gms | German Medical Science

25th Annual Meeting of the German Retina Society

German Retina Society

01.06. - 02.06.2012, Münster

Establishment of a retinal ischemia organ culture model

Meeting Abstract

  • presenting/speaker Sven Schnichels - Universitäts-Augenklinik Tübingen
  • M. Blak - Universitäts-Augenklinik Tübingen
  • J. Hofmann - Universitäts-Augenklinik Tübingen
  • K.U. Bartz-Schmidt - Universitäts-Augenklinik Tübingen
  • M.S. Spitzer - Universitäts-Augenklinik Tübingen
  • M. Schultheiss - Universitäts-Augenklinik Tübingen

German Retina Society. 25th Annual Conference of the German Retina Society. Münster, 01.-02.06.2012. Düsseldorf: German Medical Science GMS Publishing House; 2012. Doc12rg09

DOI: 10.3205/12rg09, URN: urn:nbn:de:0183-12rg097

This is the translated version of the article.
The original version can be found at: http://www.egms.de/de/meetings/rg2012/12rg09.shtml

Published: May 30, 2012

© 2012 Schnichels et al.
This is an Open Access article distributed under the terms of the Creative Commons Attribution License (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-nd/3.0/deed.en). You are free: to Share – to copy, distribute and transmit the work, provided the original author and source are credited.


Outline

Text

Background: Ischemia plays an important role in several ophthalmological diseases. Retinal ganglion cells (RGCs) are the most sensitive cells to ischemia. To investigate neuroprotective agents and therapies against these ophthalmological diseases we developed an easy-to-use chamber for organotypic cultures. We decided to use organotypic cultures, because in-vivo models or primary cultures are very time-consuming, expensive and several therapies or agents can not be tested in these models.

Methods: For this pilot-study, we incubated retinas at 37°C for five different time periods (45–120 minutes) under ischemic conditions. The chamber was streamed with N2 for 5 minutes, then the chamber was immediately sealed and the retinas were incubated for the rest of the designated time. Thereafter the organotypic cultures were incubated for 24, 48 or 72 h in an incubator under standard conditions. To analyze the amount of RGCs and apoptotic RGCs, the retinas were frozen and processed for cutting. RGCs immunohistology was performed with a Brna3a-antibody. Apoptotic cells were visualized via TUNEL-staining and overall cell amount via DAPI-staining.

Results: A time-dependant decrease in the amount of RGCs after 24, 48 or 72 h was observable. Moreover, also a decrease in the amount of RGCs that was dependant on ischemia duration was observed. Furthermore the amount of TUNEL-positive cells was ischemia dependant.

Conclusion: We successfully established an organotypic culture model for retinal ischemia. Any therapy can now be tested under ischemic organotypic conditions. Furthermore, we improved our chamber to allow manipulations (injection of drugs, exchange of the media or temperature adjustment) during ischemia.

gms | German Medical Science

25. Jahrestagung der Deutschen Retinologischen Gesellschaft

Deutsche Gesellschaft für Retinologie

01.06. - 02.06.2012, Münster

Etablierung eines organotypischen retinalen Ischämiemodells

Kongressabstract

  • presenting/speaker Sven Schnichels - Universitäts-Augenklinik Tübingen
  • M. Blak - Universitäts-Augenklinik Tübingen
  • J. Hofmann - Universitäts-Augenklinik Tübingen
  • K.U. Bartz-Schmidt - Universitäts-Augenklinik Tübingen
  • M.S. Spitzer - Universitäts-Augenklinik Tübingen
  • M. Schultheiss - Universitäts-Augenklinik Tübingen

Retinologische Gesellschaft. 25. Jahrestagung der Retinologischen Gesellschaft. Münster, 01.-02.06.2012. Düsseldorf: German Medical Science GMS Publishing House; 2012. Doc12rg09

doi: 10.3205/12rg09, urn:nbn:de:0183-12rg097

Dieses ist die Originalversion des Artikels.
Die übersetzte Version finden Sie unter: http://www.egms.de/en/meetings/rg2012/12rg09.shtml

Veröffentlicht: 30. Mai 2012

© 2012 Schnichels et al.
Dieser Artikel ist ein Open Access-Artikel und steht unter den Creative Commons Lizenzbedingungen (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-nd/3.0/deed.de). Er darf vervielfältigt, verbreitet und öffentlich zugänglich gemacht werden, vorausgesetzt dass Autor und Quelle genannt werden.


Gliederung

Text

Hintergrund: Ischämie spielt eine wichtige Rolle bei vielen ophthalmologischen Erkrankungen. Retinale Ganglienzellen (RGZ) reagieren am empfindlichsten auf Ischämie. Um neuroprotektive Substanzen oder Therapien erfolgreich Testen zu können, haben wir eine Ischämiekammer für organotypische Kulturen entwickelt. Wir benutzen organotypische Kulturen da sie einfacher, kostengünstiger und tierschonender sind. Darüber hinaus können zahlreiche Therapien und Agenzien vergleichbar getestet werden.

Methoden: In dieser Pilotstudie haben wir die Retinae bei 37°C für fünf verschiedene Zeitintervalle (45–120 Minuten) unter ischaemischen Bedingungen inkubiert. Hierzu wurde die Ischämiekammer für fünf Minuten mit N2 geflutet und anschließend für die restliche Zeit luftdicht verschlossen. Anschließend wurden die Kulturen für 24, 48 oder 72 Std. unter Standardbedingungen in einem Inkubator inkubiert. Zur Bestimmung der Anzahl der RGZ und der apoptotischen RGZ wurden die Retinae eingefroren und histologisch aufgearbeitet. Zur Ganglienzellmarkierung wurden Färbungen mit dem Brna3a-Antikörper durchgeführt. Apoptotische Zellen wurden mit der TUNEL-Färbung markiert und die Gesamtzahl der Zellen via DAPI-Färbung bestimmt.

Ergebnisse: Die Zahl der RGZ verringerte sich in zeitabhängig von der Kultivierungszeit: je länger die Retinae in Kultur waren desto geringer war die Zahl der RGZ. Darüber hinaus waren die Abnahme der RGZ sowie die Zahl der apoptotischen RGZ stark abhängig von der Ischämierdauer.

Schlussfolgerungen: Wir haben erfolgreich ein organotypisches Ischämiemodell etabliert. Zahlreiche neuroprotektive Agenzien oder Therapien können nun unter ischaemischen organotypischen Bedingungen getestet werden. Darüber hinaus haben wir unsere Kammer so verbessert, dass Manipulationen (z.B. Injektion von Therapeutika, Austausch des Medium oder Temperaturanpassungen) während der Ischämiephase möglich sind.