gms | German Medical Science

25th Annual Meeting of the German Retina Society

German Retina Society

01.06. - 02.06.2012, Münster

Reactions of RPE cells after stimulation with complement or with C5a only

Meeting Abstract

  • Susanne Wasmuth - Ophtha-Lab der Augenabteilung am Sankt Franziskus Hospital, Münster
  • K. Lueck - Cell Biology, Department of Ophthalmology, UCL, London, UK
  • M. Busch - Ophtha-Lab der Augenabteilung am Sankt Franziskus Hospital, Münster
  • A. Lommatzsch - Augenabteilung am Sankt Franziskus Hospital, Münster
  • D. Pauleikhoff - Augenabteilung am Sankt Franziskus Hospital, Münster

German Retina Society. 25th Annual Conference of the German Retina Society. Münster, 01.-02.06.2012. Düsseldorf: German Medical Science GMS Publishing House; 2012. Doc12rg26

DOI: 10.3205/12rg26, URN: urn:nbn:de:0183-12rg264

This is the translated version of the article.
The original version can be found at: http://www.egms.de/de/meetings/rg2012/12rg26.shtml

Published: May 30, 2012

© 2012 Wasmuth et al.
This is an Open Access article distributed under the terms of the Creative Commons Attribution License (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-nd/3.0/deed.en). You are free: to Share – to copy, distribute and transmit the work, provided the original author and source are credited.


Outline

Text

Background: Enhanced complement activation may support pathologic processes underlying AMD. Further, retinal pigment epithelial (RPE)-cells are impaired. Therefore the effects of fully activated complement and isolated C5a on RPE cells were examined in this study.

Methods: Confluent ARPE-19 cells as model for RPE were incubated with increasing concentrations of human complement serum (HCS) or recombinant C5a. C5b-9 as terminal complement complex was stained by immunocytochemistry. Development of reactive oxygen species (ROS) was determined by a nitroblue tetrazolium assay. ELISA was used to quantify vascular endothelial growth factor (VEGF) in cell culture supernatants. Experiments were also performed with polarised cells grown on transwell inserts.

Results: Strong staining for C5b-9 was detected after low amounts of HCS but was not observed in C5a-treated cells. Incubation with HCS clearly increased the amount of ROS while C5a caused only a small rise. C5a only induced minor changes in the VEGF production whereas HCS generated a strong increase. VEGF was mainly secreted towards the basal side. The effects of HCS were seen after 24 hours, prolonged time of incubation could not provoke stronger changes due to C5a.

Conclusions: C5a was previously reported to enhance the cytokine secretion of subconfluent ARPE-19 cells. In this study ARPE-19 cells appear to be relatively resistant against C5a while HCS induced clear effects. The effect of C5a may also be more transient. For new therapeutic interventions in AMD the inhibition of the complete complement cascade may be more efficient than the inhibition of single emerging components.

gms | German Medical Science

25. Jahrestagung der Deutschen Retinologischen Gesellschaft

Deutsche Gesellschaft für Retinologie

01.06. - 02.06.2012, Münster

Reaktionen von RPE Zellen nach Komplementstimulation und nach Stimulation mit C5a

Kongressabstract

  • Susanne Wasmuth - Ophtha-Lab der Augenabteilung am Sankt Franziskus Hospital, Münster
  • K. Lueck - Cell Biology, Department of Ophthalmology, UCL, London, UK
  • M. Busch - Ophtha-Lab der Augenabteilung am Sankt Franziskus Hospital, Münster
  • A. Lommatzsch - Augenabteilung am Sankt Franziskus Hospital, Münster
  • D. Pauleikhoff - Augenabteilung am Sankt Franziskus Hospital, Münster

Retinologische Gesellschaft. 25. Jahrestagung der Retinologischen Gesellschaft. Münster, 01.-02.06.2012. Düsseldorf: German Medical Science GMS Publishing House; 2012. Doc12rg26

doi: 10.3205/12rg26, urn:nbn:de:0183-12rg264

Dieses ist die Originalversion des Artikels.
Die übersetzte Version finden Sie unter: http://www.egms.de/en/meetings/rg2012/12rg26.shtml

Veröffentlicht: 30. Mai 2012

© 2012 Wasmuth et al.
Dieser Artikel ist ein Open Access-Artikel und steht unter den Creative Commons Lizenzbedingungen (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-nd/3.0/deed.de). Er darf vervielfältigt, verbreitet und öffentlich zugänglich gemacht werden, vorausgesetzt dass Autor und Quelle genannt werden.


Gliederung

Text

Hintergrund: Eine erhöhte Komplementaktivierung kann zu den pathologischen Prozessen bei der AMD beitragen, bei der auch retinale Pigmentepithel (RPE)-Zellen absterben. In dieser Studie wurden RPE-Zellen nach der Inkubation mit voll aktiviertem Komplement und nach der Inkubation mit der isolierten Komplementkomponente C5a untersucht.

Methoden: Konfluente ARPE-19 Zellen als RPE-Zellmodell wurden mit ansteigenden Konzentrationen an humanem Komplementserum (HKS) oder rekombinantem C5a inkubiert. C5b-9 als Endprodukt der Komplementkaskade wurde per Immunzytochemie untersucht. Mit einem Nitroblau Tetrazolium Test wurde die Entstehung von reaktiven Sauerstoffspezies (ROS) ermittelt. Ein ELISA quantifizierte den Gehalt an Gefäßwachstumsfaktor (VEGF) in Zellkulturüberständen. Teilweise wurden die Experimente an polarisierten Zellen in Transwelleinsätzen durchgeführt.

Ergebnisse: C5b-9 konnte bereits durch geringe Mengen an HKS nachgewiesen werden, nicht aber durch C5a. HKS rief einen deutlichen Anstieg an ROS hervor, während die ROS durch C5a nur leicht zunahmen. Die VEGF-Sekretion wurde durch C5a nicht stark verändert, aber durch HKS deutlich vermehrt. VEGF wurde dabei bevorzugt zur basalen Seite abgegeben. Die Effekte durch HKS waren bereits nach 24 Stunden messbar, während die leichten Veränderungen durch C5a auch durch verlängerte Inkubationszeiten nicht verstärkt werden konnten.

Schlussfolgerungen: Auch wenn C5a die Zytokinsekretion von subkonfluenten ARPE-19 anregt, wurde hier nur ein geringer Einfluss von C5a auf die RPE-Zellen nachgewiesen. Dagegen führte HKS nach kurzer Zeit zu deutlichen Veränderungen. Möglicherweise sind ARPE-19 Zellen relativ resistent gegen die Wirkung von C5a, oder der Einfluss von C5a ist eher flüchtig. Als neuartiger therapeutischer Ansatz bei AMD könnte daher die Hemmung der kompletten Komplementkaskade effektiver sein als die Hemmung einzelner freiwerdender Komponenten.