis, Heidelberg Engineering, Germany). Die mfERG Untersuchungen erfolgten mit dem RetiPort-Gerät (Roland Consult, Brandenburg, Germany) entsprechend den ISCEV Richtlinien. Amplituden und Latenzen der fokalen retinalen Antworten von Netzhautarealen mit und ohne RPD wurden verglichen.

Ergebnisse: In allen eingeschlossenen Augen ließen sich RPD in der Makula in der SD-OCT, FA und cSLO eindeutig darstellen. Der bestkorrigierte Visus betrug 0.86±0.14. In der mfERG zeigten sich in Bezug auf Latenzen und Amplituden kein signifikanter Unterschied zwischen Netzhautarealen mit und ohne RPD.

Schlussfolgerungen: Anders als bei anderen phänotypischen Merkmalen der AMD, ließen sich mit der mfERG keine eindeutigen Beeinträchtigungen der Aktivität der von RPD betroffenen Netzhautbereiche nachweisen.