gms | German Medical Science

25th Annual Meeting of the German Retina Society

German Retina Society

01.06. - 02.06.2012, Münster

Treatment of choroidal neovascularization due to angioid streaks – a metaanalysis

Meeting Abstract

  • Martin Gliem - Universitäts-Augenklinik Bonn
  • R.P. Finger - Universitäts-Augenklinik Bonn
  • C.K. Brinkmann - Universitäts-Augenklinik Bonn
  • F.G. Holz - Universitäts-Augenklinik Bonn
  • P. Charbel Issa - Universitäts-Augenklinik Bonn

German Retina Society. 25th Annual Conference of the German Retina Society. Münster, 01.-02.06.2012. Düsseldorf: German Medical Science GMS Publishing House; 2012. Doc12rg13

DOI: 10.3205/12rg13, URN: urn:nbn:de:0183-12rg131

This is the translated version of the article.
The original version can be found at: http://www.egms.de/de/meetings/rg2012/12rg13.shtml

Published: May 30, 2012

© 2012 Gliem et al.
This is an Open Access article distributed under the terms of the Creative Commons Attribution License (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-nd/3.0/deed.en). You are free: to Share – to copy, distribute and transmit the work, provided the original author and source are credited.


Outline

Text

Purpose: Angioid streaks represent an uncommon condition which predispose for choroidal neovascularizations (CNV). Possible treatment options include VEGF-inhibitors, PDT, laser photocoagulation or CNV extraction. As this is a rare entity randomized controlled trials for therapeutic interventions have not been performed and recommendations are based on case series. In this metaanalysis all published studies were analysed to allow for a better judgement on the efficacy of current therapeutic measures.

Methods: A systematic literature search was performed during February/ March 2012 using the Pubmed database. (Terms of search: angioid streaks, bevacizumab, ranibizumab, photodynamic therapy, laser photocoagulation, CNV extraction, natural history). Cited relevant literature of identified articles was also included. Primary outcome measure was change of best corrected visual acuity (BCVA).

Results: We identified 47 published studies. Treatment with VEGF inhibitors on average was found to improve or at least to stabilize BCVA in all case series. PDT resulted in a slowing of the disease progression and improvement of BCVA was only noted in few cases. Laser photocoagulation yielded comparable results to PDT but application was mostly restricted to extrafoveolar lesions and comlicated by frequent recurrences. Combination treatments showed similar results to monotherapies.

Conclusions: The results indicate that intravitreal VEGF inhibitors are currently the most efficacious treatment for CNV due to angioid streaks. PDT is obviously inferior as is laser photocoagulation, whereby the latter is also destructive with subsequent absolute scotoma. Combination treatments appear to have no advantage compared to monotherapy.

gms | German Medical Science

25. Jahrestagung der Deutschen Retinologischen Gesellschaft

Deutsche Gesellschaft für Retinologie

01.06. - 02.06.2012, Münster

Therapie chorioidaler Neovaskularisationen bei angioiden Streifen – eine Metaanalyse

Kongressabstract

  • Martin Gliem - Universitäts-Augenklinik Bonn
  • R.P. Finger - Universitäts-Augenklinik Bonn
  • C.K. Brinkmann - Universitäts-Augenklinik Bonn
  • F.G. Holz - Universitäts-Augenklinik Bonn
  • P. Charbel Issa - Universitäts-Augenklinik Bonn

Retinologische Gesellschaft. 25. Jahrestagung der Retinologischen Gesellschaft. Münster, 01.-02.06.2012. Düsseldorf: German Medical Science GMS Publishing House; 2012. Doc12rg13

doi: 10.3205/12rg13, urn:nbn:de:0183-12rg131

Dieses ist die Originalversion des Artikels.
Die übersetzte Version finden Sie unter: http://www.egms.de/en/meetings/rg2012/12rg13.shtml

Veröffentlicht: 30. Mai 2012

© 2012 Gliem et al.
Dieser Artikel ist ein Open Access-Artikel und steht unter den Creative Commons Lizenzbedingungen (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-nd/3.0/deed.de). Er darf vervielfältigt, verbreitet und öffentlich zugänglich gemacht werden, vorausgesetzt dass Autor und Quelle genannt werden.


Gliederung

Text

Hintergrund: Angioide Streifen stellen eine seltene Fundusveränderung dar, welche zur Entwicklung choroidaler Neovaskularisationen (CNV) im Makulabereich prädisponieren. Mögliche therapeutische Optionen umfassen u.a. intravitreal applizierte VEGF-Inhibitoren, photodynamische Therapie (PDT), Laserkoagulation und CNV-Extraktion. Aufgrund der Seltenheit der Erkrankung existieren keine randomisierten kontrollierten Studien über deren Wirksamkeit, sondern hauptsächlich retrospektive Fallserien mit geringem Evidenzlevel. Ziel dieser Arbeit war, alle bisher publizierten Studien zu analysieren, um die Wirksamkeit der therapeutischen Möglichkeiten besser bewerten und Empfehlungen ableiten zu können.

Methoden: Eine systematische Literatursuche wurde im Februar/März 2012 in der Pubmed Datenbank durchgeführt (Suchbegriffe: angioid streaks, bevacizumab, ranibizumab, photodynamic therapy, laser photocoagulation, CNV extraction, natural history). Die in den identifizierten Artikeln zitierte relevante Literatur wurde ebenfalls berücksichtigt. Primärer Endpunkt war jeweils die Änderung des bestkorrigierten Visus (BCVA).

Ergebnisse: Insgesamt wurden 47 Studien identifiziert. Die Behandlung mit VEGF-Inhibitoren führte zu einer Verbesserung oder Stabilisierung der mittleren BCVA in allen Studien. Die PDT führte zu einer Verlangsamung der Krankheitsprogression, eine Verbesserung der BCVA konnte jedoch nur in wenigen Fällen beobachtet werden. Die Laserkoagulation erzielte vergleichbare Ergebnisse; eine Anwendung war jedoch meist beschränkt auf extrafoveale Läsionen und ging häufig mit CNV-Rezidiven einher. Kombinationstherapien waren Einzeltherapien nicht überlegen.

Schlussfolgerungen: Intravitreale VEGF-Inhibitoren stellen die derzeit effektivste Therapie für CNVs infolge angioider Streifen dar. Die PDT ist den VEGF-Inhibitoren unterlegen. Die Anwendung der Laserkoagulation wäre allenfalls auf extrafoveoläre Läsionen zu beschränken, ist allerdings aufgrund hoher Rezidivraten und progredienten absoluten Skotomen nicht empfehlenswert. Kombinationstherapien zeigen keine Überlegenheit gegenüber der Monotherapie.