gms | German Medical Science

25th Annual Meeting of the German Retina Society

German Retina Society

01.06. - 02.06.2012, Münster

Activation of the NALP3 inflammasome induced by lipofuscin phototoxicity and lysosomale membrane permeabilisation in the RPE

Meeting Abstract

  • Tim U. Krohne - Universitäts-Augenklinik Bonn
  • C. Brandstetter - Universitäts-Augenklinik Bonn
  • J. Kopitz - Pathologisches Institut, Universität Heidelberg
  • E. Latz - Institut für Angeborene Immunität, Universität Bonn
  • F.G. Holz - Universitäts-Augenklinik Bonn

German Retina Society. 25th Annual Conference of the German Retina Society. Münster, 01.-02.06.2012. Düsseldorf: German Medical Science GMS Publishing House; 2012. Doc12rg27

DOI: 10.3205/12rg27, URN: urn:nbn:de:0183-12rg278

This is the translated version of the article.
The original version can be found at: http://www.egms.de/de/meetings/rg2012/12rg27.shtml

Published: May 30, 2012

© 2012 Krohne et al.
This is an Open Access article distributed under the terms of the Creative Commons Attribution License (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-nd/3.0/deed.en). You are free: to Share – to copy, distribute and transmit the work, provided the original author and source are credited.


Outline

Text

Purpose: Both phototoxic effects of lipofuscin and local inflammation in the sub-RPE space have been implicated in the progressive dysfunction and degeneration of the retinal pigment epithelium (RPE) in age-related macular degeneration (AMD). To identify a common molecular mechanism of these two phenomena we investigated the phototoxic effects of lipofuscin on lysosomal membrane stability and activity of the NALP3 inflammasome in the RPE.

Methods: Photoreceptor outer segments (POS) were modified with the lipid peroxidation products 4-hydroxynonenal (HNE) or malondialdehyde (MDA), and confluent monolayers oft the human RPE cell line ARPE-19 were incubated with the modified POS. Effects of an irradiation of the cells with blue light (wave length 455–460 nm; irradiance 0.8 mW/cm²) on lysosomal membrane permeability and cellular viability were analyzed. Activation of the NALP3 inflammasome after priming with IL-1β was measured by means of IL-1β secretion.

Results: Phagocytosis of HNE- and MDA-modified POS induced pronounced lipofuscinogenesis, and subsequent irradiation with blue light for 9 h reduced cellular viability to 17%. In contrast, control cells incubated with unmodified POS were unaffected by irradiation (viability 97%). Cytotoxicity was mediated by apoptosis. After blue light irradiation we detected a dose-dependent permeabilization of lysosomal membranes that was associated with activation of the NALP3 inflammasome and release of IL-1β Specific inhibition of caspase-1 prevented IL-1β secretion.

Conclusion: Lipofuscinogenesis induced by lipid peroxidation products renders the RPE susceptible for phototoxic destabilization of lysosomes and apoptotic cell death. Lysosomal membrane permeabilization results in activation of the NALP3 inflammasome and secretion of inflammatory cytokines. Via these mechanisms lipofuscin accumulation in the RPE may contribute to local inflammation in AMD.

gms | German Medical Science

25. Jahrestagung der Deutschen Retinologischen Gesellschaft

Deutsche Gesellschaft für Retinologie

01.06. - 02.06.2012, Münster

Aktivierung des NALP3-Inflammasoms durch Lipofuszin-Phototoxizität und lysosomale Membranpermeabilisierung im RPE

Kongressabstract

  • Tim U. Krohne - Universitäts-Augenklinik Bonn
  • C. Brandstetter - Universitäts-Augenklinik Bonn
  • J. Kopitz - Pathologisches Institut, Universität Heidelberg
  • E. Latz - Institut für Angeborene Immunität, Universität Bonn
  • F.G. Holz - Universitäts-Augenklinik Bonn

Retinologische Gesellschaft. 25. Jahrestagung der Retinologischen Gesellschaft. Münster, 01.-02.06.2012. Düsseldorf: German Medical Science GMS Publishing House; 2012. Doc12rg27

DOI: 10.3205/12rg27, URN: urn:nbn:de:0183-12rg278

Dieses ist die Originalversion des Artikels.
Die übersetzte Version finden Sie unter: http://www.egms.de/en/meetings/rg2012/12rg27.shtml

Veröffentlicht: 30. Mai 2012

© 2012 Krohne et al.
Dieser Artikel ist ein Open Access-Artikel und steht unter den Creative Commons Lizenzbedingungen (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-nd/3.0/deed.de). Er darf vervielfältigt, verbreitet und öffentlich zugänglich gemacht werden, vorausgesetzt dass Autor und Quelle genannt werden.


Gliederung

Text

Hintergrund: Sowohl phototoxische Effekte des Lipofuszins, als auch lokale Entzündungsprozesse im Sub-RPE-Raum werden mit der progressiven Dysfunktion und Degeneration des retinalen Pigmentepithels (RPE) im Rahmen der altersabhängigen Makuladegeneration (AMD) in Verbindung gebracht. Um einen gemeinsamen molekularen Mechanismus dieser beiden Phänomene zu identifizieren, untersuchten wir phototoxischen Effekte von Lipofuszin auf lysosomale Membranstabilität und Aktivität des NALP3-Inflammasoms im RPE.

Methoden: Photorezeptoraußensegmente (POS) wurden mit den Lipidperoxidationsprodukten 4-Hydroxynonenal (HNE) oder Malondialdehyd (MDA) modifiziert und konfluente Monolayer der humanen RPE-Zelllinie ARPE-19 mit den modizifierten POS inkubiert. Effekte einer Bestrahlung dieser Zellen mit Blaulicht (Wellenlänge 455–460 nm; Bestrahlungsstärke 0,8 mW/cm2) auf lysosomale Membranpermeabilität und Zellviabilität wurden untersucht. Die Aktivierung des NALP3-Inflammasoms nach Priming mit IL-1α wurde anhand der Sekretion von IL-1β gemessen.

Ergebnisse: Phagozytose von HNE- und MDA-modifizierten POS induzierte eine ausgeprägte Lipofuszinogenese, und anschließende Bestrahlung mit Blaulicht für 9 h reduzierte die Zellviabilität auf 17%. Im Gegensatz dazu blieben mit unmodifizierten POS inkubierte Kontrollzellen von der Bestrahlung unbeeinflusst (97% Zellviabilität). Die Zytotoxizität wurde durch Apoptose vermittelt. Nach Blaulichtbestrahlung ließ sich eine dosisabhängige Permeabilisierung der lysosomalen Membranen nachweisen, die mit einer Aktivierung des NALP3-Inflammasoms und einer Freisetzung von IL-1β assoziiert war. Spezifische Hemmung der Caspase-1 unterdrückt die IL-1β-Sekretion.

Schlussfolgerungen: Die durch Lipidperoxidationsprodukte induzierte Lipofuszinogenese macht das RPE anfällig für eine phototoxische Destabilisierung der Lysosomen und apoptotischen Zelltod. Die lysosomale Membranpermeabilisierung führt zur Aktivierung des NALP3-Inflammasoms und zur Sekretion pro-inflammatorischer Zytokine. Über diese Mechanismen kann die Lipofuszinakkumulation im RPE zu lokalen Entzündungsprozessen bei AMD beitragen.