gms | German Medical Science

25th Annual Meeting of the German Retina Society

German Retina Society

01.06. - 02.06.2012, Münster

Patients with unilateral retinoblastoma: who develops a tumor in the other eye?

Meeting Abstract

Search Medline for

  • Petra Temming - Klinische Forschergruppe “Ophthalmologische Onkologie und Genetik”, Universität Duisburg-Essen; Klinik für Kinderheilkunde III, Universitätsklinikum Essen
  • N. Bornfeld - Klinische Forschergruppe “Ophthalmologische Onkologie und Genetik”, Universität Duisburg-Essen; Universitäts-Augenklinik Essen
  • D. Lohmann - Klinische Forschergruppe “Ophthalmologische Onkologie und Genetik”, Universität Duisburg-Essen; Institut für Humangenetik, Universität Duisburg-Essen

German Retina Society. 25th Annual Conference of the German Retina Society. Münster, 01.-02.06.2012. Düsseldorf: German Medical Science GMS Publishing House; 2012. Doc12rg20

DOI: 10.3205/12rg20, URN: urn:nbn:de:0183-12rg202

This is the translated version of the article.
The original version can be found at: http://www.egms.de/de/meetings/rg2012/12rg20.shtml

Published: May 30, 2012

© 2012 Temming et al.
This is an Open Access article distributed under the terms of the Creative Commons Attribution License (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-nd/3.0/deed.en). You are free: to Share – to copy, distribute and transmit the work, provided the original author and source are credited.


Outline

Text

Background: Some children with the diagnosis of unilateral retinoblastoma later develop a retinoblastoma in the contralateral eye. It is important to recognize these metachronous tumors early to preserve eyes and vision with the adequate treatment and follow-up.

Methods: Clinical and genetic data of 417 children with initial diagnosis of a sporadic unilateral retinoblastoma and ophthalmological follow-up examinations until age 5 years were retrospectively analyzed to identify risk factors for the development of metachronous retinoblastoma.

Result: 21/417 children (5.0%) with unilateral retinoblastoma later developed a bilateral retinoblastoma. The tumor in the second eye was diagnosed at a median of age 1.6 years (range 0.32–16 years). In 20/21 children, the latent period from initial diagnosis to detection of the tumor in the second eye was <2.3 years. The genetic cause of tumor development was clarified in 246 children: 52 carried a RB1 mutation in blood DNA and 194 children showed two oncogenic mutations in tumor with normal RB1 alleles in blood DNA. All 14/246 (5.7%) children with metachronous bilateral retinoblastoma carried a heterozygous RB1 germline mutation. For children with germline mutation and unilateral retinoblastoma, the risk to develop metachronous retinoblastoma is inversely related to age at diagnosis.

Conclusion: The overall risk for children with germline RB1 mutation to develop a tumor in the other eye is estimated at 26.9% (14/52). Children without a mutation in blood DNA carry a very low risk for bilateral retinoblastoma (0/194). Early genetic analysis may identify those children at risk and guide treatment decisions and frequency of follow-up examinations.

gms | German Medical Science

25. Jahrestagung der Deutschen Retinologischen Gesellschaft

Deutsche Gesellschaft für Retinologie

01.06. - 02.06.2012, Münster

Patienten mit unilateralem Retinoblastom: Wer entwickelt einen Tumor im kontralateralen Auge?

Kongressabstract

Suche in Medline nach

  • Petra Temming - Klinische Forschergruppe “Ophthalmologische Onkologie und Genetik”, Universität Duisburg-Essen; Klinik für Kinderheilkunde III, Universitätsklinikum Essen
  • N. Bornfeld - Klinische Forschergruppe “Ophthalmologische Onkologie und Genetik”, Universität Duisburg-Essen; Universitäts-Augenklinik Essen
  • D. Lohmann - Klinische Forschergruppe “Ophthalmologische Onkologie und Genetik”, Universität Duisburg-Essen; Institut für Humangenetik, Universität Duisburg-Essen

Retinologische Gesellschaft. 25. Jahrestagung der Retinologischen Gesellschaft. Münster, 01.-02.06.2012. Düsseldorf: German Medical Science GMS Publishing House; 2012. Doc12rg20

DOI: 10.3205/12rg20, URN: urn:nbn:de:0183-12rg202

Dieses ist die Originalversion des Artikels.
Die übersetzte Version finden Sie unter: http://www.egms.de/en/meetings/rg2012/12rg20.shtml

Veröffentlicht: 30. Mai 2012

© 2012 Temming et al.
Dieser Artikel ist ein Open Access-Artikel und steht unter den Creative Commons Lizenzbedingungen (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-nd/3.0/deed.de). Er darf vervielfältigt, verbreitet und öffentlich zugänglich gemacht werden, vorausgesetzt dass Autor und Quelle genannt werden.


Gliederung

Text

Hintergrund: Kinder mit Erstdiagnose eines unilateralen sporadischen Retinoblastoms können später Tumore im kontralateralen Auge entwickeln. Die Früherkennung dieser metachronen bilateralen Retinoblastome und eine entsprechende Behandlung können den Erhalt des Auges und des Sehvermögens verbessern.

Methoden: Zur Identifikation von Risikofaktoren für die Entstehung eines metachronen Retinoblastoms wurden klinische und genetische Daten von 417 Kindern mit Diagnose eines sporadischen unilateralen Retinoblastoms und ophthalmologischen Nachsorgeuntersuchungen bis zum 5. Lebensjahr retrospektiv analysiert.

Ergebnisse: 21 von 417 Kinder (5,0%) mit unilateralem Retinoblastom entwickelten später ein bilaterales Retinoblastom. Der Tumor im kontralateralen Auge wurde im Median mit 1,6 Jahren (Spannweite 0,32–16 Jahre) diagnostiziert. Bei 20 von 21 Kindern lag das Latenzintervall bei <2,3 Jahren. Die genetische Ursache der Tumorentstehung konnte bei 246 Kindern identifiziert werden: 52 Patienten mit heterozygoter RB1 Mutation in Blut DNA und 194 mit zwei onkogenen Mutationen im Tumor und normalen RB1 Allelen in Blut DNA. Alle 14/246 (5,7%) Kinder mit bilateral gewordenen Retinoblastom wiesen eine heterozygote RB1 Mutation auf. Bei Kindern mit Keimbahnmutation und Diagnose eines unilateralen Retinoblastoms verhält sich das Risiko für die Entwicklung eines bilateralen Retinoblastoms invers zum Erstdiagnosealter, so entwickelten 8 von 15 Kindern (53%) mit einem frühen Diagnosealter (≤0,5 Jahren) eine bilaterale Erkrankung.

Schlussfolgerungen: Das Risiko einen Tumor im kontralateralen Auge zu entwickeln liegt für Kinder mit unilateralem Retinoblastom und Keimbahnmutation bei 26,9% (14/52). Kinder ohne Nachweis der bekannten RB1 Mutation im Blut hingegen haben ein deutlich niedrigeres Risiko (0/194). Eine frühe genetische Analyse könnte diese Kinder identifizieren, um Behandlungsstrategien und die Intensität der Nachsorge anzupassen.