gms | German Medical Science

25th Annual Meeting of the German Retina Society

German Retina Society

01.06. - 02.06.2012, Münster

Structure-function correlation in macular telangiectasia type 2: a longitudinal study

Meeting Abstract

  • Frank G. Holz - Universitäts-Augenklinik Bonn
  • T. Heeren - Universitäts-Augenklinik Bonn
  • S. Baumüller - Universitäts-Augenklinik Bonn
  • T. Clemons - The EMMES Corporation, Rockville, USA
  • P. Charbel Issa - Universitäts-Augenklinik Bonn

German Retina Society. 25th Annual Conference of the German Retina Society. Münster, 01.-02.06.2012. Düsseldorf: German Medical Science GMS Publishing House; 2012. Doc12rg17

DOI: 10.3205/12rg17, URN: urn:nbn:de:0183-12rg173

This is the translated version of the article.
The original version can be found at: http://www.egms.de/de/meetings/rg2012/12rg17.shtml

Published: May 30, 2012

© 2012 Holz et al.
This is an Open Access article distributed under the terms of the Creative Commons Attribution License (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-nd/3.0/deed.en). You are free: to Share – to copy, distribute and transmit the work, provided the original author and source are credited.


Outline

Text

Purpose: Recent findings indicate that besides the vascular changes a neurodegenerative process contributes to the pathogenesis of macular telangiektasia type 2 with paracentral scotomata in presence of preserved central visual acuity. These scotoma can be accurately identified by fundus-controlled microperimetry. In this study progression of these scotoma was analysed using microperimetry and correlated with BCVA and SD-OCT findings.

Methods: In a prospective longitudinal study 78 eyes of 40 patients were examined over a time period of 47±14 months. Distance between microperimetry test points was 1 degree. BCVA was determined using ETDRS charts. SD-OCT images were obtained with the Spectralis HRA-OCT.

Results: 27 of 31 (87%) eyes with preexisting absolute scotoma as opposed to 12 of 47 (25%) of eyes without scotoma at baseline developed at least one additional absolute scotoma. A central visual acuity loss of ≥2 lines occurred in only 23% and 28% of eyes, respectively. On average 1.0±0.88 and 0,27±0.75 new absolute scotoma developed per year. New scotoma were associated with a well-defined loss of the photorecptor layer and a thinning of the neurosensory retina. Alterations in inner retinal layers, i.e. cystoid cavities, showed no topographic association with absolute scotoma.

Conclusions: The results indicate that central visual acuity ist not suitable for assessing the progression of MacTel 2. Microperimetry is more sensitive for detection of progression of functional impairment because of the typical paracentral loss of photoreceptors.Therefore, microperimetry appears suitable as an outcome parameter in future prospective interventional trials.

gms | German Medical Science

25. Jahrestagung der Deutschen Retinologischen Gesellschaft

Deutsche Gesellschaft für Retinologie

01.06. - 02.06.2012, Münster

Makuläre Teleangiektasien Typ 2: longitudinale Studie zur Struktur-Funktions-Korrelation

Kongressabstract

  • Frank G. Holz - Universitäts-Augenklinik Bonn
  • T. Heeren - Universitäts-Augenklinik Bonn
  • S. Baumüller - Universitäts-Augenklinik Bonn
  • T. Clemons - The EMMES Corporation, Rockville, USA
  • P. Charbel Issa - Universitäts-Augenklinik Bonn

Retinologische Gesellschaft. 25. Jahrestagung der Retinologischen Gesellschaft. Münster, 01.-02.06.2012. Düsseldorf: German Medical Science GMS Publishing House; 2012. Doc12rg17

doi: 10.3205/12rg17, urn:nbn:de:0183-12rg173

Dieses ist die Originalversion des Artikels.
Die übersetzte Version finden Sie unter: http://www.egms.de/en/meetings/rg2012/12rg17.shtml

Veröffentlicht: 30. Mai 2012

© 2012 Holz et al.
Dieser Artikel ist ein Open Access-Artikel und steht unter den Creative Commons Lizenzbedingungen (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-nd/3.0/deed.de). Er darf vervielfältigt, verbreitet und öffentlich zugänglich gemacht werden, vorausgesetzt dass Autor und Quelle genannt werden.


Gliederung

Text

Einleitung: Untersuchungen in den letzten Jahren weisen neben den vaskulären Veränderungen auf eine neurodegenerative Komponente bei Makulären Teleangiektasien Typ 2 hin mit parazentralen Skotome bei häufig noch guter zentraler Sehschärfe. Diese Skotome können mittels funduskorrelierter Mikroperimetrie exakt abgegrenzt werden. In dieser Studie wurde die Progression dieser Skotome mithilfe der Mikroperimetrie analysiert und mit dem Visusverlauf sowie mikrostrukturellen Veränderungen in seriellen SD-OCT-Aufnahmen verglichen.

Methoden: In einer prospektiven longitudinalen Studie wurden 78 Augen von 40 Patienten über durchschnittlich 47±14 Monate untersucht. Der Abstand zwischen den zentralen Testpunkten in der Mikroperimetrie betrug 1 Grad. Der Fernvisus wurde mittels ETDRS-Tafeln bestimmt. Die SD-OCT Untersuchung erfolgte mit dem Spectralis HRA-OCT.

Ergebnisse: 27 von 31 (87%) der Augen mit vorbestehendem absolutem Skotom gegenüber 12 von 47 (25%) der Augen ohne Skotom bei Studienbeginn entwickelten mindestens ein weiteres absolutes Skotom. In denselben Gruppen zeigte die Visustestung einen Verlust von ≥2 Linien in lediglich 23% bzw. 28% der Augen. Im Mittel entwickelten sich 1,0±0,88 bzw. 0,27±0,75 neue absolute Skotome pro Jahr. Neue Skotome gingen mit einem umschriebenen Verlust der Photorezeptorschicht und einer Verdünnung der neurosensorischen Netzhaut einher. Veränderungen in inneren Netzhautschichten wie zystoide Kavitäten zeigten keine topographische Assoziation mit den absoluten Skotomen.

Schlussfolgerung: Die Ergebnisse zeigen, dass sich die Bestimmung des Fernvisus nicht zur Untersuchung der Progression makulärer Teleangiektasien Typ 2 eignet. Sensitiver für die Erkennung einer Progression funktioneller Einschränkungen aufgrund des charakteristischen parazentralen Photorezeptorverlustes ist die Mikroperimetrie, die damit als geeigneter Auswertungsparameter für zukünfitge interventionelle Studien in Frage kommt.