gms | German Medical Science

25th Annual Meeting of the German Retina Society

German Retina Society

01.06. - 02.06.2012, Münster

Sleeping Beauty-mediated transposition as safe and efficient methodology for stable non-viral gene transfer

Meeting Abstract

Search Medline for

  • Sandra Johnen - Universitäts-Augenklinik, Aachen
  • G. Thumann - Universitäts-Augenklinik, Aachen

German Retina Society. 25th Annual Conference of the German Retina Society. Münster, 01.-02.06.2012. Düsseldorf: German Medical Science GMS Publishing House; 2012. Doc12rg19

DOI: 10.3205/12rg19, URN: urn:nbn:de:0183-12rg192

This is the translated version of the article.
The original version can be found at: http://www.egms.de/de/meetings/rg2012/12rg19.shtml

Published: May 30, 2012

© 2012 Johnen et al.
This is an Open Access article distributed under the terms of the Creative Commons Attribution License (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-nd/3.0/deed.en). You are free: to Share – to copy, distribute and transmit the work, provided the original author and source are credited.


Outline

Text

Purpose: Efficient delivery of a therapeutic gene into adequate target cells, its long-term expression, and a minimum of side effects are important parameters for an effective gene therapeutic approach. The Sleeping Beauty transposon system (SB100X) meets this criteria and has been shown to provide stable gene transfer in different primary cell types. In the case of neovascular AMD, which is characterized by an imbalance of the pro-vascular VEGF and the anti-angiogenic PEDF, we postulate that vision improvement requires the inhibition of neovascularization by higher levels of PEDF. We have developed a protocol for the subretinal transplantation of primary pigment epithelial cells stably transfected with the PEDF gene using SB100X.

Methods: Pigment epithelial cells were electroporated with two plasmids encoding the SB100X transposase gene and the PEDF gene, respectively. Stability of PEDF expression and its genomic integration were determined by RT-PCR. Consistency of PEDF secretion was analyzed by immunoblotting.

Results: Efficient transposition of 10,000 cells was demonstrated in 5 independent experiments per cell type. The PEDF transgene was integrated into the cell’s genome and recombinant PEDF was continuously secreted for longer than one year.

Conclusions: SB100X ensures stable integration and sustained expression of the PEDF gene in primary pigment epithelial cells. The next steps to improve this protocol will comprise the use of mRNA to avoid the possible genomic integration of the SB100X transposase gene, the targeted insertion of the PEDF transgene into genomic “safe harbors”, and the establishment of autologous cell isolation, transfection and subretinal transplantation during one surgical session.

gms | German Medical Science

25. Jahrestagung der Deutschen Retinologischen Gesellschaft

Deutsche Gesellschaft für Retinologie

01.06. - 02.06.2012, Münster

Sleeping Beauty Vermittelte Transposition als Sichere und Effiziente Methode für den Stabilen Nicht-Viralen Gentransfer

Kongressabstract

Suche in Medline nach

  • Sandra Johnen - Universitäts-Augenklinik, Aachen
  • G. Thumann - Universitäts-Augenklinik, Aachen

Retinologische Gesellschaft. 25. Jahrestagung der Retinologischen Gesellschaft. Münster, 01.-02.06.2012. Düsseldorf: German Medical Science GMS Publishing House; 2012. Doc12rg19

DOI: 10.3205/12rg19, URN: urn:nbn:de:0183-12rg192

Dieses ist die Originalversion des Artikels.
Die übersetzte Version finden Sie unter: http://www.egms.de/en/meetings/rg2012/12rg19.shtml

Veröffentlicht: 30. Mai 2012

© 2012 Johnen et al.
Dieser Artikel ist ein Open Access-Artikel und steht unter den Creative Commons Lizenzbedingungen (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-nd/3.0/deed.de). Er darf vervielfältigt, verbreitet und öffentlich zugänglich gemacht werden, vorausgesetzt dass Autor und Quelle genannt werden.


Gliederung

Text

Hintergrund: Wichtige Parameter für einen erfolgreichen gentherapeutischen Ansatz sind das effiziente Einbringen des therapeutischen Gens in die entsprechenden Zellen, dessen langanhaltende Expression sowie die Minimierung von möglichen Nebeneffekten. Das Sleeping Beauty Transposon System (SB100X) erfüllt die genannten Kriterien und erlaubt den stabilen Gentransfer in verschiedene Primärzelltypen. Wir postulieren, dass im Fall der neovaskulären AMD, die durch ein Ungleichgewicht des provaskulären VEGF und des antiangiogenen PEDF gekennzeichnet ist, die Neovaskularisation durch einen erhöhten PEDF Spiegel gehemmt und dadurch die Sehkraft verbessert werden kann. Wir haben ein Protokoll entwickelt, das die SB100X-vermittelte, stabile Transfektion von primären Pigmentepithelzellen mit dem PEDF Gen und deren subretinale Transplantation umfasst.

Methoden: Pigmentepithelzellen wurden mit zwei Plasmiden, die für das SB100X Transposase Gen bzw. das PEDF Gen kodieren, elektroporiert. Die Stabilität der PEDF Expression sowie dessen genomische Integration wurden mittels RT-PCR analysiert. Die kontinuierliche PEDF Sezernierung wurde durch Immunoblots nachgewiesen.

Ergebnisse: Die effiziente Transposition von 10.000 Zellen wurde in 5 unabhängigen Experimenten pro Zelltyp nachgewiesen. Das PEDF Transgen wurde ins Genom der Zielzellen integriert und rekombinantes PEDF wurde kontinuierlich über einen Zeitraum von länger als einem Jahr sezerniert.

Schlussfolgerungen: SB100X ermöglicht die stabile Integration und langanhaltende Expression des PEDF Gens in primären Pigmentepithelzellen. Die nachfolgenden Schritte zur Optimierung dieses Protokolls umfassen den Einsatz von mRNA, um eine mögliche genomische Integration des SB100X Transposase Gens auszuschließen, die gerichtete Integration des PEDF Transgens in nicht-kodierende Abschnitte des Genoms sowie die Etablierung der autologen Zellisolation, Transfektion und subretinalen Transplantation während einer einzigen Operationssitzung.