gms | German Medical Science

25th Annual Meeting of the German Retina Society

German Retina Society

01.06. - 02.06.2012, Münster

Comparison of episcleral plaque therapy and proton beam radiation therapy for the treatment of choroidal melanoma – a long-term follow-up

Meeting Abstract

  • Antonia M. Joussen - Augenklinik der Charité Berlin
  • D. Cordini - Klinik für Strahlentherapie, Helmholzzentrum Berlin
  • G. Willerding - Augenklinik der Charité Berlin
  • J. Heufelder - Augenklinik der Charité Berlin
  • N. Lakotka - Augenklinik der Charité Berlin
  • A.I. Riechardt - Augenklinik der Charité Berlin
  • L. Moser - Klinik für Strahlentherapie, Helmholzzentrum Berlin

German Retina Society. 25th Annual Conference of the German Retina Society. Münster, 01.-02.06.2012. Düsseldorf: German Medical Science GMS Publishing House; 2012. Doc12rg22

doi: 10.3205/12rg22, urn:nbn:de:0183-12rg228

This is the translated version of the article.
The original version can be found at: http://www.egms.de/de/meetings/rg2012/12rg22.shtml

Published: May 30, 2012

© 2012 Joussen et al.
This is an Open Access article distributed under the terms of the Creative Commons Attribution License (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-nd/3.0/deed.en). You are free: to Share – to copy, distribute and transmit the work, provided the original author and source are credited.


Outline

Text

Purpose: to compare the efficacy of episcleral plaque therapy with ruthenium-106 (Ru-106) and proton beam radiation therapy (PBRT) in the treatment of choroidal melanoma.

Design and methods: A retrospective, nonrandomized follow-up of patients with choroidal melanoma. Melanomas with a tumor to disc and tumor to macular distance of more than 2 mm without previous treatment and a minimal follow-up of 5 yrs were included. Average tumor thickness in the PRBT group (n=62) was 8.4 mm, base 13.1 mm, fovea tumor distance 3.9 mm, disc tumor distance 5.5 mm. In the plaque group (n=266) the average tumor thickness was 4.2 mm with a tumor base of 11.2 mm. The tumor disc distance was 8.2 mm, the fovea tumor distance was 7.8 mm.

Results: Both groups were equal regarding age and predisposing disease. In general larger and more posteriorly located tumors were treated by PRBT. There was no planned consecutive treatment in the plaque radiation group. 71% of the PBRT group received endoresection or transscleral resection of the tumor. Only 18 patients in the PBRT group did not require additional surgery and were considered as a separate group. Average survical rate was 93.7% in the plaque group and 96.1% in the PRBT group after 5 years (p>0.05). Similarly, there was no difference in the rate of enucleation (PBRT 1.7% vs. plaque 1.2%). Only the rate of metastasis was significantly higher in the PBRT group (PBRT 8.2% vs. Ru-106 5.9%). This difference was not present in the PBRT group without further surgery.

Discussion: This comparison of patients with consecutively treated tumors demonstrates the effectiveness of proton beam irradiation to control tumor growth and preservation of the globe. Proton beam is equivalent to plaque irradiation with respect to survical even in larger tumors. This study however demonstrates a higher rate of metastesis in larger tumors and the need for consecutive surgery to maintain the eye.

gms | German Medical Science

25. Jahrestagung der Deutschen Retinologischen Gesellschaft

Deutsche Gesellschaft für Retinologie

01.06. - 02.06.2012, Münster

Vergleich der episkleralen Brachytherapie und Protonentherapie in der Behandlung des malignen Aderhautmelanoms – Eine Langzeitbeobachtung

Kongressabstract

  • Antonia M. Joussen - Augenklinik der Charité Berlin
  • D. Cordini - Klinik für Strahlentherapie, Helmholzzentrum Berlin
  • G. Willerding - Augenklinik der Charité Berlin
  • J. Heufelder - Augenklinik der Charité Berlin
  • N. Lakotka - Augenklinik der Charité Berlin
  • A.I. Riechardt - Augenklinik der Charité Berlin
  • L. Moser - Klinik für Strahlentherapie, Helmholzzentrum Berlin

Retinologische Gesellschaft. 25. Jahrestagung der Retinologischen Gesellschaft. Münster, 01.-02.06.2012. Düsseldorf: German Medical Science GMS Publishing House; 2012. Doc12rg22

doi: 10.3205/12rg22, urn:nbn:de:0183-12rg228

Dieses ist die Originalversion des Artikels.
Die übersetzte Version finden Sie unter: http://www.egms.de/en/meetings/rg2012/12rg22.shtml

Veröffentlicht: 30. Mai 2012

© 2012 Joussen et al.
Dieser Artikel ist ein Open Access-Artikel und steht unter den Creative Commons Lizenzbedingungen (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-nd/3.0/deed.de). Er darf vervielfältigt, verbreitet und öffentlich zugänglich gemacht werden, vorausgesetzt dass Autor und Quelle genannt werden.


Gliederung

Text

Ziel: Vergleich der Effektivität der Brachytherapie mittels 106-Ruthenium Applikatoren (Ru-106) mit der Protonentherapie (PBRT – proton beam radiation therapy) bei der Behandlung von Aderhautmelanomen.

Patienten und Methodik: Eine Retrospektive, nicht randomisierte Studie bei Patienten mit Aderhautmelanomen (Tumor-Papillen- und Tumor-Makula-Abstand >2 mm, minimale Nachbeobachtungszeit 5 Jahre). Die durchschnittliche Tumorprominenz in der Protonengruppe (Tumordosis 60 CGE=54,5 Gy, 4 Fraktionen) betrug 8,4 mm, Basislänge 13,1 mm, Foveaabstand 3,9 mm, Papillenabstand 5,5 mm. In der Brachytherapiegruppe (Tumorspitzendosis 122–170 Gy, durchschnittliche Liegezeit 5,2 Tage) betrug die Tumorprominenz 4,2 mm, Basislänge 11,2 mm, Foveaabstand 8,2 mm, Papillenabstand 7,8 mm.

Ergebnisse: Beide Gruppen waren gleich in Hinblick auf Alter und Vorerkrankungen. In der Regel wurden die größeren und weiter posterior gelegenen Tumoren mit Protonen therapiert. In 71% dieser Patienten war eine Endoresektion oder transsklerale Resektion geplant. In der Applikatorgruppe wurden keine Folgetherapien durchgeführt. Die 18 Patienten der Protonengruppe, die keine konsekutive Therapie erhielten, wurden separat ausgewertet. Die durchschnittliche Überlebensrate betrug nach 5 Jahren 93,7% in der Applikatorgruppe und 96.1% in der Protonengruppe (p>0,05). Ebenso bestand kein Unterschied in der Rate der Enukleationen (PBRT 1,7% vs. Applikator 1,2%). Lediglich die Rate der Metastasen war signifikant höher in der PBRT Gruppe (PBRT 8,2% vs. Ruthenium 5,9%). In der Protonengruppe ohne adjuvant durchgeführte Resektion konnte dieser Unterschied nicht festgestellt werden.

Diskussion: Dieser Vergleich von konsekutiv behandelten Tumoren zeigt die Effektivität der Protonentherapie in der Tumorkontrolle und beim Erhalt des Auges. Selbst bei großen Tumoren ist eine Protonentherapie der Brachytherapie im Hinblick auf das Überleben äquivalent, die höhere Metastaserate ist durch die Tumorgröße zu erklären, ebenso wie die höhere Anzahl konsekutiver Operationen.