gms | German Medical Science

25th Annual Meeting of the German Retina Society

German Retina Society

01.06. - 02.06.2012, Münster

Improved interpretation of fourier domain optical coherence tomography (FD-OCT) using c-scan technique in wet age related macular degeneration (AMD)

Meeting Abstract

  • Christoph Kernstock - Universitäts-Augenklinik Tübingen
  • W. Inhoffen - Universitäts-Augenklinik Tübingen
  • K.U. Bartz-Schmidt - Universitäts-Augenklinik Tübingen

German Retina Society. 25th Annual Conference of the German Retina Society. Münster, 01.-02.06.2012. Düsseldorf: German Medical Science GMS Publishing House; 2012. Doc12rg29

DOI: 10.3205/12rg29, URN: urn:nbn:de:0183-12rg297

This is the translated version of the article.
The original version can be found at: http://www.egms.de/de/meetings/rg2012/12rg29.shtml

Published: May 30, 2012

© 2012 Kernstock et al.
This is an Open Access article distributed under the terms of the Creative Commons Attribution License (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-nd/3.0/deed.en). You are free: to Share – to copy, distribute and transmit the work, provided the original author and source are credited.


Outline

Text

Introduction: New volume mode of the Spectralis-OCT (Heidelberg Engineering, Dossenheim) allows a distance as little as 11 µm between adjacent b-scans. So far, there is no experience regarding interpretation of c-scans that can be acquired using this technique.

Methods: OCT volume scans were acquired in 52 Patients with AMD and choroidal neovascularizations (CNV) with horizontal orientation of the RPE line. Virtual cross-sections through the volume dataset parallel to the retinal layers were reconstructed. Corresponding b-scans were shown separately and compared to the c-scans.

Results: Shadows of retinal vessels showed minimal offset between b-scans, allowing accurate acquisition of volume scans sufficient for c-scan visualization. Three different patterns were observed regarding retinal layers when scrolling through the volume (from inner towards outer retina): a) straight pattern: lines representing retinal layers moving from one side towards the other. b) concave pattern: lines on one side were mirrored on the opposite side and moving towards image center. c) convex pattern: lines running from center outwards. Considering these patterns, vessels of CNV or fibrovascular membranes, drusen and cystic alterations were detectable and could be correlated to other structures in 40/52 patients.

Conclusion: Volume scans with 11 µm lateral resolution provide improved images of pathologies in AMD. The planar visualization improves the assessment of the extent of pathologies in comparison to b-scans. However, interpretation of corresponding b-scans is still necessary to avoid misinterpretations of structures in c-scans.

gms | German Medical Science

25. Jahrestagung der Deutschen Retinologischen Gesellschaft

Deutsche Gesellschaft für Retinologie

01.06. - 02.06.2012, Münster

Fourier Domain Optische Kohärenztomographie (FD-OCT) ermöglicht weitere Fortschritte in der Interpretation von Veränderungen bei feuchter altersbedingter Makuladegeneration (AMD) mittels C-Scan Darstellung

Kongressabstract

  • Christoph Kernstock - Universitäts-Augenklinik Tübingen
  • W. Inhoffen - Universitäts-Augenklinik Tübingen
  • K.U. Bartz-Schmidt - Universitäts-Augenklinik Tübingen

Retinologische Gesellschaft. 25. Jahrestagung der Retinologischen Gesellschaft. Münster, 01.-02.06.2012. Düsseldorf: German Medical Science GMS Publishing House; 2012. Doc12rg29

doi: 10.3205/12rg29, urn:nbn:de:0183-12rg297

Dieses ist die Originalversion des Artikels.
Die übersetzte Version finden Sie unter: http://www.egms.de/en/meetings/rg2012/12rg29.shtml

Veröffentlicht: 30. Mai 2012

© 2012 Kernstock et al.
Dieser Artikel ist ein Open Access-Artikel und steht unter den Creative Commons Lizenzbedingungen (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-nd/3.0/deed.de). Er darf vervielfältigt, verbreitet und öffentlich zugänglich gemacht werden, vorausgesetzt dass Autor und Quelle genannt werden.


Gliederung

Text

Einführung: Im Volume Modus des Spectralis-OCT (Heidelberg Engineering, Dossenheim) kann der Abstand der einzelnen Scans bis auf 11µm verringert werden. Bislang liegen noch keine Erfahrungen bezüglich der Interpretation der damit erzielbaren C-Scans vor.

Methoden: Bei 52 AMD-Patienten mit choroidaler Neovaskularisationsmembran (CNV) wurden OCT-Volumenscans mit horizontal ausgerichteter Pigmentepithellinie erstellt. Das jeweils korrespondierende B-Bild wurde separat dargestellt. Der Volumendatensatz wurde schichtweise „von oben herab“, d.h. von der inneren Netzhaut in Richtung Pigmentepithel, durchgeblättert und die C-Scans daraus rekonstruiert. Die Befunde im B-Bild und C-Bild wurden anschließend miteinander verglichen.

Ergebnisse: Einzelne Gefässreflexe waren nur minimal versetzt, d.h. die Genauigkeit der B-Scan Ausrichtung mittels Eyetracker ist hinreichend genau für die Aquisition von C-Scans. Es wurden 3 Situationen bezüglich des Verlaufes der RPE Schicht im B-Bild unterschieden und die Phänomene beim schichtweisen Durchblättern der C-Scan Ebenen beobachtet: a) Gerader Verlauf, eine Seite tiefer: Hierbei wanderten die Linien von BM/RPE, IsOs, ELM und IPL zur Seite, b) konkaver Verlauf: Die Linien waren rechts spiegelbildlich zu links und wanderten auf die Mitte hin, c) konvexer Verlauf: Die Linien wanderten von der Mitte nach aussen weg. Unter Berücksichtigung dieser Regeln ließen sich bei 40/52 Patienten CNV- oder fibrovaskuläre Membranstrukturen, Drusenformationen, Anastomosen und Zystenformationen detektieren, flächig darstellen und anderen Leitstrukturen zuordnen.

Schlussfolgerungen: Die Spectralis Volume Scan Technik in 11 µm Lateralauflösung liefert erstmals in der Aussagefähigkeit verbesserte Bilder von AMD-Pathologien. Durch die flächige Darstellung der Pathologien ist ein besserer Überblick als im B-Bild möglich. Andererseits ist die B-Bild Darstellung der gleichen Scans dennoch notwendig, um Fehlinterpretationen im C-Bild zu vermeiden.