gms | German Medical Science

25th Annual Meeting of the German Retina Society

German Retina Society

01.06. - 02.06.2012, Münster

Internistic comorbidities and risk evaluation for patients suffering from vitreous hemorrhage previous to vitreoretinal surgery

Meeting Abstract

Search Medline for

  • Antje Just - Klinik für Augenheilkunde, Klinikum Frankfurt/Oder
  • E. Hartung - Klinik für Anästhesie und Intensivmedizin, Klinikum Frankfurt/Oder
  • C. Wirbelauer - Klinik für Augenheilkunde, Klinikum Frankfurt/Oder

German Retina Society. 25th Annual Conference of the German Retina Society. Münster, 01.-02.06.2012. Düsseldorf: German Medical Science GMS Publishing House; 2012. Doc12rg05

doi: 10.3205/12rg05, urn:nbn:de:0183-12rg050

This is the translated version of the article.
The original version can be found at: http://www.egms.de/de/meetings/rg2012/12rg05.shtml

Published: May 30, 2012

© 2012 Just et al.
This is an Open Access article distributed under the terms of the Creative Commons Attribution License (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-nd/3.0/deed.en). You are free: to Share – to copy, distribute and transmit the work, provided the original author and source are credited.


Outline

Text

Background: Patients suffering from vasoproliferative retinopathy and vitreoretinal hemorrhage face much higher surgery risks due to their age and comorbidities. Goal of this clinical study is to evaluate pre- and intrasurgical parameters (age, sex, ASA-Classification, surgery duration, accompanying diseases) in order to perform a risk evaluation concerning vitreoretinal surgery.

Methods: In a prospective examination data of 46 patients with vitreoretinal hemorrhage and vasoproliferative retinopathy, who had undergone a vitreoretinal surgery with endotracheal anesthesia, was gathered. Influence of ASA-criteria and accompanying diseases onto the pre-, intra- and postsurgical process was analyzed.

Results: In average the age of the patients was 66 years and 2.4 internistic accompanying diseases were present. 88% of all patients belonged to ASA groups II and III, and 9.3% even belonged to risk group IV. Only 2.3% belonged to the lower risk ASA group I. Concerning the evaluation of surgery duration and postsurgical complications there were no differences between members of ASA groups II and III (average surgery duration: 83 min.). 5 patients (11%) suffered from kidney insufficiency, requiring dialysis and 2 patients (4%) had to be treated internistically after the surgery. In one case a patient suffered from myocardial infarction without lethal consequences post surgically.

Conclusions: Patients suffering from vitreous hemorrhage and vasoproliferative retinopathy belong to risk groups, being distinguished by multimorbidity and elevated ASA-criteria. Due to the perioperative morbidity an adequate interdisciplinary and postoperative intensive medical care is necessary.

gms | German Medical Science

25. Jahrestagung der Deutschen Retinologischen Gesellschaft

Deutsche Gesellschaft für Retinologie

01.06. - 02.06.2012, Münster

Internistische Begleiterkrankungen und Risikoeinschätzung bei Patienten mit Glaskörpereinblutung vor vitreoretinaler Chirurgie

Kongressabstract

Suche in Medline nach

  • Antje Just - Klinik für Augenheilkunde, Klinikum Frankfurt/Oder
  • E. Hartung - Klinik für Anästhesie und Intensivmedizin, Klinikum Frankfurt/Oder
  • C. Wirbelauer - Klinik für Augenheilkunde, Klinikum Frankfurt/Oder

Retinologische Gesellschaft. 25. Jahrestagung der Retinologischen Gesellschaft. Münster, 01.-02.06.2012. Düsseldorf: German Medical Science GMS Publishing House; 2012. Doc12rg05

DOI: 10.3205/12rg05, URN: urn:nbn:de:0183-12rg050

Dieses ist die Originalversion des Artikels.
Die übersetzte Version finden Sie unter: http://www.egms.de/en/meetings/rg2012/12rg05.shtml

Veröffentlicht: 30. Mai 2012

© 2012 Just et al.
Dieser Artikel ist ein Open Access-Artikel und steht unter den Creative Commons Lizenzbedingungen (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-nd/3.0/deed.de). Er darf vervielfältigt, verbreitet und öffentlich zugänglich gemacht werden, vorausgesetzt dass Autor und Quelle genannt werden.


Gliederung

Text

Hintergrund: Patienten mit vasoproliferativen Retinopathien und Glaskörpereinblutungen haben aufgrund ihres Alters und ihrer Begleiterkrankungen ein erhöhtes Operationsrisiko. Ziel dieser klinischen Beobachtung war es, im Rahmen der vitreoretinalen Chirurgie besondere prä- und intraoperative Parameter (Alter, Geschlecht, ASA-Klassifikation, Operationsdauer, Begleiterkrankungen) zu erfassen und eine Risikoeinschätzung vorzunehmen.

Methoden: In einer prospektiven Untersuchung wurden die Daten von 46 Patienten mit Glaskörperhämorrhagien bei vasoproliferativen Retinopathien analysiert bei denen ein vitreoretinaler Eingriff in Intubationsnarkose vorgenommen wurde. Untersucht wurde der Einfluss von ASA-Kriterien und Begleiterkrankungen auf den prä-, intra- und postoperativen Verlauf.

Ergebnisse: Das durchschnittliche Alter lag bei 66 Jahren und es lagen im Mittel 2,4 internistische Begleiterkrankungen vor. 88% der Patienten gehörten der ASA- Risikogruppe II und III an und 9,3% der Patienten zählten sogar zur ASA-Gruppe IV. Nur 2,3% gehörten der niedrigen ASA-Risikogruppe I an. Bezüglich der Bewertung der Operationsdauer und der postoperativen Komplikationen gab es keine Unterschiede in den ASA-Gruppen II und III (mittlere OP-Zeit: 83 min). Bei 5 Patienten (11%) lag eine dialysepflichtige Niereninsuffizienz vor und 2 Patienten (4%) mussten postoperativ internistisch weiter versorgt werden. In einem Fall kam es postoperativ zu einem Myokardinfarkt ohne letalen Ausgang.

Schlussfolgerung: Patienten mit Glaskörpereinblutungen durch vasoproliferative Retinopathien gehören zu den Risikogruppen und zeichneten sich durch eine Multimorbidität sowie erhöhten ASA-Kriterien aus. Durch die perioperative Morbidität ist deshalb eine adäquate interdisziplinäre und häufig auch postoperative intensivmedizinische Betreuung notwendig.